We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing and Hospitable Experience”
Review of Palais de Mahe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palais de Mahe
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

For an avid traveler and some one who is looking for peace and simple ethnic luxury , Palais de Mahe is an apt choice. A delightful accommodation with sumptuous & healthy meal experience. But above all you get charmed by the hospitality provided when each and every staff member is there for your needs with a genuine smile. You get to know the level of attention given to service when the General manager himself comes to deliver the newspaper. Special mention for Febin - the gentlemen at the front desk , Raja our server at the 2nd floor restaurant. And to the chef who's culinary skills are exemplary. ( PS : do try the fish curry. Its outstanding.).
rooms are nice , clean , spacious and every basis facility you may need during your stay is available.
Would love to go back......

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanketchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 556 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

The finest hotel in Pondicherry - head & shoulders above the rest. Excellent location, large standard rooms, warm hospitality - well trained staff with personal attention & good food to match, value for money. Need I say more ?.

Room Tip: For those who enjoy swimming, take a ground floor room.....else first floor, nice big corridor east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Although not cheap, this is an excellent hotel. It's newly built but in traditional colonial style, and makes clever use of space. It's a very new style hotel for the discerning traveller - not ostentatious at all, just very nice, with every detail thought of. It's relaxing, with a lot of attention to detail, and super friendly helpful staff. You won't find a noisy wedding here, or a sales team trying to convince you to upgrade. Rooms look in onto wide walkway over central courtyard and pool, so it's pleasant to have your door open and just do nothing. Food is the best we had in Pondy, and really good. It's great to be served breakfast that is cooked to order, if like me, you stay in lots of business hotels and get tired of the buffet.

I left a shirt behind, and called them the next day - they not only forwarded it to me free of extra charge, but laundered it first. So there is service! Another thing, our 6 yr old was able to walk around by himself as it is a small and intimate enough plac. The staff were nice to him, as kids are definitely welcome even though it's a quiet boutique style place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Palais de Mahe from 8th April 2014 to 10th April 2014 (2 nights). The choice was based on the TripAdvisor ratings, and I am very glad that I did so! Terrific place! The reception by the staff was super. The room was huge. The air conditioning in the room worked perfectly! The bathroom was very big and very clean. The overall service was excellent. The staff was extremely friendly, very attentive and always helpful.

We choose room 207 as per the recommendations, but switched to room 208 as it have a private balcony (there is another common balcony for 207 and 208 that is accessed by going out of the room).

Breakfast was included in the room rate; there were a range of cereals, fresh fruits, and eggs to order, as well as dosas and idlis. I understand that sometimes they also serve appams in the morning on some days.

We had dinner one evening at the rooftop ''restaurant' - had a bottle of wine (Grover's La Reserve, which they chilled to 'room temperature'of 15-18 degrees on request - Pondicherry was HOT when we were there), ordered the shredded beef and bbq chicken wings - food was good, but it did not fall in the 'lets rave about it' category. The rooftop dining area has great ambiance.

There is also a pool, but we did not use it, though it looked very inviting. all rooms overlook the pool, by the way - info for those folks who are shy about being seen in swimming costumes by others.

We had driven down to Pondy, so we had to park our car in the hotel premises - it was a bit of a squeeze as only about 4-5 cars or so can be parked at a time.

Lots of good eating joints in walking distance of this hotel, which is only about 30-40 meters away from the Promenade.

Overall, a great place to stay in Pondy. It deserves its number one ranking in TripAdvisor without a doubt, in my opinion.

Room Tip: Want a private balcony? Choose room 208.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Loved the room, spacious and comfortable. This hotel is part of the cgh earth group and we stayed in other hotels in this group during our holiday and would recommend every one of them. They are very environmentally friendly. Here the food was great and staff lovely. Really excellent location too.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Oozon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel is a find! Great rooms, fantastic service and overall great value for money. The rooms are very tastefully done up, the food is very good too and the staff I have to stay are the real asset to this small, but friendly, intimate hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAHULBIDDAPPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

What a perfect find in Pondicherry! Located in the French quarters, walking distance from the sea, this is a beautiful place to stay. The rooms and the entire place are maintained like a French bungalow/home. The rooms are really large with tall beds and lovely wooden decor. The swimming pool is small and does get crowded, specially if there are families and kids staying in the hotel. The breakfast is okay, its not a huge buffet but, whatever one wishes to order. The food is definitely good. The most significant thing is the service - be it the front desk, room service, restaurant service. The staff is always smiling and ready to help. One feels welcome in the hotel and if one stayed there longer it could feel like a nice home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 85 in Pondicherry
1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 85 in Pondicherry
543 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#5 of 85 in Pondicherry
384 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 85 in Pondicherry
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Orient
Hotel de l'Orient
#29 of 85 in Pondicherry
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais de Mahe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais de Mahe

Address: 4 Rue Bussy Lal Bahadur Sastry Street Palais De Mahe #, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: $135 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palais de Mahe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais de Mahe (a CGH Earth experience) is situated in the French quarter in Pondicherry, India. The architecture of this beautiful boutique hotel is in keeping with the French colonial style of the region. It has 18 luxurious suites, a lovely courtyard with a swimming pool, a restaurant and bar, and a poolside cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais de Mahe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing