We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Maison Perumal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison Perumal
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

A real find. Fantastic boutique hotel. Small and quiet and the best surprise was the meals. We had been travelling in Southern India for 3 weeks and we had the best food here, hands down.

To top off the food quality, the staff were first class, with a friendly "family" style welcome.

Can not rate this hotel any higher, if you are looking for comfort, cleanliness, service and great food.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 384 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a small boutiquey-style Hotel in the French quarter.
Part of the cg-hotels group it's sister hotel is the Palais de Mahe, also in Pondicherry.
It's a haven of tranquility in a sea of bustle. The style is old colonial and there's a small inner courtyard where you have your meals. The food is freshly prepared every day and the chef caters for his individual guests. If you're staying for Dinner he'll requisition fresh Lobsters or Prawns and cook them to suit your taste.
There's a small Bar which is separate from the dining area and it's a great spot for a relaxing drink before Dinner. Breakfast is a fantastic start to the day and once again the staff will cater for your individual needs.
The rooms are large, impeccably clean and cool.
This was a real find and I can't recommend it more highly. Deserves 6 stars.

Room Tip: There's no pool but they have an agreement with their sister hotel 'The Palais de Mahe'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdsnestbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Lovely heritage hotel in a nice and convenient area of Pondicherry .
The hotel is quiet , spotless, and well maintained. From the moment we were greeted with a delicious and refreshing lime and ginger drink, we realized how pampered we would be by the impeccable staff. Dinner and breakfast were abundant and tasteful , before dinner the chef also showed us how to prepare a delicious fish curry .
But the staff really shined when one person in our group forgot his passport and money in the hotel room safe. He didn't realize it until the manager of the hotel called our guide ( we were almost two hours away from Pondicherry ) and they brought everything for a small fee to the hotel we were staying the next day . Incredibly efficient and honest staff!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank flarav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Its a nice place. Good service. Good rooms. Sea food dinner is a must try. The breakfast is not that great. But ok.the sea is about 10 minutes walk. You have to park in the street over all a nice experience

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank mrpuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel, quite unique, a heritage house that has been adapted to a lovely eco hotel, spotlessly clean and well maintained. We had a very warm welcome from Elbe, sorry if I've spelt the name wrong? Our welcome drink was the best we experienced in India a refreshing homemade ginger and lemon. As with all food and drink served in this hotel the ingredients are of the highest standard and a lot of thought goes into healthy eating.

It's located on the edge of the Tamil district but the French quarter is within easy walking distance. Our room, No.3 was very large with king size bed, desk area and a large shower with plentiful supply of hot water. We also had windows opening onto the roof terrace which was a nice area to sit at the end of the evening to read and relax.

We had our evening meal in the restaurant, it was a set menu ideal for fish lovers as everything was cooked fresh depending on the catch of the day. There were four courses and very good value at 990 rupees per person. Breakfast was also a set menu with fresh fruit, muesli, toast, croissants and eggs cooked to order, very healthy and wholesome it made a refreshing change from the buffet breakfasts we'd experienced throughout our tour of India.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and greatly appreciated the free wifi as well which so far has been unique in our experience of Indian hotels. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

One of the best that we have ever experienced. Personal attention and hospitality are at the top. True family atmosphere. Well maintained old India styled building. Gave a personal send-off when checking out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ureddi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We spent two nights at the Maison Perumal in January 2014 as part of a 30 day tour of South India. The Maison Perumal is characterful and friendly hotel located in town. The room that we were allocated on arrival proved to be extremely noisy at night as a result of constant barking by a neighbour's dog. The fact that the window would not shut tight made matters worse. We changed rooms the next day and that room was good (ask for rooms facing the inner courtyard and avoid rooms at the rear of the hotel or above the street at the front). The food quality and service at breakfast were good.

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing the inner courtyard and avoid rooms at the rear of the hotel or above the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.8 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 85 in Pondicherry
556 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 85 in Pondicherry
1,208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 85 in Pondicherry
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#12 of 85 in Pondicherry
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Orient
Hotel de l'Orient
#29 of 85 in Pondicherry
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Perumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Perumal

Address: No 44 Old No 58 | Tamil Quarter, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: $126 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Perumal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tamil Quarter of Pondicherry is a place where cultures not only met, but melted. And gave birth to a way of life found nowhere else in the world. Maison Perumal is our tribute to that way of life. A sepia serigraph of another time - dusted off perhaps, but not retouched. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Maison Perumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing