We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Le Pondy(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
RKN Beach Resort(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sunway Manor(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treebo South Avenue(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sasirekha Residency(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dune de l'Orient(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Devis Grand(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Hotel Subuya(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveler rating
221
251
74
26
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
251
74
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsback watersparadise beachoutdoor showerwind flowergarden view roomswimming poolcatamaran ridewalk in wardrobeindoor gamesplay areachess boardbreakfast and dinnerrestaurant staffapproach roadroom serviceprivate beachgoogle maps
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 589 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Unless you have clear directions, it is difficult to locate this 7-8 km off Pondicherry, India, resort since there are no signages except when you are within 200 metres from it. Once you enter it, you will easily forget the toil of reaching it. Well laid villas and studios, well maintained lawns greenery, a well apppointed restaurant and large swimming pool welcome you. The villas and studios are very spacious and well furnished and face the backwaters or coastline a few hundred metres away. The staff is very courteous and helpful.

However, on a week day, the guests are so few that the resort short-circuits some of its facilities: there may not be buffet, you may not get what you want to order and even the tandoor and AC in the restaurant were not functioning. This is bit odd considering that those guest who opt to come on week-days are not offered any discounts or lean season rates. Strange as it seems, this is a great pointer that the resort is not keen on promoting week-day guests and is happy with week-end rush.

Room Tip: Take upper studio as it offers excellent view of sea and has a large sit-out. If you have dough, take a villa with plunge pool.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harisharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay at The Windflower Pondicherry. We have made note of your comments about weekday experiences at the resort and we have taken up the matter with resort executives to ensure that all guests, whether staying on weekend or weekday are given the same services and facilities. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Quiet a place - the backwaters, clean awesome beach, good food, nice rooms, - Windflower in Pondy have it all.


Good:
The best beach in Pondy is just few meters away from the resort. We made some lasting memories collecting shells, strolling and playing on the Paradise beach here. The place where the river meets the sea is just beautiful - makes for a excellent spot to take sunrise/ sun set pictures.

The staffs were courteous. The watchman in the gate leading to the beach does few trips to the beach after 6 pm to accompany and make sure the safe return of the guests.

Resort is nice , layout is good with well maintained lawns and garden. There is good spacing between two rows of buildings for privacy.

There is a play area between the backwater and resort.

Bristo - the restaurant is very good - Breakfast had a good variety. For all the three meals, there were no repeats on dishes between days , except for salads, breads and such. The view from The restaurant's terrace is excellent.

Spa was good. On the expensive side, but from start to finish it was very professional, relaxing and satisfactory.

Swimming pool is excellent.

Rooms are of good size, each comes with outside seating. Large bathrooms.

Places to improve:

Game room in the main building has few options for kids .There is just one TT table. Few planned activities might help.

The large front windows of the cottages were translucent, and can show silhouette :-), not a good thing for honeymoon cottages... Blinds or curtains would help.

It is far inside from the main road. The sign is not very prominent . As some one pointed out, Could have mentioned that the resort is 3km from that point in the sign board.


All that said, We enjoyed our stay and Will definitely stay again. They have ducks and yes the ducklings were very cute.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vallisuresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We have made a note of your suggestions for improvement and the same are being implemented. We look forward to seeing you at another Windflower soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went there as part of a team offsite. The resort is quiet with large rooms, a fairly clean pool and good facilities. Food was good and service was quite prompt. The only thing that I thought was missing was umbrellas for the pool side chairs because it can get quite hot and the umbrellas would keep people there longer.

Would definitely recommend to others and stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preeti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We have noted your comment and umbrellas are being arranged for the pool side area. We look forward to seeing you at another Windflower soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We Had a Business visit to Pondicherry. Finally we had found Hidden Beauty for our Dinner. Wonderful Ambience with Warmth welcome the Staff. Affordable price. Good Interaction with Chef Baskar. Authentic food. thank you very Much to windflower Pondicherry for the Excellent Guest Service

Keep It Up

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sichot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We look forward to seeing you at another Windflower soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely resort with well-kept landscape and a beautiful backdrop of the backwaters. As soon as you drive into the resort, the open reception with a Buddha statue sitting on a water body is sure to take your breath away. The resort itself is nicely laid out with well manicured lawns.

We checked into a studio room on the first floor. The view from the balcony of the sea facing studio rooms is amazing. The room interior is tastefully done, the highlight being the large bathroom, with a shower enclosure, a toilet and a changing/ luggage room. The bed is large and comfy.

Food ie dinner was quite good too, with a large variety of vegeterian as well as non vegeterian dishes. Breakfast had all kinds of options too, South Indian as well as continental. The restaurant staff are particularly good at their job. One of the best buffets we have had in a resort with courteous and attentive staff.

During the day we went for sightseeing and had lunch at Surguru, which was decent.

This place is great for a weekend visit, just to relax, read, eat, get pampered in the spa and soak in the sun. Not many activities within the resort.

Now for the grouses! :(

The walk to the beach (outside the resort) although short at 500mts or so, is unpleasant as the path is dirty and not quite defined. One morning as we walked, we saw a child from the hamlet defecating not very far from the path! Maybe the resort can do something about this as the primary attraction for the resort is the beach and the guests would be walking towards the beach several times during their stay.
The swimming pool was dirty and definitely not in usable condition. I expect that it should be kept clean when they know that guests are expected. What's the point of a swimming pool otherwise?

All in all, except these trifles we had a splendid holiday at this place and would definitely recommend it

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the sea for the splendid view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saltwaterfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a good time at The Windflower, Pondicherry. We have taken note of your comment on the areas where we can improve and will work on the same to make every guest experience a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews