We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Maison Perumal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison Perumal
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We had a great time visiting Pondicherry. Thanks to maison perumal, the experience found a friend. What is striking about this place is the unique layout to a hotel carved on a south indian traditional house adorned with french thinking. Magnificent rooms with tall ceilings, unique floor layout and a huge bathrooom. They had plenty of electric outlets, usually important for someone like me who owns lots of gadgets.

We were pretty overjoyed on realizing that food is cooked fresh on the same day with the same employees through the day. Essentially, this place is like a family guest house but just super beautiful.People are outstandingly friendly and helpful. They will chat with you for hours if you wanted to and give you the personal touch of experience.

There are only 10 rooms and so you would be lucky to get reservation. I travelled with mom and wife. When they found that there was room available, they sweetly gave away the vacant room for my mom.

This place is also pretty close to the jetty and walking distance to Aurobindo Ashram

Have a great trip !

Room Tip: We stayed in first floor. Very quiet. There were 3 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freealchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 384 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2011

A sweet and soulful respite in our South India Journey. The food was the best we'd had, the rooms spacious clean and comfortable with all the conveniences. The staff was friendly and attentive and we immediately felt welcome. Maison Perumal has the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the service and convenience of a hotel. Convenient and walkable location.
Highly recommended. Since the hotel was part of a package, I don't know exactly what we paid for the rooms, so I can't speak to value. If it's in your price range, book it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We can only agree with kkbella – Maison Perumal is indeed a great find in Pondicherry. The delightful staff kept us well fed with authentic South Indian food and endless cups of tea, and the cool spacious rooms and courtyards were a welcome refuge at the end of a day’s sightseeing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wally70Tamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We had a a fantastic time staying at Maison Permural in Pondicherry. The staff were friendly and helful, nothing was every too much trouble. Additionally, the meals were absolutely delicious, healthy, appetising and very filling! Just like a home away from home - I stayed with my husband and parents in law and we all agreed it was a perfect place to stay. A great find that we all thouroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor, its lovely to hear the rain on the roof and closer to the rooftop for a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Best decision to stay here. it truly lives up to the CGH earth experience. the hotel is beautiful and very very tastefully done. every thing there has been chosen carefully and complimented the place very well. the staff were excellent and so helpful that it was truly refreshing. we were given rooms with the courtyard outside it were we could have our morning coffee and just relax. the food was excellent with everything having it's own unique taste.

highly recommend anyone going to Pondicherry to stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the first floor towards the back. although the rooms upfront are bigger it faces th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohitthar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I had a wonderful dinner in Maison Perumal and i discovered a warm, welcoming, confortable and peaceful place to stay In Pondicerry.
The hotel has just 10 special rooms, each different from the other. The staff is kind, friendly, helpful and make you feel like at home.
The hotel is centrally located in the french part of the city, very close to the beach. The food has been delicious. I really appreciated this place. Travelling in India is a wonderful experience, but staying in Maison Perumal can make it much more enjoyable

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monica_g71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This beautiful hotel truly is a boutique experience. It is tastefully done up. The staff are warm and friendly and very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.8 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 85 in Pondicherry
556 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 85 in Pondicherry
1,209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 85 in Pondicherry
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#12 of 85 in Pondicherry
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Orient
Hotel de l'Orient
#29 of 85 in Pondicherry
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Perumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Perumal

Address: No 44 Old No 58 | Tamil Quarter, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: $127 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Perumal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tamil Quarter of Pondicherry is a place where cultures not only met, but melted. And gave birth to a way of life found nowhere else in the world. Maison Perumal is our tribute to that way of life. A sepia serigraph of another time - dusted off perhaps, but not retouched. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Maison Perumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing