We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book!”
Review of Raj Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raj Lodge
Ranked #114 of 152 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't book!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I sent requisition for booking room at this lodge. There was no response to my mail. They didn't bother to send any reply or call me. Then when I rang up to them, they said rooms are available. No problem. Come directly. When I landed there, they said A/c ROOMS ARE NOT AT ALL AVAILABLE IN OUR LODGE and all the other rooms are full. When I said you only told that the rooms are available and asked me to come directly, they didn't respond. Luckily, because other lodges were available nearby I could get an accomodation. My advice is never book rooms in this lodge and you will be disappointed when you land there. I don't know for what they are having their website and information in their website is completely misleading.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank luckytraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    2
    2
    9
See reviews for
2
3
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This is a great budget place in pondicherry. The rates are superb and you even get a tv. Close to some fantastic eateries and coffee houses. The staff are very kind and helpful. The bedding is a little worn and they have a generator. Full power.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

the staff are are fine. Their sheets are worn and grey in colour we ask for clean sheets and got the same but ironed. They use every sheet untill you can see thru them.I find that thru out India. We had a room at side walk level. It was real scruffy and lots of dust on the fan and AC. genrally all over the room. as im real picky with dust. i tend to dust every room as im allergic to dust. I bring my own anti bactieria clean clothes and rubber gloves. i looked for bugs etc. i couldn't find any but the second night I felt like i was being eaten by bugs. I could'nt sleep all night. my friend slepted well. they did not give good directions. I asked about an address I was looking for and they said it was 10 minutes walking down on the same street.. matter of fact the address was just a few feet away across and down the street from hotel on the same block..Only stay here if you are on your last rupies but want to be safe. we looked at all the hotels and rooms in the area and this was the best for the price.

Room Tip: When traveling in India i think it would be wise to bring a blow up mattress with you. Carry a sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slukaduka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My room was big, but the smell, shower, beds and toilet was terrible.

Though the location is good, and it should always have free rooms. If you are a budget traveler and don't have a time to find better place, (check New Guest House at first) you could spend a night here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandr Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sarvamangalam Inn
Hotel Sarvamangalam Inn
#68 of 82 in Pondicherry
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
#39 of 82 in Pondicherry
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Corbelli
Hotel Corbelli
#52 of 82 in Pondicherry
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coramandal Heritage
Hotel Coramandal Heritage
#6 of 152 in Pondicherry
260 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
605 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Dune Eco Village & Spa
The Dune Eco Village & Spa
#38 of 82 in Pondicherry
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raj Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raj Lodge

Property: Raj Lodge
Address: 57 Ananda Rangapillai Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Raj Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing