We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Richmond, Puducherry
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

On my business trip to Pondicherry, i came across this hotel by chance. I was booked at a bad hotel so needed to change.
Extremely humble and helpful staff, the front officers were very sweet. Rooms were clean, service quality is also worth mentioning, faced little bit of problem with the shower but as compared to the service that can be spared.
Best thing: Foooooddd...I just loved the seafood served with Ghee rice and roasted vegies and complimentary french fries

Negative Comments:
They should add some variations in the breakfast menu.
Rooms too small for 2 person

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOURAVISARKAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THERICHMOND09, Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and sharing you positive experience in Trip advisor.

We greatly appreciate you support and look forward your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    119
    45
    8
    5
See reviews for
76
82
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hospitality and location of this hotel is great. totally worth your money.
from the watchman to the receptionist everyone is very helpful!
All the restaurants are around this place and is great fun!
The Beach is only 200 mts away too!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THERICHMOND09, Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying at "The Richmond" and sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure receiving your feedback.

Me & my team would like to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed with family and booked 3 rooms on 15th and checked out on 16th Apr. The location is the best thing about this place with everything worth exploring is within walking distance.Though they don't have a parking space which is a big minus , they made up for it by looking after both our cars . yet it is a problem to be considered. Few months back when we stayed at The Promenade , they too parked our car somewhere on the street , which we discovered on one of our walks.

The place offers very clean n comfortable rooms and we also got an upgrade to what they said is a " Family Room". Spacious witha an extra Diwan like bed wid another pull out mattress. Staff was also cooperative .Very good restaurants nearby n barely any distance to the beach. The B'fast Buffet spread is not exactly the kind you look forward to but it's wholesome clean and tasty. Though it's the same everyday. Cornflakes , bread , puri , idly , dosa. But you could walk to the beach for Breakfast at the only cafe there or try the local fare in any nearby restaurant .

I definitely recommend ' The Richmond'.

Room Tip: Ask for family room , if travelling with kids. They have interconnected rooms too. If you r parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Preetha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THERICHMOND09, Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

My team and I would like to thank you for positing a positive review of The Richmond
Pondicherry.

We greatly appreciate your support and look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I loved The Richmond we stayed for 2 nights and had booked 3 rooms. The deluxe rooms were nice with the extra seating areas, everything was nice and clean. Located close by to eat outs and the the beach. Its not over priced its rooms and with free breakfast thrown in it was well worth the buck. I hope to come back soon.....

Room Tip: room facing the road will give you options to view the street below and one of the rooms that my sis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THERICHMOND09, Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback on the trip advisor.

I am glad that you had a memorable stay with us.

It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was not my first trip to pondicherry, but i always wanted to stay at this place. so this time i somehow convinced my husband and we booked a room here. For the location and area there rooms are pretty well priced. I wouldnt call them expensive though. we booked a standard room but then were upgraded to family room, which is nice big and cozy. The interiors of the rooms is pretty warm and Homely. Clean and well maintained as well. The staff is very friendly as well. The location is fantastic, just 2 minutes away from the beach. What else would you want. The breakfast buffet was a disappointment but. I wouldnt really call it a buffet because they had no variety except for Dosa poori and Bread ! We stayed for two nights and skipped breakfast the second day. You wil find lots of other restaurants around though. The housekeeping needs to be reminded to clean the room.

Overall was not a bad experience. I maybe going back again there, coz i really liked the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pravzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THERICHMOND09, Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from "The Richmond" Pondicherry

We are truly delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us.

Your feedback on the breakfast has been noted.

We look forward to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed at the Richmond for 6 nights and really enjoyed it. The hotel is very smart and the room comfortable. The location was excellent with the seafront only a short walk away and plenty of restaurants nearby. Breakfast was poor first day but after complaining got better although not brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete_n_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THERICHMOND09, Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write review about your stay in Trip Advisor.

It was a an absolute pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to
welcome you back at "The Richmond" Pondichderry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel staff was extremely courteous, hospitable and friendly. We were upgraded from a standard to a deluxe room which was a good start to our holiday in Pondicherry. Rooms were decently sized and bathrooms well maintained. A great value for money hotel close to the promenade but at the same time away from noisy traffic. The buffet breakfast (included) had eggs to order, croissants and some south indian dishes. The waiter who oversaw the breakfast is especially friendly and attentive. Our only complaints were that the air conditioning wasn't great in our room and we had some trouble sleeping the first night. Also, the hotel provides hot water in the bathrooms at fixed timings as they use solar water heaters, which is great but we didn't always get hot water on time. They do put on the geyser on request as well but for some reason it didn't always work out for us. Since we were travelling with our 6 month old son this was a little troublesome. Minor drawbacks, all in all. Definitely worth staying here though and we would go back, given the chance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldcosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THERICHMOND09, Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from "The Richmond" Pondicherry.

Thank you for staying at "The Richmond" and sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

We had made note of the feedback that your given and would like to assure you that
necessary steps has been taken to avoid such mistakes in future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at "The Richmond" Pondicherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 82 in Pondicherry
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
#24 of 82 in Pondicherry
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#27 of 82 in Pondicherry
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond, Puducherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond, Puducherry

Property: The Richmond, Puducherry
Address: 12 Rue Labourdonnais Street | Near old Law college, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond, Puducherry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond, Puducherry is the fifth property of The Residency Group of Hotels. The Richmond has 14 well appointed rooms with the following in-room facilities: 1.Tea/Coffee station. 2.Digital safe. 3.Well stocked Mini-bar. 4.Hair dryer. Location: Immediate proximity of the promenade beach. In the quiet French colonial quarter, Pondicherry is completely accessible from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Richmond, Puducherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Puducherry Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing