We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Property but Overrated...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Efficient Check In's & Rooms were nice & spacious. Temperature was soaring at 37Deg in Feb...but the A/c refused to cool the room...guess the capacity was not good enough for a large room. Inspite of offering free Wi-Fi , network was down , for the 2 days we were there. Beach access is through a short walk through a village settlement , so do not attempt to walk alone after dark, unless you are in a group. Restuarant food & service was very good .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranjini N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_rash, Public Relations Manager at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us at The Windflower Pondicherry. We will look into the recommendations you have made to ensure further guest comfort and satisfaction. We do look forward to having you stay with us at another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 562 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

Windflower offers a great weekend getaway for a Chennai-ite. My friends and I drove down to Pondy for a long weekend in Dec 2011 and boy, it was superb. The room was very comfortable, food at the restaurant was top notch. The buffet spread was very eclectic. The swimming pool was neatly maintained and was near empty except on Sunday morning.

The rooms offer a great view of the sea. The bathroom deserves special mention- it's very tastefully done, huuge.. with an open to sky shower.

Their staff members were very helpful and gave us directions patiently when we were a little stuck without a map in hand.

I am usually averse to drugstore toiletries and carry quite a large toiletry case whenever I travel. But, the shower gel, soap ( especially their coconut soap) and other such stuff ( brand is 'Iraya', if I remember right) found in the Windflower bathroom were super awesome!!!

Though the resort is very close to the town(one must of course consider the fact that Pondy is a very small place) , it is actually situated in the interior of a coastal village. Finding my way back through the village roads was a little challenging when we returned after a busy evening in Pondy. Before you start to the resort, remember to go beyond the buzzling part of the town. Keep driving on the Pondy-Cuddalore highway and you find a tiny road leading to the resort.

Would love to unwind there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deepa_Harishankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_rash, Public Relations Manager at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us at The Windflower Pondicherry. We will look into the recommendations you have made to ensure further guest comfort and satisfaction. We do look forward to having you stay with us at another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Visited March 2012 First Week

Price: INR 7000 (USD 140). Suite Room. Inclusive of buffet breakfast and wonderful buffet dinner.

Resort: About 20 minutes drive from the main city centre.Located in the interior of a village. Slightly difficult to reach.

Very big, beach side, great lawns, decent size swimmimg pool. About 800 meters from the beach. Beach is not crowded.

Secure and spacious parking.

Reception: Welcoming & friendly staff.

Restaurant: Great Food. Indian and continental. Also has a grill restaurant. Breakfast was great and dinner a perfect ending to a great day.

Rooms: Very big. Bigger than expected. With minibar, tv , tea / coffee maker. Nice partial view of the sea and small backwaters.

Super clean upholistery. Big LCD TV. A perfect room. Room on ground floor opens into a small garden. Big sofa to sleep a kid.

Bathroom : Very Big approx 120 sq ft. Modern, clean and spacious. Luggage can be accommodated in the bathrooms. Keeps room clean. Also has an adjoining open shower area overlooking the sky. Very clean towels.

Swimming pool: Decent size but need to check chlorine levels (very high). Separate pool for kids. Kids pool was not very clean.

Cons: Packaged water is very expensive and resort is located so deep in a village that you cannot easily buy it.

For all your small requirements you are at their mercy. Carry sufficient water bottles and basic stuff before landing here.

Will call it a true boutique 5 Star Resort.

Room Tip: Book suites at ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanashk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_rash, Public Relations Manager at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us at The Windflower Pondicherry. We will look into the recommendations you have made to ensure further guest comfort and satisfaction. We do look forward to having you stay with us at another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

One of the most striking thing as you enter the resort is the Open air reception and a nice huge Buddha Statue sitting in a small pool of water...The first impression was an amazing one and formed the base for the rest of my stay. The room was spacious and the space in the washroom was commendable. Adding to the fun was the open shower. Had a wonderful time at the Pool (4.5 feet). The pool side restaurant also serves nice food.

Overall the experience was one of the best that I have had.

Last but not the least, the staff were very friendly and always had a smile and i also felt that they were genuine in whatever they were doing.

My sincere appreciations to the entire team.

Room Tip: You might find it a little difficult to navigate...therefore on the cuddalore road, watch out for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_rash, Public Relations Manager at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us at The Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We do look forward to seeing you at another Windflower resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Was with Wind Flower on 6th April 2012 for my wife's B'day.We enjoyed the stay.

Room:

We took Pool Villa, which has an attached pool with our room (Private Pool), Rooms were extremely spacious infact more spacious then you need :). Its a villa hence its not a single room so there is a big hall or living room, Bedroom and a biggg bathroom.From the bedroom you have a glass door leading to a lawn (Private), where u have a sit out and beautiful view of back waters.

Cons: Only concern I felt was pool is a bit open.

Restaurant:
This is the best part of hotel, food is extremely good. Buffet dinner is one of the best we had.

Cons: Although they have some tables in open air they will be far away from the buffet so you will be forced to sit in the restaurant for dinner instead of a cool moon light dinner.

Reception and Room service:
Extremely good, staff was very friendly and courteous.For instance When we were confused about the location Operations manager himself came down 10kms in his car to pick us and that too without any charge :)

Overall experience was extremely pleasing.I am writing this review after a week but I still remember each and every minute of our stay.Our first choice would be Wind Flower when ever we visit Pondicherry.

Check out room tips :)

Room Tip: Bargain for best price. Do ask for a sitting arrangement in the lawn if you are taking pool villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RajeshPodapala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_rash, Public Relations Manager at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us at The Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We have made a note of your viewpoint about the buffet and we will ensure that guests can sit out in the open and still enjoy the spread. We do look forward to seeing you at another Windflower resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindflowerCorpOffice, General Manager at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindflowerCorpOffice, General Manager at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
13.3 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#19 of 85 in Pondicherry
817 reviews
5.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#10 of 85 in Pondicherry
954 reviews
0.9 mi away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#41 of 85 in Pondicherry
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 85 in Pondicherry
1,195 reviews
4.2 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#17 of 85 in Pondicherry
659 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 85 in Pondicherry
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry

Address: Survey No. 198/1,198/2 Maraimalai Adigal Street | Manavely Revenue Village, Chinnaveeram Pattinam, Ariyankuppam Post, Pondicherry 605007, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: $138 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in picturesque ChinnaVeerampattinam, The Windflower Resort & Spa Pondicherry is perched between backwaters and bright blue ocean. Stroll along the beach, if the mood strikes you. Race the gulls to the horizon. Step around seashells, and spider crabs. Watch the sun set into the Indian Ocean. Or, take a romantic little cruise along the backwaters. Have a quiet picnic lunch on the banks of a stream. Walk about shooting the birds on film. The resort features large airy rooms with views of the water or of the gardens. Indulge in our Bistro with the foods of the land and RE- EMERGE with our spa. The Windflower Resort & Spa Pondicherry is waiting... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing