We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional but the walking ruined it for me!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van Der Valk Hotel Vianen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vianen
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
168 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Functional but the walking ruined it for me!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have never seen a layout like this one. I may have been unfortunate in that my room was particularly far from the main part of the hotel but from talking to colleagues everyone said the same! The service was fine and I ate in the hotel restaurant which was buzzing. There is also quite a cute bar. Breakfast was also good but this hotel is just too sprawling for me. My room was like an enormous studio apartment and a little dated but fine. I think the overall impression for me was average. Without reconstruction it can never delight me!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    152
    43
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
135
14
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Nice room, with full bath and shower, TV in english ( not flat screen), Completely insulated from outside noise- vey much appreciated. Very good choice at breakfast. A collegue was overcharged for his room, the hotel called him as he had not checked his final bill, so he asked themto give me the amount in cash so I can give it to him- I found this very honest on their part and it was much appreciated. We also had to cancel two rooms th final night, and there were no cancelation fees topay. Very nice pool easy access and a nice temperature.
The rooms could seem a little chily- but that was because I was tired- but an excelent temperature to sleepin- I hate overheated rooms

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed here one night and got a special last minute deal for a room with a whirlpool. As mentioned in other reviews the hotel is very much spread out, so prepare for a lot of walking. I had wanted to enjoy some time in the whirlpool but due to the somewhat outdated mechanics it made so much noice that I wasn't very relaxing at all. The room was a bit stuffy as if it hadn't been used for quite some time but after a good airing by opening the window it was fine. The hotel has no free wifi but offers KPN wifi hotspot. The bed was very comfortable and provided a good night's sleep followed by the extensive breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchLassie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons-la-Foret, France
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Nice hotel. Big room, good curtains that block out the light of day (morning sun), big and really comfy beds, enough cupboards, flat screen TV, spacious bathroom. We did not like the balcony that runs in front of all the rooms as one big terrace and basically everyone can pass in front of your room (or open that door). The rooms are very much spread around in the building, one does a lot of walking to reach the room (do not forget anything in your room that makes you have to return: you will walk 1 km). Friendly staff. Parking is free, we appreciated that. Busses stop just a few steps away from the hotel, many go direction Utrecht/station.
Breakfast is very nice, good be a bit cleaner around coffee and tea machines. Housekeeping should do a better job of taking away empty bottles and other left-overs lying on the floor in front of (empty) hotel rooms. We will come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I was put up in this hotel by our company. This was my first official tour and that too out of India. I had mixed ideas about how the experience of staying in a hotel in a foreign
land that too in a small town in Netherlands.

However I was impressed by the facilities and amenities provided by the hotel.

The room was neat and clean

The location was very near to my office in Vianen.

The food quality at the restaurant and bar was excellent

The hotel has very friendly and helpful staff

The hotel provides daily 30 minutes of free high speed internet in all rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehtaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Nice Hotel, good value for money. Nice buffet breakfast, very large rooms, fully equiped WC, excellent beds.......................& free parking lot.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Ths is the second time I have stayed in this hotel, as it is near our Netherlands office. The hotel is OK...the room I had was large, the dinner we had in the restaurant was very good...definitely good for a hotel. The layout is a bit weird so you can get lost trying to find your room though....it can be a long way.

However, don't oversleep.....as I had a bad experience leaving some things in my room. All my fault, as I overslept and dashed out of the room to catch a flight from Schiphol, I left my mobile phone and a diary in the room.Too late to go back when i discovered en route to the airport. Phoned reception when I arrived in Hamburg and they had found my phone no problem...when prompted they found my diary too.

But I was astonished when they said I had to come back and collect them...even though I was in a different country by then. I asked them to post the phone and diary on to my home, but the answer was "No, we don't do that". I questioned the response, but all I got was "No we don't do that". Fortunately I persuaded a colleague to go to the hotel and collect and post on, but I did think it was distinctly poor service to refuse to forward my fone/diary.

Norbert

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorbertTheNark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vianen
3.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mitland
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nieuwegein-Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
4.8 mi away
Bastion Hotel Utrecht
Bastion Hotel Utrecht
#18 of 22 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hilton Royal Parc Soestduinen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Der Valk Hotel Vianen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Der Valk Hotel Vianen

Property: Van Der Valk Hotel Vianen
Address: Prins Bernhardstraat 75 | Vianen, 4132 XE Vianen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Vianen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vianen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van Der Valk Hotel Vianen 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Van Der Valk Hotel Vianen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing