We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BARSA (na) RE BARSA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barsana Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Siliguri
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“BARSA (na) RE BARSA”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Barsana's flute restaurant is a great find in the middle of a carnivore palate a refreshing pure vegetarian specialist. It is located within 7 kms from the Bagdogra airport and there is a small left deviation and drive for 1 km from Matgira . Its a ideal place for transiting passengers in and out of siliguri.The place itself is about 3000 sq ft with neat wooden furnitures and well spaced tables for comfortable non privy dining. The lighting is also joyful. The menu card is exhaustive but the Gujarati fare that is listed is not available. The menu that is available is an extensive north indian and we ordered for rotis with baby corn mushroom, and spicy veg kolhapuri, yellow dal, pulao and to wash down a pint of brew.The taste I would say was excellent though Veg kolhapuri was a bit spicy but ordered to be made that way. The spices of the baby corn mushroom was such it brings the different flavours very succelent and efficiently. The desert that we ordered was gajar halva which was warm and reasonable.

The menu is extensive, packing in everything from rich, creamy curries to dry dishes, naans and rice. Those with stronger palates will be pleased to find that the vegetable flavours are not overpowered, even in the hotter dishes, while those for milder meals will find plenty to choose from. Stop by for a bargain Indian meal – and you won’t miss the meat. The staff is friendly and also knows the customers when recomending a listing.

Disclaimer. My food reviews are for a hardened vegetarian or a carnivore who’s willing to forgo the meat for at least one meal.

Room Tip: Did not stay here.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank ravishankarMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    47
    19
    1
    6
See reviews for
44
17
7
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Excellent stay with unexpressed hospitality.I stayed for a night .I couldn't believe that such kind of hotel in siliguri. The hotel is 3* and certified by MINISTRY OF TOURISM , GOVT. OF INDIA but it deserve the 5* . The management assures that they are coming wit rooftop swimming pool ,health club and spa. Then it would be perfect destination for leisure guest also.Food is out of world and hats of to rest.staff for their lovely service.Housekeeping was prompt.The lady in reception was very helpful and courteous .Only suggestion please be first ur check out procedure. Very calm and quiet and lobby is superb.Next Time i would love to stay with my family.Do not miss the hotel if u r in the city.

Room Tip: Do not miss the balcony rooms if u travel alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misisipi39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night during my visit to Darjeeling . I and my wife along with two children's stayed there and my child's have put some chocolate stains on there bed sheet and during the check out the staff was very rude and said that I have to pay Rs500 for blanket damage I called the manager but he also did nothing finally I paid Rs. 500 extra to them ,I felt very bad as it was just a chocolate stain and can be easily removed but they have no value of customer .So I suggest everyone to be very careful if u select this hotel as it can happen with anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saag17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We'd stayed for a night at Barsana Hotel (Its not a resort) since we have to catch a morning flight from Bagdogra. Its a very neat and causy property with a high-end feel.
In fact it was a surprising experience in a village called Matigara, a bit away from Siliguri. The restaurent and bar were excellent and food was delicious too. The rooms are big enough and bathrooms are like a lavish villa. Cleanliness was at its best.
We stricktly recommend this hotel for the transit visitors to and from Bagdogra for a night stay. Hotel also arranges a to and fro facility to Bagdogra airport (Of course on a chargable basis of Rs. 500) which is at 20-25 minutes journey.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiren_jadeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Decided to stay here based on tripadvisor ratings. We needed to stay here for a night for a halt stay while returning from our Sikkim trip. Ended up staying for two nights as we cancelled our one night stay at Darjeeling. This turned out to be quite a comfortable and pleasant stay, something we didn't expect in place like Siliguri.

The positives - excellent interior and comfortable furnishings, really good vegetarian food (they don't serve non-vegetarian fare), prompt housekeeping and front desk services. The food was really good, although I feel that the hotel should give better breakfast fare. For the two days we were there, the breakfast was same south Indian fare and puri bhaji. Slight shortcomings - breakfast options, water in the bathroom (available all the time but the water was a bit earthish/brownish color - this may be the problem in the city itself), there seems to be some problems in the wifi connections also. I finally ended up using my tata photon connection. Finally, I think the hotel should add fitness centre and swimming pool. These features are quite common for a three star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwerewq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Siliguri is not the place to linger. Other than using it as a jump off place for Darjeeling or Gangtok, there is not much reason for the tourist to stay there. We stayed so that we could be closer to the Nepal border and Bhadrapur airport. The Barsana was a good choice for us. Quite upscale, good airconditioning, very comfortable and smart room. Good TV reception. Very nice bathroom, good water pressure with plenty of hot water.
Sounds from the lobby do reach the rooms when there are large groups of guests checking in or out. The hotel seems to cater to Indian wedding groups !
The breakfast buffet was totally vegetarian, but we found enough to eat to satisfy us.
Staff was very nice and it was located in a quieter part of the town so we were able to walk to a tea plantation in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Barsana Hotel was clean and comfortable. It is a hotel not a resort. It is not in the central part of town. Food at the hotel restaurant was clean and tasty. There was significant noise which bled from the interior hallways into our room because the floors are not carpeted (and there is a central open area running the height of the building).

During our one-day stay, wi-fi did not work inside our room or even on our level when standing directly under the router which was located in our hallway. Wi-fi in the lobby worked sporadically and was slow at best.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms under the top floor meeting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingOurDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siliguri hotels
4.4 mi away
Royal Sarovar Portico
Royal Sarovar Portico
#1 of 27 in Siliguri
306 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sinclairs Siliguri
Sinclairs Siliguri
#2 of 27 in Siliguri
249 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mount Milestone Hotel and Banquets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cindrella Hotel
The Cindrella Hotel
#5 of 27 in Siliguri
84 reviews
2.8 mi away
CHAS Rajdarbar Hotel & Banquets
3.3 mi away
Mount Embassy Hotel
Mount Embassy Hotel
#15 of 27 in Siliguri
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barsana Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barsana Hotel & Resort

Property: Barsana Hotel & Resort
Address: Matigara , Khaprail Road, Siliguri 734010, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Siliguri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Siliguri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barsana Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 7 kms away from bagdogra airport,15 kms away from njp railway station and just 4 kms away from the main city(siliguri). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barsana Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing