We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely one night stay in Pondicherry” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Escale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Escale
Ranked #6 of 141 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A lovely one night stay in Pondicherry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel, on 23 November. We arrived early morning on the bus from Madurai (at 5.00 am). We were allowed to wait in the lounge/breakfast area upstairs, as the check in time was not until 12 noon. In the end, we were kindly allowed to check in early, at 9.00 am, which was great. We had a spacious room on the first floor, with a little lounge right outside withe a sofa and fridge. Our room had a small balcony, a separate area for hanging your clothes and a nice bathroom. The room had no TV, but we didn't mind this. We got lovely lavender soaps to use, although unfortunately, the water from the shower was only ever lukewarm. We had the excellent breakfast on the roof terrace, although this was a little pricey at 250 Rupees each exc tax. The location of the hotel was excellent - it is in the French quarter and very close to the beach. It is also within easy distance of lots of nice restaurants. We recommend La Maison Rose, but don't recommend Le Club (which is on the same street as this hotel). The manager, Nicholas, was very helpful, and also helped us to organise another night's stay elsewhere in Pondicherry, as they were full on the Saturday (we understand a lot of places here get booked up quickly for Sat nights, because Indian families from Chennai often come here as a weekend getaway).

Room Tip: Although we were on the first floor, I would agree with previous reviewers that it is probably bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndseyCrook1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    82
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
37
90
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Arrived after a difficult start to our trip to india in Chennai. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful owner who gave us all the information we needed for our stay and pleased to assist us with all our queries. Made us feel very at home. The rooms were a good size and were clean. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Staff were attentive. Overall, this is a charming place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Where do i start ? I happened to stumble across this place during my last visit to Pondicherry last year and unfortunately we couldn't stay with them last time . This time , Our trip was planned around L'escale's room availability . That itself should say a lot about this place .
Personally , a Good Accomodation to me is very important and plays a very vital role in making or breaking my vacation as a huge chunk of the holiday goes into what a hotel gives you i return .

Located in a quaint alley very close to the promenade , It is a well done up space , very very well kept n clean . A good night's sleep is assured at the guest house , Each room has its identity and that's what i loved most . This place simply makes one HAPPY :)
You wouldn't expect Star comfort at the price you're paying and at the size of the space , but Do not judge this book by its cover . It's absolute Value for money indeed and a gem in Pondicherry.

Icing on the cake is the area on the topmost floor : Call it a terrace/cafe/lounging area , it was like a little piece of paradise for us as we love staying indoors . The breeze from the waterfront is amazing and the view is priceless . Lovely sit out area and great staff who make things homely .
Kudos to the owner , who is very very genuine n warm , made sure we were happy n comfortable.

Just One Clarification : No transparent bathroom doors in all rooms as mentioned in some of the reviews , atleast in the two rooms i was shown ,the bathroom had a dedicated proper door (opaque).

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are better .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yasmin1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

A simple and nice place to stay at, with a beautiful roof top. the best part about the place was its location. The ambience is beautiful an you can look at the sea from the roof.
the rooms were cozy and maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boardroombackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Warm, welcoming and helpful friendly staff. Comfortable clean rooms in a convenient quiet location. Breakfast at extra cost was good value and delicious. View from the roof top overlooking ocean was enjoyable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaFayD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcutta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

we were looking for the colonial ambience at reasonable rates and l'escale gives you just that. its located off the beach road on the rue dumas in the french quarter. the rooms aren't big, they are simply furnished, but with style. ours, ie the romaine rolland, had a tiny balcony. they have a rooftop breakfast area and sit out under palm leaf thatch that i atleast quite fell in love with. there are no arrangements for lunch or dinner here but there are lots of good eateries nearby. parking is on the road. a good place to get a feel of old pondicherry.

Room Tip: the romaine rolland has a tiny balcony. great place to sip your tea as you watch the sun light up th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanotravellerwb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

the biggest advantage is the location, you can start your day at the roof top buffet breakfast which gives u a sea view!!
The building is old and it shows, the only ventilation to the toilet is into the room! its lil damp and the view out side the window is not pleasant. I agree, not much of it can be changed nor can we blame the people who manage this place.
we found it a bit over priced and so checked out after a days stay.
It was not a bad experience.

Room Tip: rooms facing the road must be better than the once facing aft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lescale, Owner at L'Escale, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
I have taken note of your comments on the ventilation in the room you had and alterations will be done
These old buildings in Pondicherry to suffer from damp in the raining period. we do our upmost by re painting every year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.5 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#13 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.0 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#7 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Escale

Property: L'Escale
Address: 31 Dumas Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Escale boutique hotel / guest house is a refurbished building situated in the heart of the colonial French quarters. Stepping outside the L'Escale boutique hotel / guest house, you will be less than 100 m away from the beach promenade, making it ideal for a walk along the beach road during the evening. L'Escale boutique hotel / guest house compromises of 7 bedrooms with attached bathrooms and air conditioning. The guest house also comes with a terrace which has a magnificent view of the ocean and Pondicherry town. Breakfast is served in the terrace and the guests are welcome to utilize the terrace at any time during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your L'Escale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing