We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing French about it”

Neemrana's Carte Blanche
Ranked #37 of 368 Restaurants in Pondicherry
Price range: $8 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Topping my list of favourites in Pondicherry would be the HOTEL DE L'ORIENT on Rue Romain Rolland, which remains true to its Neemrana non-hotel ethic in its sublimely atmospheric CARTE BLANCHE courtyard restaurant. I honestly couldn't decide which I liked more - the soup glacee aux concombres et amandes, a truly light and delicious cold soup made with cucumber and almonds or the equally refreshing figues sechees aromatisees a l'eau de rose (oranges, dates and dry figs in a salad dressed with rose water).
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Nothing French about it”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Do not go to hotel de l’Orient expecting French food. And when u do figure out whats going on, do not try telling the wait staff so. You will get a look that is half death and half distatse. Because if you din’t know Ratatouille was mixed veg with ketchup stuffed in a limp green pepper you obviously need telling what French food is. The service doesn’t score any better either as we asked for a mosquito repellent and were told to get in touch with the rain gods if he had any complaints (no, seriously). However, I would recommend sticking to the French influenced Indian side of the menu; it does have some nice surprises. The ambience is truly spectacular however our evening was marred by a bunch very noisy four year olds.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arorgarima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    83
    35
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
183 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“terrible Christmas dinner”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel restaurant offered a three-course Christmas dinner and we thought, naturally enough, that the dishes would be among the chef's finest. Food took ages to arrive - perhaps an hour. One side dish was so disgusting that we had to ask the waiter to take it off the table. The best dishes were edible but nothing special.

The courtyard setting is nice in theory, but the iron-backed chairs are not comfortable when you have to wait so long. On top of that, for Christmas the hotel had invited a loud combo which played rather mournful pop-rock songs of the 1980s.

We took our other meals in Pondicherry elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brandenburg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service and polite staff”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We being from Mumbai are not really accustomed to dinner at 7.30pm, we took the reservation concept a little lightly. But we were welcomed here, and given great service. If you are looking for some local speciality cuisine, do have dinner here. Very beautiful ambience, lovely courtyard setup. And great smiling staff.

Helpful?
Thank Ekta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington Town, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best steak in India”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Best steak in India. Ambiance beyond par. Amazing acoustic live music. Extremely attentive staff. Possibly the best feed in Pondy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Romantic candle light dinner”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

It was the most romantic setting! It was a tiny table with two candles lit. The dinner was awesome! The quiche especially! I will definitely consider going back to Pondicherry and staying there when I visit India the next time. A friend and I explored the place, even though we were there only for dinner and it was interesting, very french and homely in it's architecture.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Ranjani22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neemrana's Carte Blanche also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Neemrana's Carte Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing