We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and nice setting”
Review of Palais de Mahe

Palais de Mahe
Ranked #13 of 468 Restaurants in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: As with all CGH Earth hotels, local sourcing makes for variety and freshness. This is particularly true of our sea food at Palais de Mahe. Our chefs personally select the day's serving from the incoming boats at the harbor nearby, planning their recipes according to the catch of the day.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

The restaurant is on the roof of the Palais De Mahe - CGH Earth hotel. The setting is nice, but the food was better. I enjoyed prawns cooked with some spices that made them taste delicious. I only tried one dish so cannot comment further, but the meal I had was high quality and a cut above the other places I ate in Pondicherry.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnDS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Palais de Mahe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest

We would like to convey our gratitude for your worthy review on our place.
Very pleased you enjoyed your dinning experience.
Thanks a lot for being a valuable ambassador of our place.
Please visit us again and try our other destinations as well.

Regards
Johnson Antony
Restaurant Manager
Palais de Mahe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 206 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2019

Food here very good, more creative and tasty than most spots, Indian/western fusion options. Beautiful space on the rooftop with breezes. Service OK but a tiny bit off. Full of local people which is always a good sign!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank cantravnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Palais de Mahe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest

We would like to convey our gratitude for your worthy review on our place.
Very pleased you enjoyed your dinning experience.
Thanks a lot for being a valuable ambassador of our place.
Please visit us again and try our other destinations as well.

Regards
Johnson Antony
Restaurant Manager
Palais de Mahe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019

The location is very good, in old white town and roof top restaurant is amazing..
The food was excellent and service was outstanding..
Enjoyed our evening to the fullest !!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Sumant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Palais de Mahe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest

We would like to convey our gratitude for your worthy review on our place.
Very pleased you enjoyed your dinning experience.
Thanks a lot for being a valuable ambassador of our place.
Please visit us again and try our other destinations as well.

Regards
Johnson Antony
Restaurant Manager
Palais de Mahe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019

Typical colonial type hotel. Very beautiful setting. Restaurant on the rooftop is very pretty.
Service and food are both, however, very average.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RasikaTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Asst. Restaurant Manager at Palais de Mahe, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Dear Guest

We would like to convey our gratitude for your worthy review on our place.
Apologies the dinning experience didn't meet up the standards.
Made a note of your concern would amend accordingly.

Please visit us again and try our other destinations as well.

Regards
Johnson Antony
Restaurant Manager
Palais de Mahe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

Really disappointed when came after a long waiting the calamari, the foto on this page has nothing to do with what I got. Seems like a fake.
The service is bad, the waiters spend more time to talk together and just say bye from far when you live.
The bill comes with 18 percent taxes because it’s a hotel! Never get diner in a hotel anymore, because in a restaurant it s only 5 percent.
The food was quiet poor for my fish for 708 roupies , check the foto! The pasta were over cooked.
Normally in Pondichéry you could smoke at your table everywhere we were, but not here.
When you drink quietly your bottle of wine and smokes cigarettes, waiters are just stressing for paying the bill.
The room and terrace was fast empty, we were 4 tables on this big restaurant.
Not a place to go for sure. More for the people who sleep in this hotel!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank WorldcitizenCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Asst. Restaurant Manager at Palais de Mahe, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Dear Guest

We would like to convey our gratitude for your worthy review on our place.
It is really unfortunate you had go through this.
We understand what you had to go through.

We have always raised bars and kept high standards.
It is very unfortunate we lagged and you had a ill experience.
Any gesture would never bring back the reliance you had in us.
But we extend our heart felt apology on this regard.

PS: As far as the Taxation are concerned, We would like to keep you advised any dinning inside the premises of a luxury hotel are levied tax of 18 %. We assure there are no discrepancy on that.

Regards
Johnson Antony
Restaurant Manager
Palais de Mahe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais de Mahe also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Palais de Mahe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing