We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Shanti

Villa Shanti
Ranked #2 of 365 Restaurants in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant of VILLA SHANTI splits into two parts, one opens on the patio with the vertical garden, and the other air conditioned located in the old building.We decided to focus on quality, freshness and seasonal products. We try to find them among small local vendors, favouring those who respect organic farming.Timings : 12:00 - 23:00 hrs (Last Order at 22:30 hrs)The cafe bar, situated opposite the patio and vertical garden offers snacks from Indian streets & sandwiches.You may also choose to have your meals, enjoy a cocktail made up from fresh fruit juices, listen to music, or simply read a book from our library. Timings : 10:00 - 23:00 hrs (Last Order at 22:30 hrs. Pre booking highly recommanded especially during week end or public holidays
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

A lovely restaurant situated in a minimalist court yard. Delicious gin and tonics and the food was excellent - Indian with European touches. Probably the best dinner I had in India.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank R0z_L_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    377
    123
    28
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Villa Shanti is an obscure little hotel on Rue Suffren. One has to look for it carefully lest one misses out. The story is, of course, totally different once you enter the hotel. It's a quaint boutique hotel resembling a french colonial mansion. The tables are laid out in the courtyard. The food is excellent but the wine choices could have been more elaborate. The only minus is that it tends to get a bit hot since it is enclosed within a building.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShreyasSrinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful courtyard with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a dinner at Villa Shanti with very very good food. Tasty and quite creative "fusions" of french and indian cuisine. Also a nice choice of vegetarian options. Service was friendly and effective. Rates are higher but more than worth the money for what you get. The location is quite romantic. We loved it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank vedani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahors
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“How soon can we go back?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were not staying at the Villa Shanti but had been recommended to go there to eat. The second we crossed their threshold we wanted to stay there but sadly they were full and we would be leaving Pondicherry before a room became free. We hadn't even booked for dinner and they were full here too but we sat in the lovely open bar and had one of the best coffees in south India. We talked to John, the very professional barman, and asked if we could be put on a waitlist for dinner that evening. He was charming and accommodating and said that it was unlikely a table would become free but that if we got there early enough perhaps we might be lucky. No guarantees. The trouble was there was a bbc tv crew staying, looking for the 'perfect curry' and their number filled the empty spaces. The ambience is chic, modern, witty, romantic and cool and a sense of transparence and honesty prevails. It's all open and friendly and they really seem to want you around. We waited till cocktail hour and pitched up at the bar chatting to John whilst he made us fulsome and energetically green mojitos and the driest and best martini my husband had ever had. Meanwhile the bbc crew turned up and we felt our chances of a table for dinner had faded. However, a couple of gorgeous green cocktails later and we were happily sitting under the stars in the restaurant which is open to the sky and bedecked with palm trees. This was the best dining experience in Pondicherry, if not Tamil Nadu. Excellent Indian food, the tenderest chicken, perfect tiger prawns with a fabulous balance of spices and nan that made you want to eat twenty of them. Meanwhile the tv crew on the next table loved their steak and chips and didn't seem to think that ordering cheese and biscuits for their next course was anything out of the ordinary for India. The restaurant staff met these demands with good grace. The next morning we went back for breakfast as we couldn't keep away and again felt sad that we had been unable to stay. Delicious home-made breads and pastries and elegant fruits and the most divine fresh tropical juice and all stylishly presented and served by lovely, happy staff. The owner, Sylvain, and his architect designe Tina kindly gave us really useful onward connections. This hotel, the restaurant, the management, the staff, the bar, the restrooms even; everything is just world class. Cannot praise it enough.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josephine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

went out for dinner with lot of expectation but they are keeny concentrating only on white people not on indians, Food wise nothing to impresse ,service average and very few vegetarian options.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arunkumar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Shanti also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Villa Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing