We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Atithi(Pondicherry)
$49
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accord Puducherry(Pondicherry)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Promenade(Pondicherry)
$91
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Maison Perumal(Pondicherry)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Dupleix(Pondicherry)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palais de Mahe(Pondicherry)
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Spray(Pondicherry)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,201)
Filter reviews
1,201 results
Traveler rating
490
495
140
44
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
495
140
44
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool villaprivate beachlake view roompresidential villaglass bridgevisited leopen bathroomclean beachprivate accessparadise beachbeautiful resortapproach roadpool sidemain cityayurvedic massagekids play areaindoor games
Filter
Updating list...
1,082 - 1,087 of 1,201 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I went for a 1N stay at the pool villa, Le pondy on the 7th July 2012 with my wife and two kids ( naughty boys aged 4 and 9 yrs respectively). The drive on ECR was smooth and within 2.5 hrs we were in the resort. A warm welcome was accorded to us by the staff with a drink.

We were shown a couple of rooms before we opted for the one we liked. I don’t think many of the resorts would take the pain to make you this comfortable.The rooms were big and clean, I should not miss mentioning the King size bed which could accommodate all four of us comfortably. The open bathroom/ rest room were one of a kind, really a different experience.

We hit the private beach in the evening. The beach was super clean and kids enjoyed the maximum. The kids collected as many cone shaped shells as possible before it became dark. All this time, the kids were monitored by a guard which made us to relax (stress free).

The kids straight away got into the pool once we came back from the beach. It’s a huge private pool. There were clear markings that the pool is 4.5 feet deep. Water was very clean and we were in the pool till 9.30 pm.

Got up a little late the next day, spent some time in the pool as well as the children’s play area and then checked out by 12 noon, even though we were provided time till 4 pm by Mr Shibu, manager of the resort. Awesome relaxation from the hustle and bustle of our daily life in the city but we really felt that it should be a minimum 2N stay at Le pondy.

Positives: Great Place, Excellent Ambience, Spacious rooms, One of a kind Bath/ rest room, super clean private pool, Excellent Staff – made the whole stay a wonderful experience, Manager Mr Shibu, who shared his experiences during cyclone “Thane”, very helpful.

Improvements: Approach road to resort, Sign Boards, Open car parking ( it was like sitting in an oven when we started from the resort), kids pool, provision for a barbeque within the pool villa.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gopsdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Le Pondy!!

It was such a pleasure reading your wonderful feedback. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us & we have noted you suggestions for a covered parking area, quality approach Road, sign boards etc..we assure you that your comments will be shared with our Management & will try our best to sort out this issues as early as possible.

Looking forward to see you again very soon at our resort & kindly recommend us among your friends & relatives.

Warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Le Pondy - The only Beach & Lake Resort.
MObile - 09585551301

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The entire property was huge and there is quite a bit of effort to get there. The hotel could issue a route map to locate the resort in their website.

The entire experience was great at the resort. there was privacy, the room was beautiful with an open bathroom. it was truly an experience. The private pool was very huge.

The central swimming pool was to die for and the breakfast spread was scrumptious. An ideal place to relax over the weekend.

The rooms with the private pool are adjoined so there was an instance where we could hear conversations with the room next door.

There is only one mess up with the head office being at Kerala and the bookings have to be made there gets a person really confused and there is always a mess up that could happen (which happened to us) in event of any miscommunication between the corporate office and the hotel.

Room Tip: the private pool suites are not ideal for families as the entire unit is a little open so might be a scram for privacy.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s_bubblez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Le Pondy!!

Thank you so much for posting your valuable comment. We have noted your feedback on the Reservation procedure & assure you that in future there will be more clarity in the same from Corporate Reservation office.

Looking forward to see you again soon at our resort.

Warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Le Pondy- The Only Beach & Lake Resort in Pondicherry
Mobile - 09585551301

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I'm Rathna varma from mysore visited pondicherry on june 29th,Here i can share my experience about our stay in Le Pondy. I must say the resort is too good, the management, hospitality, service, food, ambience, everything is just excellent..the private beach is excellent where we can spend time without disturbance. The only place to get relaxed is "Lepondy". i suggest people who visit pondicherry, do stay in Le pondy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards lake on higher floors
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rathnavarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Le Pondy!!

Thank you so much for your valuable Feedback. Delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us.

Please do visit us whenever time permits & Hope you will spread you experience with us among your family & friends too.

Looking forward to see you again.

warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Le Pondy
0958555301

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed for 2N during the 1st week of July. Luckily the day was cloudy and the weather not very hot. Overall a huge property next to a clean beach. We stayed at the pool villa. Rooms are clean with a big bed (had enough space for our kids too). The pool is with an open terrace, but there is enough of privacy. No internet access in the rooms, but they have a free access in the lobby area. Luckily the reliance data cards worked well from the rooms. We had to walk a bit from the room to the beach and they close the beach entry after 6pm. There is a small kids play area too. Food was good and maybe the spread was a bit limited. But really liked the effort of the Chef to come down and check with us & he even got my kids fries of their choice. We were there on a weekday and hence the place was not very crowded. The drive from Chennai on ECR was smooth, except we had to fumble for directions once we hit Pondicherry. Overall a very good property and enjoyed our vacation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suresh75s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear Mr.Suresh,

Greetings from Le Pondy!!

Thank you so much for your valuable Feedback. Glad to know that you & family had a memorable stay with us. We also noted your few suggestions regarding the food spread, Wifi in the rooms ( already implemented ) & more road directions. We assure you that all your suggestion will be shared with our Management & will take necessary action .

Once again thanking you for selecting Le Pondy for your holiday & we wish to see you again at our resort in the near future.

warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Le Pondy
0958555301

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a lovely time at le pondy. The location of the property is fabulous, with beach view and lake view cottages. Pool side is simply amazing. Loved the cottages too and the view from the cottages is superb. Rooms are nice and the sitting area in the balcony is innovative. Though the food/buffet spread can be better! Overall a very good experience for a family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priya_Jai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Pondy!!
Thank you so much for your precious time & the valuable feedback. We are happy to know that you had a comfortable family stay with us. We have also noted your suggestion on the buffet spread & assure you that we will take special care on this sector.

Looking forward to have you with us again in the near future.

With warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Le Pondy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews