We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny but nicely done and functional rooms and no room service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ginger Pondicherry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ginger Pondicherry
Ranked #39 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Tiny but nicely done and functional rooms and no room service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile


Ginger is known for tiny functional rooms and no room service. This place is maintained well. The rooms are small but nicely done and cozy. And they made an exception and allowed us to keep our tiny 2 month old beagle puppy with us! We quite liked our stay at this place and so did our puppy :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thediscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    199
    126
    44
    43
See reviews for
164
128
24
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed in Ginger during my recent holiday to Pondicherry. Initially I was skeptical to book it but since I didn't have enough options due to last minute travel plans I went ahead with it.

We arrived early morning on 10th Aug and were greeted warmly by the staff. Our check in formalities were very smooth and quick and within no time we got our room. The room was pretty neat and clean with everything well in place. It was a twin bedroom, pretty spacious with wifi facility. After settling down we decided to have the breakfast. It was on the expensive side for a breakfast buffet but the options and overall taste was delightful.

We had a lot of queries regarding the places to visit in pondi, mode of transport, location of bus stops and the staff was very patient and helpful. They seemed quite informed as well.

One more important thing is the location of the hotel. It is quite accessible from the train and bus station and from the beach, from mission street(where you can hire two wheelers) and the main city. It also has a decent parking space.

Overall we were satisfied with our stay in the hotel and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Consider a few things before you book this option:
The only two interesting points about Pondicherry or Puducherry is that a small part still retains its French heritage which is visible and also cheaper alcohol.
The beach in the city is non existent as its a promenade and the beach outside the city is too far and not that clean.
The Aurovellie ashram and Matrimindar might interest you but if it did then you would be staying in the ashram and not in Pondicherry.

We were a group of 6 which included 4 adults and 2 children (under 4 years old) and we stayed for 2 nights during the resent long weekend.
Things in favor of the hotel were:
1. Clean
2. That's about it.

Things not in favour:
1. Management barly able to handle the fully occupied hotel
2. We requested for a couple of items to be brought up to the room, never came. (Ice, salt etc.) when we placed an order for coffee or tea that was brought up promptly
3. Smelly, this hotel is river side (read 'open large drain')
4. Horrible location for a trip to pondicherry

If you plan a trip to pondicherry, and if the reason is to experience the french influence why would you even consider staying anywhere other than in the french quarter in an old villa or hoemstay or B&B. My suggestion is eliminate all new hotels in pondicherry as all they do is give you the feel of staying in a small town/city in Tamil Nadu, you might as well go to Salem, Erode, Dindigual, etc... but yes booze wouldn't be as cheap.

Room Tip: Don't go here with children, unless you want them to spend time watching T.V The rooms overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipdoesreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I booked 2 rooms at this hotel for 3 days in June end thru goibibo portal. the staff was co-operative and polite. food was good. However, it was a little away from beach but is centrally located. I recommend staying at this hotel. one needs to check rates from various portals for bargain deal.

Room Tip: rooms on upper floor reflect better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hi @ALL,

This is to warn you all against the fraudulant attitude of the staff and the Manager himself. I went to Pondicherry twice.

My first trip: The room was pathetically maintained with oil stained bed sheets and used towels. The washroom smelled pathetically. When called several times for the room service, one guy came to change the bed covers and towels which were again dirty. This guy was again returned back for replacements of fresh bed covers, sheets and towels which were again stained when the room service guy came the next time. Anyways, we managed sleeping w/o any bed covers, sheets and used our towels.

My Second Trip: This was a disaster. After complaining so many times to the headquarters of this prestigious TATA group hotel, they apologized and requested to come again. So this is how I was trapped the second time in the very well know Ginger hotel. Here, my Samsung Note 2 was stolen by a hotel staff who was on night duty named: Vignesh. Now this guy was caught red handed in the CCTV camera the next day too when requesting to the Manager Mr. Emil for the CCTV recordings. Still, the whole hotel staff was so sympathetic towards the theif aka hotel staff Mr. Vignesh claiming that Sir, he belongs to a very good family and can't do such thing. What am I supposed to do at such condition when my 2 months old mobile fon is stolen: show sympathy to the guy who is caught red handed in the CCTV camera or shed tears on my mistake choosing such a FRAUDULANT hotel the second time? The Manager assured that we will be handling the issue and will let you know. I called the manager Mr. Emil a hundred times after which when received, replied Sir, we are not very sure on the fact that this is the guy who has stolen. I banged my head saying what else you need when you have a valid proof on CCTV.

So, whoever is planning to go on a trip to Pondicherry please DO NOT stay in GINGER, Pondicherry. Only precautions can lead to safety.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We checked into this hotel for a meeting in Pondy during a weekend.

The hotel as the ads used to say were pretty self checkin, self luggage carrying and self customr servicing. Unlike other hotels do not expect any pampering out here. Imagine yourself sharing a room in a big apartments, thats what Ginger is for you.

The front desk staff were pretty helpful and courteous in giving the details of stay avaialbility et cetera.

however they still need to improve in the following areas - their food spread and restaurant quality; this was no more than a college hostel mess; the only bad thing in this property

Second thing they need to do is get Cafe coffee day to up their service and they serve really stale and bland food. very unlike other Coffee days in the state.

Room Tip: Try and take a room in the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Pondicherry, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Jhabhak,

On behalf of Ginger Hotels, I sincerely apologize for not being able to provide you with our warm hospitality; which is the general norm of our hotel. I note with deep regret that our services did not meet your expectation during your recent stay at Ginger Pondicherry.

Your concern regarding the Restaurant's looks and the F&B offerings (quality & variety of CCD) issue will be taken up with the concerned F&B Manager & I have asked the team to ensure that food quality is upto the standard. I will personally look into the matter and address the cause of this oversight. Also, I have instructed the staff to be more proactive while dealing with guests' requirements.You will experience a marked difference in our service during your next visit.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Pondicherry, and thank you for bringing it to our attention; your valuable feedback will help us strive to be the best.

Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you.

Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be pleasant one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is located away from all happening places of pondy so really not a good choice if you are on a vacation. The rooms are not huge but manageable for small stopover. It was crowded when we landed there over a weekend so plan accordingly. I dont know if it really qualifies for a business hotel if I compare with others. It does have all basic amenities in place so you won't be disappointing and same goes with service. The lobby gives you feel of old cramped building but it is much better inside the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostroadwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#30 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
0.9 mi away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#32 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Annamalai International Hotel
Annamalai International Hotel
#20 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.7 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#15 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#27 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Pondicherry

Property: Ginger Pondicherry
Address: Old Venus Theatre, Karuvadikuppam, Main Road | Saram Revenue Village, Oulgaret Municipality, Pondicherry 605008, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Pondicherry 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ginger Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Hotel Pondicherry
Pondicherry Ginger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing