We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Homely stay"”
Review of Golden Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Sun Inn
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Its my 5th visit to Pondicherry.Me and my family members found the hotel by one of friends reference.we reached there and we enjoyed the stay at there.The rooms are neat & cleaned.we got all the basic needs at the right time.and we ate south indian breakfast its awesome.we enjoyed the stay as my home.

Room Tip: Choose the Delux Rooms (Because they are larger & Comfortable for the family stay)
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vino358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Golden Sun Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 61 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Trip to pondy on dec 1st week, Hotel is located near to all tourist places, busy area but all ATM are near by. the FO team helped us to find bike rent with good bargain, at the JUMPIN 1st floor we had a nice experience we fully enjoyed snacks are awesome, room was clean and bathroom too, budget but best.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quite good
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chandrancms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed for 4 days in this hotel. Since we did online pre booking and paid full money in advance, we had to continue. Very poor service at the breakfast counter. Rooms are not maintained properly. Overall, we dont recommend this hotel for families stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank elzavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were there in pondicherry for a personal event and so we booked rooms in this hotel.The rooms are very neat,clean and spacious.All the staffs are very courtesy with us.Front desk helped us with local map to move around on our own.The complimentary breakfast they served is excellent in Taste and i got in perfect time. Best feature of this hotel is its cover most of the sight seeings within 400 meters(Beach,Aurobindo Ashram,Bharati Park,Gandhi statue, Museum, Etc.)

Room Tip: Choose a Room With Windows facing white town.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mani820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Hotel is located at least 15 minutes from the Promenade, So if you want to stay near to the sea, avoid this place. Coming to the place in question, this is a budget hotel, so don't come expecting a regular comfy hotel stay. If you are only looking for a place to fall into at the end of the night, this is Ok.
Points:

1. THe Rooms are small, but the ones provided to us were clean.
2. Bathrooms are small as well, (only showers but this shower was broken), but again clean. So nothing to complain.

3.The room provided to us had minimum vetilation. Windows which opened to the back (somewhere where a chimney was emitting smoke)
4. We had booked a deal with complementary breakfast, only to know that they only have a bar attached kitchen. Meaning any tea or coffee or breakfast they provide, will be from outside.
5. No restaurants attached(unless you are talking about the bar), but there are many eateries near by
6. There seems to be a shortage of staffs. Only one guy seemed to be running around when we called reception in for a few things. THis may affect prompt delivery of stuff.
7. The staff were courteous and polite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good ventilation
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moiraineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOldenSunInn, General Manager at Golden Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Moiraine,

Thank you for your stay in Golden Sun Inn Hotel.We wish to inform you that the New Management Has been changed from 1st of November.we consider all the points that you mentioned and we do the best.

Regards,
Rajesh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

They key problem with the hotel was parking. There is no parking space allotted and one has to depend on road side parking; the only plus side is that the security guards assured that they will keep guard of the vehicle through the night. Room service also not up to the mark, intercom not working. WIth the except of the parking, I would say the stay was overall ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Binoy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went there in Dec 2012. This is a budget hotel, so should not be expect more. But the hotel was clean, peaceful and location is extraordinary. You can reach any place by walking from here.

But most important thing for this hotel is the behavior of the staff, they are awesome. Kudos to all. They helped us in each and every steps. Only one thing, they need someone who is little good in English / Hindi.

Food in the restaurant was good.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite good. Try to avoid rooms near to lift.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Des-T-Nation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.8 mi away
Devis Grand
Devis Grand
#27 of 82 in Pondicherry
88 reviews
1.3 mi away
MGR Regency Comfort Hotel
MGR Regency Comfort Hotel
#50 of 82 in Pondicherry
78 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramana Residency
Ramana Residency
#30 of 82 in Pondicherry
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
#37 of 82 in Pondicherry
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corbelli
Hotel Corbelli
#51 of 82 in Pondicherry
215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sarvamangalam Inn
Hotel Sarvamangalam Inn
#58 of 82 in Pondicherry
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Inn

Address: 53 - 55 R D Mission Street, Pondicherry 605001, India (Formerly Golden Sun Guest House)
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: $18 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Golden Sun Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 hrs check in and check out,Room service,Free wifi access,Sea facing restraunt,Banquet Hall,Family suite,Travel desk,Buisness center,Free Breakfast,Airport transportation,Doctor on call,Free car parking,Complimentary mineral water,Daily news paper ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing