We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for a weekend trip.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mother Sea View Residency

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mother Sea View Residency
Ranked #90 of 141 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Bangalore
1 review
“Good hotel for a weekend trip.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

This is a good hotel on the Aurobindo Asharam road just opposite to the Sea. Some of the rooms have balconies from where you can see the sea and the waves hitting the rocks. It was a good hotel at a reasonable price compared to couple of others with similar location. We got AC rooms at Rs 1500 over weekend when the room rent is generally higher than in normal days. You can get more discounts during the weekdays. Although the hotel do not have a restaurant, the room service can get you food from a restaurant which is couple of buildings away. Parking is on the road in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bssachdeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

We found it impossible to book anything in Pondicherry in advance by phone and on our first night stayed in a tiny place. The next day we wandered around Pondicherry room hunting, but most places seemed full- it was the mid-January peak. Then we found Mother Sea View. The roof room was good value for 1500rp. We had sea views on either side of the roof, except straight in front of the window and a partial sea view from the room. It was great for drying our washing on the roof in the sun and sea breeze. The room was quite comfortable with a table and two chairs and a TV. The A/C and fan worked well. The bathroom was clean. We walked to Kasha ki Aasha for breakfast- didn't like Ajantha on the corner because it didn't serve Indian food and their Euro breakfast wasn't great. Mother Sea View is a 15 minute walk from J.Nehru Street along the beach promenade.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rarisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

We went here as our first hotel choice was full.

The hotel's location is very good - on the esplanade at Pondicherry.

The room wasn't great though - had a pretty dirty feel to it. Also, the toilet sloped down backwards, which is quite weird!

I think there'd probably be better places to stay in Pondicherry.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatever92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

Arrived in town late in the evening without a booking and out of tiredness took the first room we could find for Rs.1000. Turned out to be a typical tourist hotel, utterly lacking in charm. The sheets were stained (with blood!), there were squashed mosquitoes on the walls, the AC permanently blew out freezing air regardless of the temperature setting, and the fan kept switching itself off after five minutes. And there was the biggest cockroach I've ever seen scuttling around our floor. So we checked out first thing in the morning.
On the plus side, there was a TV (our first for months!) and it's located right next to the sea - though we couldn't see it from our room.
It's probably ok if you're only there for a night or two and want AC/TV. But you can get much more interesting/clean places for the same money.

  • Liked — Checking out was swift!
  • Disliked — Cockroaches, bloodstained sheets, dangerous electricals
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank insearchofcharacter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

We arrived in Pondy on a Saturday with no booking, and assumed that it would be hard to get a room. The first few places we tried were full, but someone suggested we call an agent who in turn suggested this place.

Slightly tired room, but clean sheets and towels, plenty of hot water and a small balcony. Midday checkout. Definitely a ‘residency’ rather than hotel, as it has no restaurant. However, the upper floor front rooms have a sea view and you are literally 20 metres from the promenade.

Not cheap against the rest of the mid-range places that we stayed in Tamil Nadu, but reasonable value for its location in the more expensive part of Pondy.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeToTravelAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.9 mi away
Laila's County
Laila's County
#47 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#33 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sun Park
Hotel Sun Park
#43 of 73 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
0.1 mi away
Lotus Bay View
Lotus Bay View
#45 of 141 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Sea View Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Sea View Residency

Property: Mother Sea View Residency
Address: 1-C Rue Bazar Saint Laurent Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Mother Sea View Residency Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing