We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the french architecture”

The Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Jesus
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.00*
and up
Private Cultural Day Tour of Pondicherry and Auroville
Ranked #4 of 65 things to do in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the french architecture”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very nice church, located right outside pondicherry railway station. Very well maintained and the french architecture differentiates it from the other churches.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank vsm993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    289
    81
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A 100 yr old church that leaves you spell bound”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a 100 yr old church that will leave you spell bound at one sight. The stain glass painting and the architecture and simply mind blowing. The peace and calm of the church will touch your heart.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maanasi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing architecture”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This church that is still active, is one of the most beatuful churches ever. The staines glass paintings and the sculptures are astounding. This tall church boasts of intricate french architecture.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maanasi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

It's a nice church, has a serene feeling to it. It is grand. When I visited a service was in process. I came back feeling peaceful and happy

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuneSanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“beautiful and serene ...”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

the mass was in progress when i entered so i joined in though i did not understand as it was all in tamil. none the less i said my prayers and got the permissions required to do some photography... i took the longest time in this church ... there is sooooooo much to see .... every inch of it is beautiful that you just have to sit and admire every bit of it... this is a must visit..... i highly recommend this to people of all religions .... its a beauty you wouldnt want to miss ..... there is a small shop in the church grounds that sells reasonably priced rosary's, rings, lockets, lamps, mantel pieces, wall hangings.... everything to do with Christ the lord !!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shona424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Jesus also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to The Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Jesus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing