We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ouah.!”
Review of Villa Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Shanti
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Place is conveniently located in white area of pondicherry, just a few minutes walk from sea front and public garden
Loveley place, immaculate, well maintained with most friendly and efficient staff
Food is just as good as the rest
Choice of Indian meals or international cuisine
A must go although slightly expensive

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christophe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 507 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Wonderful Experience...would love to go back again. we have visited couple of days back and it was unforgettable. Specially the manager who was especially giving priorities to us with some extra shots. If you want to be in the French quarters this is the Ultimate choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arranyaishan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Here is a place that has blended heritage into contemporary with ease and has succeeded in it. We visited Villa shanti a couple of days back and the stay was truly memorable. The Hotel is ideally located very near to the Ashram and the beach. It stands as a testimony to the French Architecture and the owners have done a very careful job to let the exterior remain as it is to the maximum possible and the interiors are simply superb!!! Add to it, the care for minute details, like using natural body wash, hand-made soap, placing the clay-made idols of Hindu gods. The staff were very courteous and friendly. I wish they keep up the good-work.

I would strongly recommend Villa shanti to unwind yourself and get-off the racing track of your routine.

Room Tip: Take the Executive Suite(Room no 7). It is one marvellous piece of creation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BalkiBalakrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

From location, to design, cleanliness and service - these guys have got their priorities right. If you want to be in the French quarters (near the ashram) - this is where you want to stay! And I say this after having stayed at The Promenade, Duplex, Hotel du Parc, Executive Inn, and several others! Keep it up Villa Shanti.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had the junior suite which was just gorgeous - a mix of old colonial charm and contemporary conveniences (like his and her sinks), and personal touches (individually wrapped soaps, organic ayurvedic toiletries).
Breakfast was great - some of the best croissants I've ever had (and I've traveled to many parts of France), fresh fruits, fresh fruit juice, and eggs to order. Though during the 3rd day of our stay they said they had changed the included breakfast policy to only continental, but they grandfathered us in, so we continued to receive breakfast with eggs.
Service was good - although language is a barrier, staff was pleasant, friendly, caring, and just super nice. We traveled with our 5-year old son, so this was a huge plus.
Only drawback of the junior suite - you need to climb on a stool to get onto the gorgeous bed, and that stool tends to slide on the floor easily, leading to falls, slips, and overall a hazard. We informed their architect who was in town during our stay. But other than that, we really liked the junior suite - it has a nice balcony and plenty of windows.
One thing we did miss - a pool! But then again, I enjoyed the quiet boutique nature of the hotel and the beautiful courtyard.
I've recommended this place to everyone I know!

Room Tip: Ask for the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shilpiandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

A very nice place. Its part of the heritage or white town as they call it. The facade is old / heritage building but its very modern inside with classical furniture and all modern amenities provided. The rooms are spacious and have huge 14ft high ceiling witch adds to the heritage touch. The staff is very nice and always smilling from Soma/piyush/rajesh /the lady at the reception / the french intern always smilling. The staff will accept most of your request and can arrange lots of thing to be done in and around the place. The whole place is a walking treasure hunt with restaurants / boutiques / shops/furniture place spread over. The only problem here was the breakfast, its only ment for people on a strict healthy diet. The serve 4 pieces each of 3 fruits (in miniature size) with a basket of bread. Everything else is extra. I really didnt have the chance to n'joy the food that much as was constantly out but the little that I ate out of which the Chicken sandwich was the best the Beef stake the worst. The dont have a 24hr kitchen.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for suggestion for everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prannay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The food and the room where very good and staff courteous.

The price is worth once a life time. A cool and pleasant place.

There is the ashram to visit nearby and the staff will arrange for you on request. The cab driver was also very good and courteaous.

The ashram pleasant as well along with mairti mandir.

Room Tip: Choose a room according to choice. If you prefer to stay without TV there are rooms. The Bathrooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivekhegde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
361 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
1.8 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#5 of 82 in Pondicherry
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Shanti

Address: 14 Rue Suffren Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: $112 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Shanti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest Heritage hotel of Pondicherry. Located in the hearth of the old French town, near the business area, in front of State bank of India, close to the seaside and the Aurobindo Ashram, this old 19th-century house has been renovated and a new contemporary wing has been added. With its clean lined interiors, craftsmanship, woodwork, Villa Shanti brings you a new experience in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing