We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, beautiful property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Villa Bayoud is located in the old french town of Pondicherry, right next to the beach and has an awesome view of the sea. The property itself is small but very beautiful. The rooms are nice, clean, spacious and well maintained. The only issue, however, is with their limited room service and an almost non-functional kitchen. Staff is decent and generally cooperative.
Overall decent value for money, except for availability of food.

Room Tip: Go for the sea-facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    51
    23
    13
    9
See reviews for
47
51
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

I have stayed here twice before right when this place had opened. The location is a clear winner. It is fantastic specially if you have opted for the sea view rooms. The sea view is absolutely divine. You will wake up with the rays of the sun and can watch the morning walkers along the goubert avenue if you are an early riser. Again stay in bed and watch the evening sun set with the sea changing colour. However, the rooms need better maintenance. The bathrooms are spacious but the hardware needs replacement with most of them are shabby and need cleaning. The bed sheets were unclean and after a few reminders I got them to change it. They are under staffed and 1 helper has to run around for everything from morning breakfast, which is very basic egg toast affair, to cleaning the rooms. But the manager, Mr. Ajay Gupta is very helpful and courteous. We stayed here in the midst of the notorious summer heat in April so we stayed indoors during the day except for venturing out for lunch (the hotel has no restaurant). If I stay here again, it will be only for the location of the hotel. For the price, one expects better maintained rooms and carry your own bed sheet if you are finicky like me about cleanliness of sheets. The property has a lot of potential and was much better maintained when I visited in 2006. Sadly, this time a lot was expected but didn't live up to my expectation because of the poor maintenance. However, as I mentioned ad nauseam - the location is great - right along the sea front, heritage building, walking distance from Arobindo Ashram, infact walking distance from anyplace in White Town (Villa Blanche) - Pondicherry Museum, Elements - the shop selling fabulous products of which some are made by the ashram residents. Over all an average experience. I adore the location but hope they improve on service soon.

Room Tip: Opt for sea facing rooms. I think they have only 2-3 of that. The difference in rate is worth the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piyadebose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Six of us spent a weekend at the Villa Bayoud, which is a heritage property right on the main promenade in Pondicherry. This was a mixed bag - lots of good things about this property, but what steered me towards the 2-star rating is the attitude of the staff. That was such a dampener and will not make me want to go back! OK, first the good.

Pros:

1. Great location - It's right on the promenade, faces the sea and has the best view Pondicherry can offer. Be sure to ask for a sea-facing room!

2. Spacious rooms (sort of) - Since this property was renovated into a hotel, I guess they can't control the original dimensions of whatever this property used to be. As a result, one of the three rooms we had was gigantic - super spacious, great bathroom, amazing outside patio where we were able to host friends and have drinks. However, the other two rooms were tiny and paled in comparison. So be sure to ask for the room dimensions before you book.

3. Decently Priced - For the space and the location, I thought the room was appropriately priced. You can get rooms for lesser, but the quality does start to dip. All in all, I felt it was a fair trade off

4. Housekeeping - Rooms were clean and cleaned on request too. Good job!

Now for the cons:

1. Discourteous Staff - I only have one con for this property - their terribly rude staff. When we get there, the gentleman at the reception was friendly and nice. Later in the evening, we had some friends over and were drinking out on the patio in one of our rooms. Someone called us from the reception (couldn't be sure if it was the same gentleman who welcomed us or someone else) and rudely told us that they had a time limit for visits and if our guests didn't leave now, not only will be charged extra but also that the gates would be locked and they'd have to jump the gate to leave. I swear I went back to the agreement and searched for guest visit timings and didn't find any. If they did have that as a condition, why would anyone pay $70 (4,200 INR) to be told when to come and go??? And he was so rude about it!!

Huge dampener on the whole experience!!

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, ask for a sea facing room and make sure the dimensions are good enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bharath_jay30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Villa bayoud has beautiful French colonial decor with a beautiful colonial bedposts bed. The terrace is very nice as well as the courtyard which had a Buddha sculpture and little fountain Pond. We had a room on the back of the building which was not sea view, but it was very quiet. The sea view would have been a bit more noise because at night hundreds of people.are out waking on the street by the beach at night time. The staff was amazing. The owner Mr Patel was so nice! I needed to call some of the future hotel bookings to confirm so he let me use his cell phone. Then even more amazing I needed a local credit card to make a bus booking and so he paid on his card and let me give him cash! Seriously so kind! The breakfast omlete was delicious and the Indian tea was my favorite of the whole trip. They had a motorbike delivered to the hotel for us to rent that was very easy. The location of the hotel is perfect. The price was a little more than we paid elsewhere in india but the service was wonderful and due to being across the street from the ocean and that there is only one street of ocean front, the price was not surprising.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanceFlossTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I would strongly discourage patronizing this establishment. There are many other alternatives in Pondicherry. The staff were so unfriendly from the day we arrived till the day we departed (too busy either talking on the phone and or surfing the internet). We felt like unwelcome guests that had walked into their establishment uninvited. They were not helpful at all and totally unpleasant! Better to give business to other deserving establishments than Villa Bayoud.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Singababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel had a very nice location .Staff were very helpful especially Suresh and the manager. They were genuinely courteous .The place had a lot of heritage in it which made the stay even more fabulous. The breakfast was pretty chic .The drawback was that the hotel did not have a restaurant operating during my stay . Do book well in advance to get the nice sea view room . I will highly recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: Select the seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shankarram17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was one of the best stay Villa Bayoud is a heritage property well maintained very clean.....loved the location. The rooms facing the sea has wonderful view very calm & rejuvenating. The rooms are spacious and attached well maintained washroom. Mr. Ajay Gupta very friendly and wonderful host. The breakfast is included in the room tariffs. Though the variety is less but the taste of the food is very good. The rest of the team is also very helpful. There are tea stalls, milk bar and restaurants very close to Villa Bayoud.....thus food both veg and non-veg is not a problem.

If anyone is looking for a great peaceful holiday this the place to stay..........rooms are very beautiful and special mention for Mr. Ajay Gupta..........(all the important spots are walking distance from this location)

Room Tip: Rooms at the second floor 10 & 11 are very good..........it has beautiful view & very spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shohini33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#30 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#9 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel

Property: Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel
Address: No 5 Rue Saint Martin, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing