We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“way to go !!”
Review of Hotel Atithi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atithi
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“way to go !!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I know I am too late for the review, I said abt 6months back, and It is indeed a very good hotel, amazing ambiance, warm welcome, nice chaps at the reception, nice food, I really liked every bit of my stay. they were so quick on the deliverable, breakfast is delicious, over all its really worth every penny that we spend !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashanth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    252
    78
    13
    15
See reviews for
189
138
27
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a lovely good value hotel -- clean large rooms, good bathrooms, good breakfast. But if you came, like we did, to see historic old Pondicherry, we would have preferred to be more central to the old French area. The hotel is in "Tamiltown" and is a short walk but it was a difficult walk back at night in the dark due to road construction (a new sewer being installed, I think) and due to traffic between the beach road and the hotel. This is certainly not a historic hotel but good value for the money if you are coming for the beach and not for history.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atithi-Pondicherry, General Manager at Hotel Atithi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us at Tripadvisor. This was unfortunate you had the difficulties due to the Road Construction. It has got sorted out by the Govt of Pondicherry.
We will look forward to welcome you again at Hotel Atithi Pondicherry.

Thank you
Amitava Roy
9003043214
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

A very pleasant, comfortable & convenient hotel. We are very happy with their services. It wasn't planned but worked out to be really close to the place I had to visit and is close to the beach as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13ANDREA1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atithi-Pondicherry, General Manager at Hotel Atithi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to know that you have liked your stay with us.

We will look forward to welcome you again at Hotel Atithi Pondicherry

Thank you
Amitava Roy
9003043214
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

we stayed here for one day only but the memories will be carried for long.we were upgraded to a superior room without a request.service,staff,food was extremely good.highly recommended .tariff is reasonable looking to the facilities.

Room Tip: rooms facing east should be better to enjoy rising sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guddu1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atithi-Pondicherry, General Manager at Hotel Atithi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was delightful to know that you are highly satisfied with your stay at our Hotel. We will look forward to welcome you again at Hotel Atithi

Best Regards
Amitava Roy
9003043214
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

One of the best hotels to stay in Pondicherry. Super fast Room Services... You will enjoy...... Located at very good area. walkable distance to Rock Beach.... guranteed good stay... i highly recommend this hotel for first timers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dikhunmekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atithi-Pondicherry, General Manager at Hotel Atithi, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving such a positive feedback at Tripadvisor.

We shall wait for your next visit to Pondicherry

Thank you
Amitava Roy
9003043214
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

A great lace to stay in, very close to the Puducherry Beach. Rooms are well maintained, Wash Rooms were excellent, service was excellent. Breakfast and Dinner carries a variety of choice. Kal Dosas were excellent - they have an excellent Chef - who was very receptive to our queries on how the name of chicken 65 originated. He told us that it originated in India, and this was the 65th dish which was served to a nawab.
However only the bedroom linen could have been more new - they were clean, but faded out.
Rooms could have been provided with wooden flooring which would bring the hotel into a greater delightful experience level

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atithi-Pondicherry, General Manager at Hotel Atithi, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us at Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have liked our Hotel. It was wonderful to know that you have been properly briefed about the concept of Chicken 65

Your feedback regarding the Linen has been noted and shall take action in due coarse

We shall look forward to welcome you again at Hotel Atithi Pondicherry

Thank you
Amitava Roy
9003043214
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

A modern, friendly 5 star hotel with an excellent breakfast. There was good Indian and Continental food, plenty of fruit, freshly made dosa and pastries. Our room was large and very plush. We paid 7000 Rupees for one night, arriving without a reservation. The service was good and we were allowed to check-in a few hours early without any charge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina_Priya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atithi-Pondicherry, General Manager at Hotel Atithi, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted to know that you have liked your stay .
We shall look forward to welcome you again at Hotel Atithi Pondicherry

Thank you
Amitava Roy
9003043214
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.2 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
0.1 mi away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#16 of 82 in Pondicherry
617 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#27 of 82 in Pondicherry
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atithi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atithi

Property: Hotel Atithi
Address: 126 S V Patel Salai, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atithi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atithi is set amidst the flower lined avenues of Pondicherry, a quaint town situated on the stunning shore lines of the eastern seaboard of India. Situated in close proximity to the commercial district and tourist attractions, Atithi is the perfect choice for both the corporate client and the discerning traveler. A blend of old world charm and unmistaken southern hospitality will welcome you at this charming hotel situated in a corner of the world where Mother Nature continues to hold her own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atithi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing