We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and nice!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anantha Heritage Hotel
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warm and nice!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

A heritage hotel in the Tamil quarter of Pondy situated behind a marvelous temple and its Kalyani.. It has a rich history as claimed by the staff and its supposed to have been the French Mayor's residence previously. Its extremely well maintained with gorgeous antique furniture and lovely pillars adorning the property. The rooms are spacious and airy and doesnt have any mustiness which is feared in heritage hotels. Its not in the french quarters, but quite close to it and very close to every major visiting spot in the city. I feel it will be more enjoyed by foreigners who are not exposed to old indian houses as its in the neighbourhood of localities as well as being very comfortable with excellent standard facilities. It lacks a good menu and restaurant which can be a good addition, but I learnt they can prepare food with prior intimation. To add, the breakfast was excellent. Ofcourse a swimming pool will be a good addition but I suppose they wont have space for it as its a house! To conclude, its really worth the money and the stay will no doubt be memorable one. Thank you Anantha heritage!

Room Tip: We took room number 7 and I believe its a suite. It was huge and had a balcony and opened to a porti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bharadwajrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ananthaheritage, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and It is a great pleasure to read your positive feedback. Your positive sentiments will be passed on our team who will be enthused. Your feedback will be helpful to us to sustain to do more as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit again and also our Anantha Heritage to enjoy the our hospitality.
Regards
Fredrick Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    80
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
90
102
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Anantha Heritage is a 100+ year old heritage home beautifully maintained. Its located right in the middle of the city. So most of the tourist spots and restaurants are in walkable distance.

We checked into a double room which was large, very clean and comfortable. AC in the room worked well. There was hot water facility round the clock. They provide a complimentary (south-indian or continental) breakfast in the morning which was very filling and tasty. Wi-fi in this place worked well at all times.

They get five stars from my side for Customer service. Frederick and Ranjith, ever-smiling and always willing to help. We were travelling with a small kid and so we got lunch, dinner and snacks custom made according to our tastes and it was prepared very well. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to get clean and comfortable accomadation in Pondicherry and likes to try staying over at a heritage home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTravelChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ananthaheritage, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and It is a great pleasure to read your positive feedback. Your positive sentiments will be passed on our team who will be enthused. Your feedback will be helpful to us to sustain to do more as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit again and also our Anantha Heritage to enjoy the our hospitality.
Thanks and regards
Fredrick gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent one night at Anantha Heritage and absolutely loved it. We took the night bus from bangalore and reached pondicherry at 6 am. They were kind enough to give us a room right away and made us feel very welcome. The room was large, clean and on the first floor with a view of the temple from the balcony right outside. The next day, they stored our luggage for us after check-out but I wouldn't recommend leaving anything valuable since our bags had been moved around when we returned. Overall, I've rated the property as "Very Good" but it borders on excellent - the only negatives were that our air conditioner conked off in the middle of the night and kept us up for an hour or so and that there was a minor leak in the washroom that made a bit of a mess. They were, however, prompt to respond and clean up in the morning. Though the property isn't in the french quarter, ten minutes down the street will bring you to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, facing the temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pigson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ananthaheritage, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and It is a great pleasure to read your positive feedback. Your positive sentiments will be passed on our team who will be enthused. Your feedback will be helpful to us to sustain to do more as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit again and also our Anantha Heritage to enjoy the our hospitality.
Regards
fredrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

One place that lives up to everything that it promises, and has no negatives on the side. It is a beautiful house to look at. It has cool interiors, the rooms are large, clean and maintained very well. The staff are friendly without being intrusive. The hotel is on a calm by-lane, 50m. away from a busy chaotic main road. The hotel is itself very calm and peaceful. You wake up to the sounds of temple bells (not loud enough to disturb you). There are plenty of shops and eating options within a 5 min. walk. Note that Pondicherry waterfront (15 min. walking distance) is rocky, dirty and tends to be crowded in the evenings. It is next to the French part of town, which is beautiful for walking around. Although no swimming is possible at the waterfront, it is pleasant for an evening stroll and hang-out. The hotel lobby has plenty of informative booklets on Pondicherry, which could be a great resource to read before you explore the area. The hotel arranged for a good cab for local tourism covering auroville, chunambar, etc. which are 10-15 km. North and South respectively of the place. The hotel doesn't serve lunch or dinner, but there are eating options within walking distance. Breakfast has limited options, and the croissants were amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gautam_hazari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ananthaheritage, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and It is a great pleasure to read your positive feedback. Your positive sentiments will be passed on our team who will be enthused. Your feedback will be helpful to us to sustain to do more as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit again and also our Anantha Heritage to enjoy the our hospitality.
Regards
fredrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

It's not always possible for you to experience all that one reads in reviews...but I knew exactly what each one of them must have felt, when I personally experienced it during my memorable stay at Anantha... It was hospitality personified by Frederick & his team, Selva, Ranjith & others..very simple & always smiling right from the time I was received until they personally saw me off...something worth mentioning, off the many places i've visited, this is the only place, where trust was exhibited with the guests.. They did not bother to ask for the payment until I approached them at the end of my stay, which according to me was non-commercial. As mentioned by most of them the breakfast was a great experience on the rooftop & not to miss the nostalgic view of the serene temple pond with plenty of fishes & surrounded by greenery... A place worth visiting many more times....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raajsaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ananthaheritage, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Greeting from Anantha Heritage !!

Thank you very much for staying with us and It is a great pleasure to read your positive feedback. Your positive sentiments will be passed on our team who will be enthused. Your feedback will be helpful to us to sustain to do more as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit again and also our Anantha Heritage to enjoy the our hospitality.

Thanks And regards
fredrick & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Anantha Heritage. Right from booking the room online, Fredrick was in touch with me. He was very considerate to give us a room to freshen up before the actual check-in time. All praise to Selva and Ranjith. The decor is homely, food served was tasty and very much customized to our needs. Breakfast was simple but very tasty. Especially the crisp dosa. Authentic Tamil Nadu food was served as we wanted. Truly economical and best value stay in Pondy and hats off to the entire team of Anantha Hertitage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nagaraj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ananthaheritage, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Greeting from Anantha Heritage !!

Thank you very much for staying with us and It is a great pleasure to read your positive feedback. Your positive sentiments will be passed on our team who will be enthused. Your feedback will be helpful to us to sustain to do more as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit again and also our Anantha Heritage to enjoy the our hospitality.

Thanks And regards
fredrick & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

You will have an excellent and unique stay here, because it is not like a "typical" hotel but much better. The Hotel is actually a traditional Indian (Tamil) House, which gives it a nice touch and cozy atmosphere. Its very familiar but you also have your own privacy. The rooms itself are very large and bigger than in other hotels. Rooms are clean, have A/C and have nice firm mattresses. They have a nice breakfast area on the roof terrace and serve you great authentic Indian dishes, served by extremely friendly staff. The location may not be the best as it is not directly at the beach or in french quarter but as other reviews mentioned it is probably the best hotel especially for this price range and a must-stay when in Pondicherry!

Room Tip: the rooms at the toop floor have a unique view on the temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santaselv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ananthaheritage, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Greeting from Anantha Heritage !!

Thank you very much for staying with us and It is a great pleasure to read your positive feedback. Your positive sentiments will be passed on our team who will be enthused. Your feedback will be helpful to us to sustain to do more as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit again and also our Anantha Heritage to enjoy the our hospitality.

Thanks And regards
fredrick & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#5 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.5 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#15 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantha Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantha Heritage Hotel

Property: Anantha Heritage Hotel
Address: 96, Rue Perumal Koil, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anantha Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce ourselves as The Anantha, a 6 room Heritage Hotel, ideally located in the heart of the city. A typical Heritage Home now restored & modernized into a hotel with an architectural landmark of Pondicherry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Anantha Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing