We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, cozy and quiet place.”
Review of Center Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Center Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 170 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Nice place with some cheap and nice small houses as rooms. The installations are pretty good and the food too. The only bad thing is some of the staff, that are not as friendly as you would expect. For the rest, it is a very nice and comfortable place.

Room Tip: The cheap rooms with shared bathroom are pretty good, specially in the small houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 22 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed 4 nights here.Comfortable room and bed.Food was more than adequate.Quiet peaceful surroundings.Very good value for the price I paid.I read a previous review that rubbishes the place,but reading between the lines it says to me more about the inadequacies of the writer than the guesthouse.The number of interesting,friendly, guests,some of whom had come back to stay numerous times(which says a lot for the place),was a boon.Conversations after dinner often went on long after.The management certainly do give the impression they would rather be doing something else,but I always found them helpful and polite.Its probably the "laid back atmosphere",that surrounds the guesthouse that generates this impression.I would recommend it as a good place to stay in Auroville,and hope to go back myself sometime.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nardir3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I spent an entire week in Auroville staying at the Center Guest House. Its a nice place with clean rooms and good food for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was just okay with bread, jam, curd and fruits. They have a generator system in place which keeps a light n fan in your room ON at all times even though there is a power cut. This was a major plus point considering the number of times the power cut happens in a day. The place is surrounded by nature and it was really nice to hear the insects and birds early in the morning. Since Auroville is a completely natural habitat, giving a jungle like feeling, there are bugs/insects/lizards everywhere, even in your room. This was difficult initially, but by the end of the week, I got used to it. It is situated at a walking distance to the Visitors Center and to MatriMandir. A bicycle is included in the room rent which is an advantage to move around Auroville. Alternatively, one can rent a moped.
Overall, the Center Guest House is a nice place to stay in the heart of Auroville, amidst nature, with good food and good service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_n_Tourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My experience of Auroville was very disappointing due to the very poor standard of hospitality at the Centre Guesthouse. The managers were the most unhelpful, unfriendly, grumpy people I've ever come across in my travels. The other Indian staff didn't care about the guests at all. The meals are supposed to be included in the cost of accomodation, but the food was terrible and there wasn't enough of it to feed the number guests. Breakfast was supposed to be from 7.30 - 9am, but the food (bananas, papaya,bread, jam and very weak coffee) ran out by 8 or 8.30am. Anyone who came to breakfast at that time just got a few bananas if they were lucky. The kitchen staff usually just disappeared or shrugged their shoulders and said there was no food left.
The dinners consisted of things like some mushed up bland brown stuff (staff couldn't tell us what it was) salad and a bit of cold fried egg. To find alternative food, you have to walk over a kilometre to the cafe at the visitors centre which is not practical at night or in the morning.
Free bicycle hire was also supposed to be included in the cost of accomodation, but all the bicycles were broken when we were there.
When I asked for toilet paper or soap for my room, the female manager was grumpy and annoyed. The male manager told me they had no internet access for guests, but I saw other guests using their laptops in the reception office. I decided not to even try to use it there as the vibe from the managers was so negative and really got me down. I was surprised by the owners' slack attitude and bad vibe especially as most of the guests were really lovely people from all over the world who are interested in the alternative lifestyle and philosophy of Auroville. Auroville is supposed to be a place where people come to live 'the life divine'. The Centre Gueshouse was quite the opposite and an example of how not run a guesthouse.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wallina2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Auroville is a man made forest and the whole place belongs to the Aurobindo Ashram.

Central guesthouse is well located in Auroville, very close to Matrimandir. Central Guesthouse provides with all meals and rooms are clean and artist. It is a guesthouse. Food was not quite good.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonyparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Natacha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormaBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0 mi away
No photo provided
Yogi Ram Inn
#15 of 125 in Pondicherry
1 reviews
6 mi away
The Dune Eco Village & Spa
The Dune Eco Village & Spa
#40 of 85 in Pondicherry
756 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#20 of 85 in Pondicherry
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#16 of 85 in Pondicherry
658 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#26 of 85 in Pondicherry
423 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
#42 of 85 in Pondicherry
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Guesthouse

Address: Auroville, Pondicherry, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing