We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and carefully restored”
Review of Maison Perumal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison Perumal
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a very comfortable boutique hotel with very friendly and efficient service and excellent food. Breakfast is great, lunch is a la carte and dinner is a set menu (R995). The rooms are nicely equipped in this century old house built by a local family. There are lots of reminders of the past. The only drawback is that it's a long walk to the centre of the French quarter where most of the attractions are.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back where, ironically, there was a lot of noise from building nearby and the ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HofH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 378 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

We opted to stay at this tiny hotel (10 rooms), and we were pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff and beautiful rooms. If you are looking for a big city 5 star hotel then this hotel is not for you, as it is a very well maintained bed and breakfast establishment. It provides an excellent service and the staff are on hand to provide advice as and when required.

The rooms were pristine, clean and comfortable --- in short excellent value for money.

The hotel is also centrally located and is close to the French quarters and the promenade.

I would recommend the hotel very highly

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the street during the wedding season (Dec-Jan) as it can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel to experience a typical chettiar home.. and we exactly got it. The rooms are typical, and importantly clean n comfortable.. every aspect of the hotel brought us back in time. Well maintained and beautiful.. special thanks to the manager and his staff.. superb friendly and warm hospitality..

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank shan1371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Maison P is a delightful combination of comfort, character and good hostellery. The decor is in keeping with the house and is very inviting.
The hotel is located right on the edge of the French quarter making it ideal for sightseeing errands on foot. It is however a haven of calm in side which is always welcome after a day out in the noisy city.
The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Of particular note, the chef and his team create delicious local cuisine dishes which are heartily recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jdesalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Four weeks in India and just splashed out this once. Waste of money I would have been just as happy in a non-aircon dive! Still if its what you want I recon it punches above its weight. Attentive staff and service. Super big rooms. Found a discounted c.Rs.6,000 rate with Stayzilla.Com which seems to me a mid-range price for a top-end offering. Slightly off the french quarter however still an easy walk in. Staff are highly professional and service faultless

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank GlynCarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This restored registry office has only 10 rooms, each large and airy with a full bath. Everything works well, including the a/c, and there are ceiling fans everywhere. The staff are wonderful and the meals excellent. The location is great. All rooms open on a central gardened courtyard. And wifi is free (although it doesn't always work!)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gitta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is a beautifully restored colonial building, a little bit away from the main French touristy area of Pondicherry. It is only an interesting walk or a short auto-rickshaw ride through the Tamil quarter to get there. The service was absolutely excellent, we were greeted warmly and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were very keen to help and advise on sightseeing etc. There is a small, very trendy bar at the hotel, as well as a lovely semi-outdoor restaurant where dinner and breakfast are served. Dinner is a set menu - 4 courses of Tamil Nadu/French Creole cooking, served in a delightful setting and it was no trouble at all for them to replace certain items in the set menu for us due to dietary requirements. Breakfast was an absolute feast of fruit, eggs, bread and croissants which really set you up for the day. The bedroom and bathroom were clean, lovely, comfortable and furnished to a very high standard. 2 complimentary bottles of water are provided each day. The only reason we're giving 4 and not 5 is because the standard room we booked was very small for the price. For example there was only 1 chair so the other person would have to sit on the bed. However this is a very minor point and there are plenty of very nice areas to sit in the hotel. There is free wifi as well as a laptop which is free for guests to use. Highly recommend going to the cooking demonstration before dinner one evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizard078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.8 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 85 in Pondicherry
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 85 in Pondicherry
1,193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 85 in Pondicherry
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 85 in Pondicherry
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
9.2 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#20 of 85 in Pondicherry
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Perumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Perumal

Address: No 44 Old No 58 | Tamil Quarter, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: $105 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Perumal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison Perumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing