We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If i have to describe this place i can say its Heaven on earth...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pondy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Pondy
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If i have to describe this place i can say its Heaven on earth...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is the best place to witness heaven on earth. The service was excellent, food was very good. Pool also was very well maintained. Stayed for two nights and its the most memorable experience. The live band during the dinner just added to the ambience.

The approach road is not very clearly defined with very limited signages however once you reach that place you will just forget these.

Awesome Awesome and Awesome...

Room Tip: Lake view & the sea view are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthiareddyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly, please accept our sincere appreciation for choosing Le Pondy.

On behalf of all at Le Pondy, I wish to thank you immensely for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and to convey such gracious comments.

We are extremely happy to note that we were able to meet your expectation of a memorable holiday and you were able to take home wonderful memories. Your comments are a valuable tool for us to continue to improve our services for future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you to Le Pondy again for your next holiday.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    425
    105
    29
    17
See reviews for
512
246
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Le Pondy has several things going in its favor.
It is spread over a large area adjacent to the beach. The beach is a secluded area and reasonably well maintained by the resort, far cleaner than the popular public areas.
The sprawling lawns are very well maintained with a lot of grass areas for playing or simply relaxing. There are plenty of trees all over the resort with colourful flowers and even some fruits.
The villas are again fairly luxurious and maintained cleanly.
We stayed at the Pool Villa and found it to be very good. The pool was clean and the open air bathroom offered a different experience with total privacy. Value for money as compared to other properties that offer a private pool. The only nit was that because of all the greenery around you could find a fair number of ants and other insects entering your room.

There is a nice play area for small children and a club house with recreational facilities for older children and adults.
Service could at times be a little slow but adequate. The resort manager was nice enough to personally greet guests and ensure they were well taken care of.
Food at the restaurant was average. The spread was large for both breakfast and the buffet dinner (we didn't have lunch at the resort). The Indian curries were a bit of a let down, however the Chinese and continental dishes were reasonably well made.

The resort is located on the outskirts of Pondicherry, certainly not easy to access if you don't have a private vehicle. The surrounding areas are not exactly upmarket and can feel a little unsafe after dark. However once you get into the resort it is a different world.

Overall a good choice in Pondicherry if you have your own transport.

Room Tip: Pool villas are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Praks_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are delighted to note that you found our ambiance, pool villa, facilities and services worthy of your appreciation.

It is convenient if you have your own transport or else we have our own vehicles and a 24 X 7 travel desk which arranges pick up / drop, city tours, Auroville trip, one day tours to Chidambaram, Thiruannamalai etc and tailor made trips as per guests requirement.

We have also noted your suggestion and action has been taken to further enhance the dining experience.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back to Le Pondy.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at Le Pondy for a night as a family. We stayed at the Lake view rooms. The facility is excellent and the service was awesome. The attendents out there answered and responded to our call ver quickly. They were friendly. There are guards around the pool watching and helping the kids. The beach adjacent is well maintained. Food was awesome!!!

All in all it is a great place to spend quiet time with family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shanksesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at our resort and rewarding us with a five star rating.

We are delighted to know that you had a good stay at Le Pondy and enjoyed the facilities and services. Thank you for appreciating the hospitality, efficiency of our staff and cuisine served in our restaurant. Your feedback will go a long way in motivating us to continue to exceed the expectations of our guests.

Thank you once again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our stay in Lepondy was a memorable one with excellent amientites. The rooms were well designed - spacious, airy and bright. Our favorite spot in the room was the sit out facing the sea, we had some great time sitting there watching the sea and unwinding. The pool is excellent as well my son thoroughly enjoying. One another best is the Food - Dinner, Breakfast and lunch all were great and every day we tend to taste varied dishes. Great food and creative as well :) Overall excellent place for a weekend drive and stay. Kudos to the Lepondy Team!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sosme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Le Pondy and for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that your stay with us was on par with your expectations and that you enjoyed the comfort of the rooms, sit out facing the sea, our Olympic pool and the culinary delicacies offered by our Chef’s. Your appreciation of the resort is very encouraging and will inspire us to achieve greater heights of excellence.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back to Le Pondy.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had our friends re-union this year @ Le Pondy. The Resort is equipped with excellent rooms with all amenities. The facilities available keep you engaged through out your stay. The staff were very co-operative and the over-all service was excellent. Shri.Murugan their staff at the restaurant, was fully at our service during the first day including the extended night time. Would definitely visit once-again and would also suggest to all my well wishers

KARTHIK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VENKATASUBRAMAN... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Karthik,

Thank you for staying at our resort and rewarding us with a five star rating.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our amenities and impressed with our hospitality especially that of Shri. Murugan who shall certainly be complimented for his effort.

We would love to have you again with us and serve you on your next trip to Pondicherry.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuticorin, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had reached the resort with my family for dinner. Got an excellent food and great service by the staff and chefs are very innovative. We had seen the rooms which is beutiful with invidual swimming pool and village theme..overall very good rooms. we really we missed the stay in Le pondy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sundersathya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to receive your appreciation about the services rendered by our staff, culinary delicacies offered by Chef’s and the beautiful private pool villas with thatch roof.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer visit and hearing from you again.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Le Pondy is situated in an awesome location,embraced by the Bay of Bengal on one side and Chunnambar on the other.The whole property is beautifully designed and meticulously maintained.The cottages are comfortably luxurious,the swimming pool absolutely divine and the food really tasty. You get an awesome spread for both breakfast and lunch. The property allows day visitors also with access to the beach, swimming pool and buffet lunch. There is a private beach behind the resort, where one can walk up to the point where Chunnambar meets the Bay of Bengal. It is indeed a life time experience to see the Green waters of the Bay merge with the white waters of the river before our eyes. One can visit Pichavaram, or do boating in the Chunnambar apart from visiting Auroville, or doing shopping in Pondicherry while here. Good value for money.

Room Tip: They charge about Rs.2000 extra for every additional person in the room. This is thought was a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priyabaskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Ms. Priya Baskar,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Le Pondy Resort on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely happy to note that we were able to meet your expectation of a memorable holiday and you loved every moment of your stay at Le Pondy.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our resort soon.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
14.2 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#15 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
5.0 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#9 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pondy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pondy

Property: Le Pondy
Address: No.3,Lake View Road,Pudukuppam | Nallvadu Post, Pondicherry 605007, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pondy 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pondy, situated at Pondicherry is a premium leisure resort beautifully lounged at an estuary between Chunnambar River and the Bay of Bengal. Le Pondy celebrates Pondicherry in all its true sense - the spirit, the architecture and the revelry. Pondicherry is one of the most popular tourist destinations in South India. It is also known as The French Riviera of the East. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Pondy Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing