We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just marvellous ....”
Review of Dumas Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dumas Guest House
Ranked #10 of 149 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just marvellous ....”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We all loved it and we will definitely be back as soon as we can .

Everything is just perfect at the Dumas Guest House : wonderful place , wonderful and welcoming hosts. The rooms are neatly decorated. The guest house is very well located and anything you need to know about Pondicherry and its surroundings , just ask Bala and Jackie for the info and they will provide it for you !
We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom304554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    51
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
62
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Close to sea shore and is in French side of Pondicherry. Bala, owner of this property was very helpful. We rented two wheeler and aimlessly spent our 2 nights-3 days trip of Pondicherry. There is no TV in rooms but has internet, Speed just enough to check emails.

Do not miss street food of Pondicherry, close to 'Beach'. Also, visit Villianur which i feel many people miss. Food at French side is expensive but definitely has international touch to it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Datha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Dumas Guest House, Pondicherry
Quiet location one street back from the promenade. Clean accommodation with helpful staff. Tea and coffee making facilities near the reception. Very good laundry value (R20 an item).
Free wifi in the bedroom. No breakfast. We were not impressed with the cafe opposite ( sloooow service and drab menu). 
Overall the Dumas is recommended for a quiet clean no frills accommodation.
Bon bake in town has excellent coffee and patisserie. Very good south Indian food at Sugura ( 2 starters and 2 mains plus nan and litre water for  R 350).

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WRB_Kawakuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

A perfect place for stay in Pondy. Clean and spacious rooms, beautiful courtyard, and wonderful people around. We were a group of 9 adults and 3 kids and had stayed there for 2 nights. Had a real blast!!

If we r in Pondy again, its goin to be only Dumas.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Skarodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Found this great place to stay on our 3rd trip to Pondicherry...and it really was a great find!
Neat and clean rooms, no frills but very tastefully done.
Just across the road is alliance la francaise where they have a nice peaceful breakfast place. A short walk to the promenade.
Though there are no restaurants attached, the proximity of several other eating places, with several french restaurants within walking distance...Dumas has awesome location. A definate recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Siddharth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I had the most wonderful time in Pondicerry and a huge part of the credit goes to Dumas. I was pleasantly surprised to check in to such a beautifuly furnished and well kept room for the price i paid! The location is excellent with the beach being 3minutes away and lots of restaurants right next to the guest house.We can walk to most places but to places that are far (Auroville), autos are available right at the end of the road.
The staff is very helpful and friendly and I cant thank Bala enough for the innumerable recommendations he offered us.
Im definitely visiting pondi again and there s no way im staying anywhere else!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hsramya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

You have to get the booking confirmation by email.. the location is perfect, a stone's throw from the beach... the rooms are designed in french style and are extremely comfortable, spacious and cosy..the common terrace would be an ideal place for relaxation and board games and getting to know the other guests if u are interested..there are lots of good restaurants nearby for food..

The staff is extremely friendly and rates are affordable and is really worth every penny... it is an ideal romantic getaway and kudos to owner bala and becky for managing it so well..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travfrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 81 in Pondicherry
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 81 in Pondicherry
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#20 of 81 in Pondicherry
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 81 in Pondicherry
1,110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
#24 of 81 in Pondicherry
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 81 in Pondicherry
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumas Guest House

Property: Dumas Guest House
Address: No 36 Dumas Guest House Rue Dumas Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing