We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location Homely feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Coramandal Heritage
Ranked #6 of 172 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for New Year's eve. The place is typical old house (what we call Vaada in Marathi) converted to a hotel. Don't expect royalty because the name says heritage.
The rooms, service and get up of the place is quite homely. It is centrally located and all local attractions can be visited walking.
Breakfast has a Rs.50 package which basically serves omelette bread and tea/coffee. There is an apparel store facing the road inside the hotel which I found quite value for money. All in all a good experience if you are a 2/3 day tourist out for sight seeing and not expecting a star hotel feel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rohan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 264 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Good value and good service for a medium budget hotel. Excellent location. Friendly staff. Free internet in the lobby. I got the room next to the lobby so I had WiFi in my room. Drawback - I heard noises from the lobby. But hey - for India, it was one of the quietest room I had

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piotr1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

well it was my 1st visit to puducherry ,so had a reference from a friend about this hotel. it was horrible right from the entry , it was a sunday so we got to know there would be no room service, we had to carry our luggage to a 1st floor SO CALLED deluxe room @)201, on entering we did not like the shabby -ness of the room but then we had no otheroption as we booked it for 1 day., it appeared as if it was for free and verymuch like a dharamshalaa.
the Good thing about the hotel : None really except the location.(although 90% of the hotels are on walking distance from the beach)
the Bad things : 1- deluxe room @1600/night: no room service, feeble wifi-connect
2: Dirty bathroom/ broken taps /broken flush
3 : non working AC, its a kind of different electronic gadget,,,,it doesnt stop if its running and doesnt start if its switched off. on inquiring about its maintenance
the receptionist asked us to switch it off & ON from a backdoor main switch at the veranda",,,,,,,just surprised with their audacity and lack of professionalism.
we had actually planned for a 3 day stay but with the turn of events i did not want to spoil my vacation for this petty place...... the next very day i was lucky to get a great place to stay in the very next road with at least 5 -10 times better quality room and service.
at the end i would suggest people trying out heritage hotels not to visit this place, there are far better heritage hotels @ cheaper rates in the vicinity.which are hygienic and with better service.

Room Tip: GO TO THE NEXT ROAD@ rangapillai street around 200 mts from this hotel and you can get worthy places...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yash2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Hotel coramandel is a decent budget hotel. The lowest charge for a double ac room is Rs. 900. The place is centrally located and easily accessible on road. They say they have parking but parking is on the road and car gets very dirty..

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulj05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had no idea how a heritage hotel would be until we checked into this one. Its an old Tamil villa which may seem a little cramped for space. The room we stayed in (Deluxe 201) was quite spacious on the first floor, just adjacent to the balcony. This was probably the best room on first floor as it had two windows to the balcony. The bathroom and AC worked fine for us. I think the cafe was not in order during our stay, but ever staff there makes wonderful tea/coffee whenever you want them in your room. The hotel interiors are pretty artistically done and the paintings are worth a watch. The receptionist Jaya and other staff like Raja and Rajesh who stay for the night shift are quite helpful. Ask Raja for good restaurants and bars around. The hotel is actually at a very premium location with everything including the sea at 10 minutes walk. You won't feel the hustle bustle of the nearby market as the hotel is on a quiet street. If you are fond of filter coffee, try it at the New Vijaya Tea/Coffee center. Take a right from the hotel door, cut another right at the first junction and you'll find the coffee center about 100 meters on your right. Another advantage of the hotel is, you can wash your own clothes and dry them on the terrace.

Positives: Great location, good budget rooms, helpful staff, free wi-fi with pretty good signal on first floor too

Negatives: No provision for breakfast, the narrow staircase from ground to first floor can be risky.

I would certainly like to go back and stay there again for my next trip!

Room Tip: Try for Room 201. Its the most spacious and adjacent to balcony on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank priyankaroybanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here in April 2011. After a lot of looking around for a good, clean place to stay, I came by Coramandal Heritage. I got an unbelievably nice, comfortable, value-for-money, superior a.c. room for a 2 night stay. There is a cosy sit-out area outside the room. Its not too far from the sea front & has lot of options around to eat. Away from the market noise. The staff though a little slow, were pleasant & helpful. Lovely place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank U S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hi travellers and review readers.... i along with my friend had visited the city and had 02 night stay at the Hotel. I was booked in Standard room but was upgraded on free to superior catergory which is in the top floor. The room was quite big with a kingsize bed and a single bed which can accomodate 4 pax comfortably. The bathroom was quite spacious.The rooms needs to refurnished and walls needs to coloured . There was AC failure on first day and there was water leakage from roof. Keeping it aside it was good to stay and will reccomend other to stay as its quite value for money in centre of City

Sibasis

Room Tip: Try for Superior rooms , 301, 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sibasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corbelli
Hotel Corbelli
#59 of 85 in Pondicherry
218 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
#37 of 85 in Pondicherry
64 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#19 of 85 in Pondicherry
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#26 of 85 in Pondicherry
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
#42 of 85 in Pondicherry
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#4 of 85 in Pondicherry
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coramandal Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coramandal Heritage

Address: 36 Rue Nidarajapayer | Near to Mission St Cathedral, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range: $21 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coramandal Heritage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coramandal Heritage, 150 years old Franco-Tamil home hosts from the centre of the colonial town. In 2007, this house has been converted into a calm hotel. It offers a peaceful stay with ten comfort rooms. There is a gallery for South- Arcot paintings and an ethical boutique for cotton products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Coramandal Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing