We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in Budget”
Review of Ginger Pondicherry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ginger Pondicherry
Ranked #24 of 83 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Ginger hotels are available in different cities of India. I visited Ginger Hotel Pondicherry recently. It's a real comfort in your budget. Rooms are small but everything needed is available there. Clean rooms with a nice view outside the window, coffee and tea maker in room, a small fridge, LCD TV, neat and clean bathrooms, a small wardrobe. All the Ginger hotels are almost of same structure anywhere in India. Other than that there is a bookstore, cafe coffee day, restaurant, available inside the hotel. The food variety is limited but the taste of food items is really good. Charges per night is very much affordable and cheap for the services being provided in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divyagandhi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 563 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2010

We had been working long hours during our 3 months stay in Chennai and wanted a break. Pondicherry is close to chennai, liquor is damn cheap, and you are with your friends. This one was one of the average looking hotel but the rooms were pretty nice. We were greeted with soft drinks and cold lemon at the reception itself. Overall the staff was also decent enough.

All in all, great value for money, though not a top notch hotel.

PS - When in Pondicherry, do visit Aurobindo Ashram

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rishi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Hi guys,
Are you planning to visit pondicherry here i suggest you to stay in ginger as i had very comfotable stay here in ginger awsome hotel and its basically a low cost and very good hotel.I travelled with my friends here and stayed for 3 days.Evrything is self service from check in to check out u can live on ur own way.In hotel there's a coffee cafe day ,book shop,internet zone,game zone.

Ginger Rocks

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urshella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

The location is great and very close the French Quarters/Township of Pondy and about 10 minutes drive from Bus Stand/Train Station. Rooms were clean and spacious and checkin process was quick and efficient. Price paid for a double bedroom is really worth its 3-Star category.

Food at the restaurant was a bit on the pricey side. The buffet had very limited options when compared to the price charged. There was a minor turnoff a note in the room said that we have to buy toothbrush/paste etc.

Cannot comment about water/beverage service as we brought our own.

Overall, we came back with pleasant experiences.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

I had to stay at Ginger Hotel for almost 10 days, when I got transferred to Pondicherry. Earlier, I had stayed at Ginger in Trivandrum and had never felt that it's a value for money deal. Again this time also, it was the same case. It is a self service hotel where everything has to be done on your own. If you go there with a big luggage also, nobody from the hotel will be there to help you. There's a restaurant which is on contract. You will get food only during breakfast, lunch and dinner hours. Else, you should go to Cafe Coffee Day inside the hotel. They will provide you two small bottles of drinking water. If you need additional, you should go outside and need to fill the bottles from water filter available in the common area. Once when my friends had come, they had bought food from outside. But, the hotel was not in a position to provide even plates for them.

Though the room is of average size, it is well maintained. Has an LCD TV, electric kettle and a refrigerator also.

You are charged almost the same as other 3 star hotels, for which you will have to do the work of a room boy also. Seems their strategy is "Pay and Work yourself".

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NOBY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

I had visited Pondicherry in September '09 with my parents, sister and my husband. It was just a couple of days stay and decided to go for the Ginger as it was giving a good deal as compared to the other hotels which were only offerring deals for longer stays. Had read good reviews of the hotel so went on with it. The hotel is not situated on the beach and wouldn' t say is walkalble distance from the beach either (by normal standards). Its more a business hotel, with no frills service, but clean and well kept rooms. Would recommend it for shorter stays. They also arrange for cab services for sight seeing purposes which is quite handy. The only thing that was very very bad about the place was its restaurant which offerred lunch and dinner buffets. The food was absolutely horrible, someitmes almost unpalatable. Please avoid the restaurant if possible.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ddgBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Writing this review after almost 2 years since i stayed in this awesome hotel. Will be going to Pondicherry again this March so was going to Trip Advisor again and found that the best pick was undoubtedly Ginger.

We stayed for 2D/1N and the service was exemplary. We checked in at 7AM even if the Check in time was 12PM. The Hotel staff took care of that they did not charge an extra penny. We were to check out the next day evening as our bus was at 10PM. I Informed the guys about the same and they told that i had to pay just Rs 999/- as 50% charges for the extra hrs that i would stay(Fare when i Stayed was Rs 1999/- for a Double Room) We somehow checked out at 6PM and wanted to visit the Gandhi Statue and some other places before we boarded the Bus. The Hotel guys helped us on that as well. They had a Cloak Room where they kept my luggage and told that I could collect it when i return.

The Security at the gate even helped us catch Auto-rickshaws as we had a lot of problems communicating with Rick drivers.

We even had Breakfast at the Hotel which was served by a different vendor that time. Was slightly Overpriced at Rs 150/-, which could have been cheaper. But, there was a Pizza Corner Menu on the table(Even there were menus for Cafe Coffee Day) which i used to order food for both the days and they delivered it to my room.

All in all the experience was great and will be returning to stay there again this March '10.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#25 of 83 in Pondicherry
416 reviews
1.4 mi away
Annamalai International Hotel
Annamalai International Hotel
#21 of 83 in Pondicherry
303 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#18 of 83 in Pondicherry
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 83 in Pondicherry
632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
1.2 mi away
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
#34 of 83 in Pondicherry
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Pondicherry

Address: Old Venus Theatre, Karuvadikuppam, Main Road | Saram Revenue Village, Oulgaret Municipality, Pondicherry 605008, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 83 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: $36 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Pondicherry 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ginger Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Hotel Pondicherry
Pondicherry Ginger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing