We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay”
Review of Hotel Sun Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sun Park
Ranked #47 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Greifswald, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel and the rooms seem quite new. We had a clean, big room with AC and attached bathroom. Blankets, sheets and towels were clean. The reception can help you in most cases, if you need something. At the hotel it was very quiet, but it might be a better option to not choose a room to the street, if you're very sensitive with noise during the morning.
Downstairs there was a french bakery with nice pastries and coffe. Beach (10 to 15 min) and shopping street (5 min) were close.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aniko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
13
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The service was very good. Staff were friendly. They were willing to extra length to ensure comfort and safety of us. The security even volunteered to wash our car for a nominal fee as there is no nearby car wash in the area. They have a coffee shop with western theme to it. It serves tasty hot pastries, cakes, tea and coffee. All in all, good and clean fun trip.

Room Tip: Good value for money. Nice Coffee Shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princecatmando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is newly built hotel with spacious room. Hotel gave me corporate discount & staff was very courteous. Hotel doesn't have restaurant but they can get you food from Anand Bhavan a good restaurant near by. Hotel is very near to beach & any time you can go to beach & hv a coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arunsahdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Although the hotel is located weLl and priced also decent but the way of presenting and judging guest is pathetic by these people and especially this gentlemen John . Based on the discussion, it is understood that any time of the night there will be raid from cops for guest which is really unacceptable while staying with family. That means this hotel is encouraging lots of such activities and apart from this, the I'd card which was taken while checking in was not returned even after check out and again needed to drove back to get it from these people which is ridiculous. These events has forced to shift to some other hotel for us. Happy to be in the new place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank usufimran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great room,conveniant location.We simply turned up here and were able to get a room at a good rate. We were backpacking around India and this was real luxury at a good price to us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanSmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We arrived at this hotel to be told that there was not reservation booking for us at the hotel even thought we had the receipt from AGODA. The manger 'John' who was very rude and patronizing told us that they do not do business with AGODA and we would have to re book and pay again for our room or leave the hotel it was so early in the morning and we were so tired having just got of a night train we ended up paying. The hotel was still online available that day to book! We had no option but to pay again...The manager knows that the tourist will pay again. That AGODA being a large company will refund and he will get double the amount for the room. We were royally scammed and it ruined our stay here in pondicherry completely. Every time you walked past the staff and especially the manager I got the distinct feeling they were almost laughing smugly at the 'silly' tourists!! If you don't mind all this then stay here but be warned fellow tourists you will be scammed. The hotel is OK but for a nice relaxing time stay elsewhere (never bother writing reviews but felt I had to for the terrible insulting experience I had there!) STAY AWAY IF YOUR SMART!

Room Tip: Room was OK but not worth the double amount we had to pay! We were royally scammed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnMcNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

booked this hotel on agoda but when we arrived they said they didn't have a reservation agreement with agoda and that someone had put their hotel on without their permission - ended up paying again for a room but the manager gave us the room which was better than the one we had booked for the price of the upgrade to that room! The guy gave us a written note on hotel paper stamped with hotel stamp stating the above so hope to get refund from agoda but who needs the grief. the hotel was still on agoda that day and we had booked at least a month earlier and he said they had a number of people over the previous weeks so the hotel appear to have done nothing about this - we felt the manager was scamming us to pay for an upgrade as this happens in some hotels in india but who knows!! The hassle and upset took much of the good out of the stay there. Apart from all that the hotel was very good - large clean modern room conveniently located

Room Tip: email direct to confirm all details of booking incuding room type
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dubdara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
#38 of 80 in Pondicherry
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Pondicherry
Hotel de Pondicherry
#60 of 80 in Pondicherry
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Sun Inn
Golden Sun Inn
#51 of 80 in Pondicherry
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Laila's County
Laila's County
#48 of 80 in Pondicherry
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Devis Grand
Devis Grand
#29 of 80 in Pondicherry
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#12 of 80 in Pondicherry
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Park

Property: Hotel Sun Park
Address: No 18 Rangapillai Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sun Park 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of the city which benefits the tourist as well as commercial class people in the union territory Pondicherry. All our rooms are neatly designed and furnished as per guest requirements of an international standards. In all our rooms we have installed LCD television with satellite channels. Writing desk and sophisticated environment as per guests desire. 24 hours Hot water facility is available all the time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sun Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing