We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Pondicherry

“Best Sea food in pondicherry”
Review of 1 Rue Suffren

1 Rue Suffren
Ranked #128 of 484 Restaurants in Pondicherry
Price range: $4 - $7
Description: Located in the old French town along Bhartidasan Park, 1 Rue Suffren is just a minute walk from the famous Promenade Beach. We serve Indian and Continental dishes and offer outdoor dining at the cafe. Local dishes, culinary treats and cocktails are served at the resto-bar. We are located in the heart of the city amidst all the attractions and we offer the best of hospitality to our guests.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in the old French town along Bhartidasan Park, 1 Rue Suffren is just a minute walk from the famous Promenade Beach. We serve Indian and Continental dishes and offer outdoor dining at the cafe. Local dishes, culinary treats and cocktails are served at the resto-bar. We are located in the heart of the city amidst all the attractions and we offer the best of hospitality to our guests.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

This is restaurant in French colony , and the ambiance of the restaurant is also like that of an old French mansion with long corridors and traditional doors .
The food here is awesome especially the grilled fish and prawns .
Also the staff here is very polite and friendly , special thanks to Reema , she was very good . The manager was also very polite and friendly .
I recommend this restaurant to all those who want to have authentic seafood .

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Abhishek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 9 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2020

Went there for dinner with family.
Ambience is good.. Nice place .
Service could be better .
Food was okay but in very small quantities with the high rates they charge.
Rest room facilities are far and difficult for elderly in the family.
Overall, an over rated restaurant

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank DocSLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

Celebrated my wife's bday there, even though i regret i couldnt celebrate with a cake atleast or a good personal experience, it was a great time
Great staff

Drinks + Starters = Good

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sriks212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019

Food was great, service was very attentive, chilli chicken was amazing and the tikka kebabs superb. sat on the balcony. The building is beautiful french architecture. Me and my wife loved the place. Good selection of beers and a couple of different wines

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Bobby6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

What a beautiful old French building, and what a pity that the restaurant in it has such poor quality food and even worse service!
They took hours to deliver a single item, and none of them was a success: hair in the food, dishes floating in oil, ordered veg and was served non-veg, and all this after long-long periods of waiting.
I regret ever eating there as I felt queasy the whole night after!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Camilla_Bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1 Rue Suffren also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to 1 Rue Suffren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing