We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Hosts and a Great Place to Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Studio Bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Studio Bed
Living Space Private Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Studio Bed
Living Space
Private Terrace
Sun Deck
Restroom
Name Board
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Nilesh V
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Hosts and a Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a wonderful time staying at the Roof Top Studio. The apartment was very well maintained, spacious and tastefully furnished with a little antique flavor. The hosts Mahek & Anup made our stay a pleasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Apartment and the Hosts
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2016
Sir Nilesh, I absolutely return with thanks the compliment and kind words you attribute to us and to Mel Ville - Best Regards !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saravanar...
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in a homely environment”
Reviewed February 14, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I got to know about this nice homestay through my friend from his own experience after staying here. That made my job easy & so I didn't give a second thought. Though I had to book in last moment during republic day long weekend rush, the owner Anoop was kind enough to put us on a waiting list and confirmed the booking since the other people interested in penthouse did a cancellation. Every phone call/message to him was attended well and we were well informed of facilities in accommodation in advance though his mail which made us to prepare well for the travel since we had our 4yr old with us.

I didn't not want to go for all those sea-facing Ad's from hotels in pondicherry as there were many hidden conditions on those Ads and most likely one will get cheated after booking or after reaching the hotel. So my no-brainer choice was a nice home stay & I am so happy I choose this.

Now about the Penthouse:

This is a neatly designed layout in the terrace of the 3 floor building where Ground/1st floor have 3BHKs for guests & the owners stay in 2nd floor. This has 2 bath, a big hall & very nice kitchen with necessities. The big hall has 2 ACs fitted and one need not worry even about the heat because of being in terrace. Has to mention there is a lift from G to 3rd floor and no worry of climbing stairs. The terrace has well laid seating places for one to relax in anytime.

It became clearly evident after reaching there that the property is kept pristine clean from all around. Once inside room, things are in place that I never had to call asking for anything. When it comes to using the kitchen we only needed for Tea/coffee and so carried packs of goodlife along with us. After everyday, the penthouse gets cleaned & put back to its best state :).

Location: The Mission st which is a shopping/restaurent hub is just in 5 mins walk and one can step out anytime without worrying about driving in traffic. Also the main promenade beach is 10 mins walk. Even if you have elders with you there would be plenty of autos plying in main road once you get down the property to main road.

Hospitality:
This is run by a very approachable kind couple and they always made sure all your needs are attended. The moment we checked-in Mahek insisted she will prepare some food atleast for the kid though we did not opt for food while booking.

Parking:
Two cars can be parked inside the gate and since the road is a deadend one can park the car outside if no slot. However since the propery has only 3 accomodations, it is very likely you will park inside gate.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2016
Sir,
Your point by point review is a highly commendable exercise.
Future guests will definitely thank you for making it easier for them to make an informed choice - vis a vis Mel Ville.
Mehak & I thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you, the pleasure was ours !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
euclid194...
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed January 13, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Melville with extended family (incl. two kids) for a week and were very happy with the arrangements. The hosts Mr Anup and his wife Mehak were very friendly and caring. Especially, Mehak explained in patient detail all that we wanted to know and made us feel at home.
The property is well maintained and clean (with conscientious cleaning ladies). Its main advantage is its central location. All the places in the heritage part of Pondicherry are accessible by foot from this apartment. Laundry and wifi are available, but "chargeable".

How easy was it to book the property?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2016
Sir,
At Mel Ville apartments we are especially happy to host extended families with kids to promote bonding among members. To that end, your long planned week long stay was a big success. Team Mel Ville takes pride in providing the impetus and coming up trumps ! We thank you wholeheartedly for giving us the opportunity to host you as well as taking time off to post a positive review about Mel Ville.
Wish you well !
Mehak & Anup
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dijin212
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Place when traveling with large group of Friends”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We are a bunch of 11 friends ( guys & girls) from Bangalore and needed a nice and comfortable place to stay in Pondy where we could be together under one roof and Mel Ville was the perfect place for it. Its located very close to the french white town and also railway station. we were provided a 3BHK house & an Extra single room.
The rooms are very spacious and clean and well furnished. All the basic amenities are provided.
Once we arrived at the railway station, we tried to take an auto but they were charging 250+ for around 3KM distance, but do not take the auto. There are OLA cabs available and we were lucky to get the cabs for 70 bucks. If you are traveling light you can walk as well using the GPS coordinates.
One of the highlights of this place is the hospitality of Owner Anup & his wife Mehek. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. they are always available for any concerns.
Also we can easily rent out bikes through Anup's reference. He gives pretty good deal on the rentals as compared to other places.
We had a great time in pondy and partied all night without facing any problems.
We were able to have a memorable and safe stay thanks to Mel Ville and we are looking forward to staying there in the future.
I highly recommend this place if you are a big group and want to get the homely feel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hospitality & the house
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2015
Sir Dan, your in depth review highlighting various factors will definitely help a prospective traveler make an informed decision. Thank you for you time and patience and the kind words you expressed about us.
Best Wishes !
Mehak Anup
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preet M
Ludhiana, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful place”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It's wonderful place to enjoy the actual hospitality of Pondicherry. It's very clean, well maintained and you feel like home.I think if you plan a trip to Pondy for a more than 2 days then you should definitely opt Mel ville to stay. The hosts are really nice and helpful. It's located in the middle of Pondy. Even the Beach road is at walking distance. I will definitely plan to visit again and would like to stay at Mel ville only.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Sir / Madam
Thank you for the compliments !
Wish you well.
Love to Ronak.
Mehak & Anup
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsaacMelv...
1 review
“Peaceful Retreat in Pondy”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I recently spent 6 weeks solo staying at Melville in Pondy. My expectations were greatly exceeded. The apartment was immaculate and very conveniently located close to the historic part of Pondicherry and the waterfront.  The apartment was very peaceful and un cluttered and provided a very good environment to get work done. 
The bathroom and kitchen facilities were also very clean and well maintained.  In addition there was a large terrace that provides beautiful views of the city. 

The apartment owners are very attentive and were always available to provide me with information and help in Pondy. Also when a very slight problem with the shower developed it was attended to immediately. 

The housekeeping and laundry services were also much appreciated. I had a busy schedule and the apartment and my clothes were always kept immaculate. Housekeeping was also very unobtrusive and worked around my schedule. 

I'm very happy I chose to stay at Melville and wouldn't hesitate to return there. The apartment is excellent value for first class accommodations. I hope to return and rent one of Melville's larger  apartments in the future with my family. 

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2015
Vanakkam Sir Melvin,
Team Mel Ville thanks you for opting to stay with us during your six weeks long sojourn in Pondicherry. That makes you the longest staying guest Mel Ville has ever had the pleasure of hosting.
We truly enjoyed your company and appreciate the effort and time you have taken to post a well thought out and detailed review.

We most definitely look forward to your next visit with family.
Do convey our respects to Amma !
Mehak / Anup
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicia42...
Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a really nice time during our extended stay at Mel Ville and would gladly come again! The place is spacious, well-kept and with appliances to cater for long or short stays, and generally a comfortable place to stay. The owners were also very helpful and kind, and the hired staff friendly. While the rooms could get quite hot around noon on summer days, opening all the windows made the rooms breezy and comfortable, and air conditioning also exists and was very helpful. And the short walk to the beachside Promenade in the evenings was a nice way to catch some cool air! We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2015
V Ez & Felicia,
Team Mel Ville thanks you for opting to stay with us for close to 4 weeks.
It seemed quite obvious that you made yourself quite at home in the Penthouse.
That by itself is a great compliment.
It was most definitely our pleasure hosting you.
We hope and look forward to your next visit.
Wish you both all the very best life has on offer !
Mehak & Anup
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing