We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome hosts”
other travelers have booked this property
Studio Bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Studio Bed
Living Space Private Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Studio Bed
Living Space
Private Terrace
Sun Deck
Restroom
Name Board
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
PallaviY1...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome hosts”
Reviewed December 22, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

pondicherry visit.

We are couple with a 3 year old kid and a dog. We have been travelling through out India and staying at home stays due to our pet. We visited Pondicherry recently and were looking for a place to stay. We ended up at Melville. Due to our Good Luck.

Anup and Mehak are awesome hosts. Not for a minute we felt that we were travellers. It was like visiting a family. Both of them are exceptional which is also very evident by their home stay. Its in one of the best locations. Walkable from serene Aurobindo Ashram and right next to white town. Promenade is also within 10 mins walk.

But it's not its location which is USP of Melville but the people. They are adorable and very full of hospitality. Anup is very diligent and responsive. He ensures that you are comfortable and relaxed. Mehak is a super woman. She handles here household i.e. everyone who stays and works at Melville. Her food is too finger licking and drinks/juices for die for. Must try are her gingerelle and carrot juice.

We highly recommend that while in Pondicherry must stay at Melville. We could only stay for 2 nights but anyone can spend a full week. Must see are the terrace kitchen garden. They grow basic veggies on their roof.

Thanks Mehak and Anup for hosting us. Hope to visit you guys again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avinash M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay in Pondicherry”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at Melville service apartment Pondicherry from 3 RD September to 7 th September, family of 4 including 2 small kids one 4 yr old daughter, 2 yr old son. Stay was fantastic to say the least. The amenities what they have is pretty good to make anyone comfortable. The hosts are simply fantastic, Mr Anup & Mrs Mehek melvany both are accommodating, they will go out of their way to help others.
We stayed at penthouse, quartz . The space opens up to a wonderful balcony on 3 rd  floor, kids enjoyed playing games. Mehek had baked us cakes at 3 different occasions, and the welcome drink that she provided was very good. My son became a fan of mehak and ended up asking for cake every time she visited us.
Location of the apartment is ideal, walkable distance to most of the places , beach,ashram , Gandhi statue etc. Car parking is available .
Highlight of the stay is the food, and will gladly recommend Sindhi breakfast. We had dinner also, Mehak had prepared us very good sea food. Her culinary skills are exemplary. House keeping was excellent .
During the duration of our stay unfortunately TV cable reception was not available for most part of the stay.Mr Anup tried his best, but it could be rectified only by the last day of our stay.
At the time of checking out, Mehak prepared a wonderful cake for us and that just shows how well they take care of their guests.
Would love to visit again and recommend the place wholeheartedly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeanA65
1 review
“A Place To Call Home -Mel Ville”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

For many, we often look for a place that vibes well with us, a place to call home. Like every other hotel or service-apartments, the expectancy in exchange for our good money is to be endowed with a posh experience while having everything taken care off.  In dire need for a homely feel, we stumbled upon Mel Ville-service apartment and based on the reviews, we seemed to have met our match.

The cleanliness, the beautiful display in the living room, array of toiletry, good ventilation, and spotless master beds were all fashioned in a creative manner and was nothing short of an impeccable presentation to welcome our stay. If I must say,  we were pleasantly surprised as our living quarter proceeded far from what the pictures looked like on the website.

After getting settled in, we were cordially acquainted with  Mr. Anup Melwani and his beautiful host of a wife. Our living quarter was spacious, comfortable and the right amount of homely feel. It seemed like we had won the jackpot!

What's more? Safety plugs for electrical outlets were set in place in keeping with a family setting. The location ideally favoured its occupancy as it is situated in the heart of Old Pondicherry (yet away from the bustling main road) with all major tourist spots within a kilo meter's radius of Mel Ville. In addition, a well equipped functioning kitchen made it all the more admirable as we could prepare our own meals. The WiFi connection as well was much appreciated to stream online movies for family movie nights.

The beauty of this place doesn't end there, Mrs. Mehak Melwani, had our breakfast laid out without delay. Everything from the welcoming drink to the last morsel on our plate was absolutely delightful.

The witty owner-come-host Anup seemingly born with the gift of the gab truly made for a great conversationist in regaling the tales of the old. He was quite helpful in arranging transportation, facilitating us with tourist spots and recommending the choicest places to dine (his own establishment being one of them). Over and above that, Anup is a life saver! He immediately stepped up to aid my brother to the nearest hospital (due to food allergies) in the dead of the night.

Drawing to a conclusion, Mel Ville is highly commendable in our books and has excelled in more ways than one. 

At the end of the day, a good business ensures our happiness and satisfaction but adding a personal touch and building a connection goes a long way than just paying the final bill. 

Besides checking out on all categories of outstanding services, this fine establishment is not just remembered for its pleasant accommodation but people ( Anup & Mehak) who opened their hearts to us as much as they opened their homes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoumyaK12...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Pondicherry to make your trip all the more awesome”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We really like the hospitality by our host anup and hostess Mehek , his wife. They both are amazing. Bonus was Mehek's cooking which was awesome and authentic. Would definitely recommend to try once the cooking by Mehek. Apart from cooking , she's an awesome lady and took good care of our requests and was pleasent to talk to. Anup on other side managed things from helping us book cab to giving us details on Pondicherry tours and other programmes. Would definitely recommend this place if you are to stay at Pondicherry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VJARORA
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Penthouse apartment was heavenly !”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed from saturday night to monday morning...very relaxing. Apartment was so clean and well provided. Mehak baked us lovely banana nut cake. great holiday destination. close to shopping places and restaurant and beach. Glad we went for the weekend...

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThasleemH...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Mel Ville”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is the best place I have stayed away from my home and felt like home, thanks to Mr Anup and his wife for being so kind and generous.Everything about Mel Ville is great. Everything in Mel Ville is as 100% as described ,tourist attractions and shopping hub are just minutes away . Easy to access. You would surely want to go back to live there if you went once.And I must say Mr Anup's wife(Mehak) cooking is just awesome , every dish she cooks is just first class.You wouldn't get a better place with all these qualities for the same price. Love it totally.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwikritiS...
1 review
“Great stay, comfortable, pet-friendly apartment at a convenient distance to the beach”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Considering the fact that this was my first experience of staying in a service apartment, I would have to say I was absolutely amazed. Anup and Mahek are the best hosts one could come across and if I say Mahek's cooking is to die for, I would not be exaggerating a bit! What worked for me the most was the pet-friendly atmosphere (I was travelling with my dog), the clean, spacious and well- furnished room (comes with two private open spaces) and easy accessibility. I have had a very pleasant stay with family and hope to be back real soon!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2017
Mam, we are grateful to you ( and to Leo primarily ) for giving us the opportunity to play host . Mehak came up with her best after you gave her a free hand with the menu. Your trust in her paid off ! All is well, that ends well - Cheers to you and your team ! Mehak & Anup
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing