We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Villa Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Shanti
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington Town, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in Pondicherry. The rooms are quite large and very nicely done. Very clean. Outstanding staff. Food at the restaurant was pretty good and the bar had everything you could want. Location is excellent - just a short walk to everything.

Room Tip: We had interconnecting rooms on the first floor. Very handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    154
    34
    4
    1
See reviews for
102
172
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bombay, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Pondicherry in January. We stayed at this lovely hotel for 2 nights and were very pleased with the service and food.
The quality of food is superb and the variety too.
The decor is modern and minmal, the Indian pop art is a nice touch.
The rooms are comfortable though a little sparse and the toilets are small , though very charming and well appointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Read lot of good reviews on trip advisor about food in villa shanti. It's very nice place, relaxed dining experience. Had lunch & dinner there yesterday. Good indian/french food, kid liked orange & almond cake.would definitely visit again.
r_v_k_v_k

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank r_v_k_v_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Villa Shanti is a quaint little boutique hotel in the French Part ("White Town") area of Pondicherry. In walking distance of all major attractions and other hotels/restaurants its a wonderful experience.

The bar is lovely, with bar stools, a range of new-world wines and a nice menu. The rooms are set around a central courtyard where the outdoor dining also is.

PROS:
1) GREAT location
2) Good wifi
3) Although high for Pondicherry, the room rates are very good
4) Lovely bar & little cafe
5) Breakfast included

CONS: (sadly there are!)
1) If you have a room on the ground level (rooms 1, 2, or 3) you WILL hear the clanging of cutlery from the kitchen etc; so push for a room upstairs which will be more quiet (I had Room #1)

Room Tip: Choose rooms NOT on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarshadDASWANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pondicherry has been on our radar for long and this trip was planned with much expectation. The hotel is clean , with reasonable rooms and a central courtyard. The design and decor are refined , with a few indian elements. The food is exquisite and the variety just right.The art work behind the bar makes you smile.The service is impeccable.
Pondicherry as a town though disappoints with rampant garbage making walking difficult.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you want to have a relaxed drink followed by some very Western lunch in a colonial setting after a tiring and sweaty Pondicherry morning, Villa Shanti is the place to be. The moment you enter into the imposing gates of the property you are transported to a very different place, a place where there's no hurry and where you can lounge under the coconut trees in the patio while your food arrives. But we choose to park ourselves in front of the bar under the light sea breeze being pushed down by a very slow and really heavy looking ceiling fan. You order the drinks and when then arrive, you first gawk at the presentation and then feel amazed at the freshness of everything that has gone into the drink. These people possible have the longest Long Island Ice Tea. The grilled fish, well you could smell the freshness of the sea. The Chocolate Eclair I had for desserts made me realize once again why I love chocolate so much. And to wash it all and still have it all, a final round of Margarita. After all that, well, I just didn't want to leave the place.

Room Tip: Try the Crepe Suzette. I had a spoonful from my friend and wanted to take his whole plate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avishek831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just had a weekend away at Villa Shanti and we were thoroughly impressed. All the facilities are done to a very high spec and its a fantastic looking place. We were staying in the terrace suite, huge room with everything you need. We ate in the restaurant on our last day and it was the best food we had in Pondicherry by a long way. Fresh, healthy, well presented food and really good value for money. Finally the service was excellent, very personalised, every one is happy to help while not being overbearing. This is the place to stay in Pondi

Room Tip: Go for one of the top floor suites for extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilko82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 80 in Pondicherry
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 80 in Pondicherry
1,099 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#5 of 80 in Pondicherry
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 80 in Pondicherry
506 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 80 in Pondicherry
591 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#18 of 80 in Pondicherry
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Shanti

Property: Villa Shanti
Address: 14 Rue Suffren Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Shanti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest Heritage hotel of Pondicherry. Located in the hearth of the old French town, near the business area, in front of State bank of India, close to the seaside and the Aurobindo Ashram, this old 19th-century house has been renovated and a new contemporary wing has been added. With its clean lined interiors, craftsmanship, woodwork, Villa Shanti brings you a new experience in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing