We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent way to spend ur weekend”
Review of Le Pondy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Pondy
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Its a fabulous resort to spend time.its a weekend getaway place.this place for me is on the top notch,its quite huge property with clean & huge swimming pool and not forget the rooms are also very spacious, food is also good .if pondicherry, it has to be le pondy.we were really impressed the way this property is built in.thank u le pondy for making our stay so pleasant and memorable.

Room Tip: try a sea view rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunitha-harpreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us and we are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and liked the ambiance of the resort, layout of rooms, Olympic size swimming pool and food served at ‘SMAAK’ restaurant.

We thank you for posting this valuable comment in TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer visit and hearing from you again.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
There are newer reviews for Le Pondy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Le Pondy could be a hidden gem. Could be. The resort is set on a large piece of secluded beachfront property. The rooms are set well-apart from each other, and although slightly worn-out, are kept very clean. The pool, which was under-used during the December holiday period, had lots of space for loungers and towels. It sits close enough to the beach that you can hear the waves breaking while you relax poolside . The beach itself is spacious, beautiful, and kept very clean by the hotel. An attentive staff member minds swimmers. There are nice walks to be had in the village. But the service is lackluster and bumbling. From check-in to poolside service, from housekeeping requests to the dining room service, staff lacked initiative and were unable to follow through on requests. To give credit, they were all very friendly - just not terribly useful. The food was adequate, probably too many choices, both a la carte and on the buffet, so that no one dish was very special, but the overall pricing for the entire package was good value. If you can laugh off the service, you will have a very restful vacation. I would love to know that this hotel smartens itself up, as it could be brilliant! An especially good setting for a young family vacationing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveJackieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your stay at Le Pondy.

We are happy to note that you liked the beautiful setting of the resort, layout of the room, private beach and Olympic sized swimming pool. We have also noted your other points and positive steps will be taken to see that the property is elated to your expectations.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback and we wish to see you back to Le Pondy in the near future.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

The first thing that strikes you about Le Pondy when you drive in from Chennai is how far it is from the buzz and how calm and pretty the surroundings are. Not for those who want to enjoy French Pondicherry. .but perfect for a getaway -complete with a pristine uncrowded beach sans the noisy revellers on Beach Road, great food , an awesome pool, picturesque cottages and pathways. It is a 20 min drive from buzz town. ..quite okay if you have a vehicle. A word of caution...no shops or restaurants in the vicinity so go prepared. The hotel's staff is not very helpful - we asked for a standard mobile charger and they didn't have one !

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sreemoyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your stay at Le Pondy.

We are glad to note that you had a pleasant stay at our resort and liked the location, ambiance of the resort, private beach, Olympic swimming pool, layout of rooms and culinary delicacies served in our ‘SMAAK’ restaurant. We have also noted your point regarding charger and action has been taken to install charging point near reception.

We thank you once more for your feedback and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Le Pondy soon.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A super-hyped hotel situated in an absolutely amazing location. The resort overall has been maintained well. Will i

go there again???? for the location & beach surely yes.. but otherwise a big NO!!!!!
To start off check-in was a disaster. Richard was so busy to take the money that only after all financial

transaction did he have time to tell that room is not ready, well no time to ask for water or even ask us to sit :

(. When asked that early checkin was confirmed, all we got a response was " yesterday resort was full and we were

all busy now i cant do anything, you will have to wait since room is getting cleaned up". We found ourselves a seat

and waited for 40 minutes and went back to check the status - Another disaster. Another staff says "room is already

ready for quite sometime", Lol, room is ready and no one had the courtsey to inform us....:). A different staff

accompanied us to the room who had no clue about what all activities are in the resort. later identified that she

was a fresher straight from the college. we tried to ignore the crazy few minutes and went to refresh, realized

there are no shampoo, no towels..... which got re-filled after another 20 minutes. Didnt know le pondy indirectly

want to make our stay adventerous that we had to go searching for the activities available in the resort.

Evening went for a buffet dinner another disaster, absolutely flat food. non-veg was seemingly tasty but veg was

pathetic except for the live pasta coutner. People were so busy that they took 20-30 mintues to get water then

another 20 mintues to get tissues. I did inform one person that food was awful and we are surviving on pastas,

luckily he then got the chef who was then able to give us something edible.

Heights of service - it was my wife's birthday and ordered for a cake and asked to get it at 11:50 to the room.

Embarassing cake never turned up :(, till i called and finally came saying he just got orders to send it now ...

man.. heights...


Goods of the resort
The pool guys were great that they supplied umbrellas and towels in the beach
The beach by itself is outstandingly clean and good water to enjoy.
Resort is maintained well
View from sea view room is awesome !!!
Pool is awsome !!!

Negatives
Service sucks !!!!! to start with please welcome the guest with water or make them sit and inform of the room

status before being keen on swiping the card. Get someone who can talk to take the guest around the resort so they

know what can be done during their stay.
Either add people or get them to know the importance of guest asking something.. had to wait for water for 20

minutes. In summary probably best is get your front desk & F&B guys changed or get them to training.

Except for the location & beach, absolutely not worth paying this huge premium for such a pathetic serviced resort.

Room Tip: Sea View room on the first floor has some amazing view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank reachrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to write this review. It is with great concern that we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review. It seems that we were unable to deliver our usual high standards of service, and please accept the apologies from me and my team for the same.

We have taken note of all the issues put forward by you and have brought them to the notice of the concerned departmental heads. I can assure you that the same is being looked into.

Guest feedback and suggestions help us to better our services and provide exceptional guest experiences. We do hope that you will choose to visit Le Pondy in the near future to see the improvements brought about by your constructive feedback.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

location: amazing. private beach which is attached to the resort, lake on one side of the resort. they have staff from the resort at the beach as well to help out. beach is lovely, huge and long with soft sand perfect for playing or lounging.
resort: huge well maintained blue pool. perfect for spending many hours in the pool as we did. the pool bar doesn't seem operational which is a pity since the pool is perfect for a beer and a swim. food was quite good, not exceptional, just quite good. staff was very helpful and smart, they prepared my son's dinner as per my wishes every night very cheerfully even though it was extra work for them. the lawns around the pool are beautifully landscaped and attract a lot of birds. just perfect for lounging around.
rooms: very nice rooms. the best part was an outdoor seating area right outside the room with small bed and table to have a coffee or a beer while soaking in the sun and the atmosphere. the rooms were ok, not very spacious but certainly more than adequate. the rooms are very modern and don't lack for anything although there were some perplexing things about the room such as the bathroom doors are made of frosted glass and there is a gap between the bathroom doors. and the bathroom doors face the main door directly. very bad design, they need to change the bathroom doors or put a curtain or something there. there was another area open to the elements attached to the room but the door to that only half opened. we were left wondering as to the utility of that area. room service was quite good, no complaints there, they accommodated all our wishes cheerfully.
the resort hosts a lot of big groups so this can be a pain sometimes when 200 people come to the resort and use the pool and the restaurant and the beach area. these big groups are well managed though and they don't stay for long fortunately.
there was a live band one night- quite nice- hardly 4 of us listening to them but they gamely played on. it was like having a personal band playing your requests.
resort is quite kid friendly since the lawns are well maintained and kids can run around having a blast.
we searched for a lot of resorts on tripadvisor before settling on this one and we are very happy with our choice. if we do visit pondy again, we'll likely stay at the same resort.

Room Tip: some rooms are independently set. don't sweat it if you don't get a sea-facing room all room...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and sparing your valuable time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to note that you liked the general ambiance of the resort, private beach, Olympic size swimming pool, lush green lawn and the courteous and responsive staff..

Thank you once again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We went to Le Pondi during Jan'14 and had a great experience. The resort, in terms of location, turned out to be a perfect choice with a private access to beach. We had booked a luxury pool villa, that helped us relax during the day and late evenings. Sipping a drink in the pool or just chilling in the sunny afternoon, is your choice.

Room Tip: Go for pool villas
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanujvijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your stay at Le Pondy

I am very pleased to read that you liked the layout and design of the Luxury villa with pool and the private beach adjoining the lush green resort.

Thank you once again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

A resort of this space and such experience in pondi cherry is a perfect choice. I thought the rooms were huge and property was so big in itself for relaxing there itself for a couple of day. private beach, good spas and wonderful local as well as renowned food add to the experience. Better than most 5 stars in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ru80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and sparing your valuable time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you have loved the overall Le Pondy experience and liked the private beach, spa and culinary delicacies served at our ‘SMAAK’ restaurant. As pointed out by you, Le Pondy is a perfect resort for relaxing and unwinding.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hearing from you again.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.8 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
14.2 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#20 of 82 in Pondicherry
785 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,134 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
612 reviews
4.7 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#13 of 82 in Pondicherry
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pondy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pondy

Address: No.3,Lake View Road,Pudukuppam | Nallvadu Post, Pondicherry 605007, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range: $91 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Pondy 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pondy, situated at Pondicherry is a premium leisure resort beautifully lounged at an estuary between Chunnambar River and the Bay of Bengal. Le Pondy celebrates Pondicherry in all its true sense - the spirit, the architecture and the revelry. Pondicherry is one of the most popular tourist destinations in South India. It is also known as The French Riviera of the East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Pondy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pondy Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing