We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Shanti
Nearby Hotels
$130
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Accord Puducherry(Pondicherry)
$156
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Spray(Pondicherry)
$65
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ginger Pondicherry(Pondicherry)
$26
$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$73
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Royal Park(Pondicherry)
$41
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tamizh Park(Pondicherry)(Great Value!)
$19
$15
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveler rating
318
192
49
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
192
49
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate moussefrench quarterwhite towninner courtyardboutique hoteljunior suiteprawnsshower areaindian foodcourtyard restaurantno liftrestaurant servesold worldlunch dinnerthe ground floorfirst floorfrench colony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 572 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place is like a haven, a quiet sanctuary of calm. It's beautifully designed and kept to very high standards. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant / cafe serves creative and tasty food. It's on a quiet street in the old French part of town, a short walk to the sea. It's relatively pricey by Indian standards, but you would pay far more for quality of this kind in America or Europe, and as another reviewer has put it, it's worth every rupee.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viewfr0mabridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Just the right place to enjoy your Dinner with family friends or love one's. The Dish's may seem a little overpriced but the quality and taste of the food is just too good to worry about the price. trust me you wont even think of the price once you have tasted food from here. Ambiance is also very good, peaceful. We were lucky to get a table soon as we entered because i have seen people waiting for at least 30 mins to get a table for themselves

One drawback- Foster's beer displayed on the menu, is not available -_-

-Suraj

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sim8ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Well, was strongly recommended to visit this place by an acquaintance and we were really glad that we did!

Loved the minimalist approach to decor, menu, everything! The place put us to comfort the moment we entered... staff extremely gregarious along with the ambience made feel at ease...

Loved the menu at the first look.. not a very elaborate one but every dish was interesting and kind of yelled "try me" :) We went for a meal and landed going to the place thrice during our 2 day stay at Pondi... i am not much of a fan of Indian food when I travel but every Indian dish that we tried was subtle in its usage of spices and quite light... kudos to the Chef!

Whoever is responsible for running the show at Villa Shanti needs a resounding pat on his/her back...

Next stay is going to be at Villa Shanti definitely....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sambjok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I am a backpacker travelling around india and arrived here very ill. This was a get well present from my parents and i couldnt have asked for a better one.the staff are lovely! The food is clean and healthy.
By far the best showers in india.
Everyone was very understanding that i was ill from dvd players to randomly changing rubbish bins.
I would recommened this place to anyone in need of some tlc!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Located in the French quarters, this is one of the best places to stay in Pondicherry. It has reopened just over a year ago and fully done in white which gives a very calm and peaceful atmosphere. It has 15 rooms and we stayed in the deluxe room. We loved the room as it was very large and open unlike hotel rooms which are very small. We had a little problem with the air conditioning however the staff upgraded us immediately. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Breakfast was average however all the meals we wait were excellent. The cook is amazing and the food was great. We tried indian and french food and they managed both to perfection. We also ate at other properties like L'Orient and Le Duplex however we felt this was one of the best hotels. The hotel is located centrally and hence close to all the shopping areas. They keep the hotel spotlessly clean.
One recommendation is that the front office should have more information on the sights that tourists can visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Archiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews