We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Devi's grand review”
Review of Devis Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devis Grand
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Pondicherry
chennai
2 reviews
“Devi's grand review”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Neatly maintained rooms and spacious, staffs were courteous and helpful during the stay. The location was in centre of the city. The hotel is little far away from the beach. Good hotel for homely stay. The staff helped to guide us to the must visit places in pondy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pincode102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
21
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
140 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

we booked a one room suite (although we were also shown another type of suites with a separate lounge area divided from the sleeping area by a piece of furniture). it was quite good well furnished big room. beware of the additional tax and service extra payments though, as they only included all the extra payments in our bill upon check out, and we were a bit surprised to pay an amount 10% higher than the original room offer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed here for a day on 07-feb-2012 in standard room.The rent was 1250+taxes. The room was not spacious at all and not very clean. We got an all-out machine (as there were mosquitoes in the room) after requesting for it multiple times.
The people at the reception would not be able to help you with how to get to places, book or seek information about cab or bus bookings. They would just handover a information booklet.
There is an south Indian restaurant in the ground floor and roof top bar but we were not able to try them.
The hotel staff is friendly.
The beach is not as close as shown in the maps.

Stay only when you are on strict budget as you could find a better place comparably closer to the beach with little more amount.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the standard category as they have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
261 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Came to know of Devis Grand through a friend. Checked for the normal rooms but was told that they were not available and was given the Junior Suite. For the facilities provided, I found the rooms at 1750+taxes a little costly. There is no complimentary breakfast. The staff is very helpfull. The rooms are spacious. But we faced a few problems with the AC as water was leaking from it on the bed. Due to this, my friends had to change their room. Also found the mattress to be too soft.

Room Tip: Not sure if they have rooms with a good outside view, but both the rooms we took had a wall outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanjoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I often vist pondi and i've stayed in many hotel,but This is the best hotel for my stay& value for money. It has a good restaurant (ANJAPPAR),the best chettinand cusine and has well stocked bar at the rooftop. The rooms are cosy & well maintained in high standards. It value for money. This hotel is located in the heart of the city which is easy accessable to the beach,busstand & shopping area. I recomend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nasir_Hussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My first stay at this hotel was about 8 months ago and I was full of praise for this place. It was very nice , cutomer service was at its best and everything worked. I had recmonded this hotel to any friends travellingto Pondy as well.. I was back there 07/23-07/24 and everything had changed. I took something called a Junior suite , the room was flithy. The supposed to be white bed linens were brown in color and had all kind of stain on them.Three of us went there and they charged extra for the third person. The extrad bed was even worse. The AC in the room never worked ,someone tried to fix it but it worked for 5 mins and went dead again. The room service was still really good. The towels in the restroom stinked real bad , asked for a replacement and got them quickly ..but they happenned to be even worse.

Typical example of a hotel being real good when its new and you know the rest..

Never again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toms_m2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

I had a booking for Hotel Mass but arrived in Pondicherry a day earlier so I had to find a hotel for a day. I was thinking of the Ginger hotel but on realising it was so far away from town, I dropped the idea. I left it to my taxi driver to guide me to a suitable hotel and it happened to be a tossup between Devis grand and a next door hotel. Some intuition made me choose Devis Grand and I was not disappointed.
The hotel is nicely located almost at the boundary between the french and tamil areas of the city and close to the heart of the town so shopping sojourns are easy and walkable unlike the other hotels and it is on the main artrery road.
The staff was very helpful even though the room I was in was dark, but who cares when you need the room to rest after a town ramble. The restaurant Anjappar attached to the hotel was the best in Pondicherry for its Chettinad food.There was never a table free and the food was delicious. That was a bonus that came with Devis Grand.
I am planning a trip with my family soon and you can guess where we will stay. Yes, Devis Grand.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — The dark room
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TripperGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.7 mi away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#35 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
#32 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corbelli
Hotel Corbelli
#47 of 77 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Sun Inn
Golden Sun Inn
#46 of 77 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#11 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
#38 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devis Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devis Grand

Property: Devis Grand
Address: 237 Lal Bahadur Shastri Marg, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devis Grand, started in the year 2007, has the distinction of being one of the finest business class hotels in Pondicherry. Located in the heart of the business district, Devis Grand is close to some of the best shopping and entertainment centres. Ideal for the business traveller who wants the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Devis Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing