We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Siliguri as a base for Darjeeling, Sikkim and Bhutan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sarovar Portico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Sarovar Portico
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Siliguri
Chennai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Siliguri as a base for Darjeeling, Sikkim and Bhutan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Royal Sarovar Premiere is probably the best hotel in Siliguri. It's bang on the Sevoke Road where the town ends to give way to the beautiful road to the hills. The hotel gym is average, but the swimming pool is lovely. Maybe because there was none else using the pool, I thoroughly enjoyed my solo non-stop swims for 20-30 laps at a time. The buffet breakfast and dinner were good and healthy. I didn't try non-veg. The restaurant staff were courteous. So were the front desk people. Overall an enjoyable stay, despite the town being very dull. Please drive to the picturesque Teesta river.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keralav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    81
    69
    13
    17
See reviews for
57
32
13
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

I usually stay at this hotel on my trip to Siliguri, but this time I wasnt satisfied at all. The staff acted in a very funny way. I called from phone before checking in and they told me that rate is Rs 6000 + tax for superior room. I usually get a corporate rate of Rs 3500 + taxes. I booked it through the internet makemytrip.com and got it for Rs 3800 + tax. When I mentioned about my corporate rate they told me the hotel was sold out. I must say, pathetic behaviour to make more money, which isnt well defined by hotel of this repute.

Secondly, they gave me a superior room where electronic card system wasnt working. It took me 5 mins for me to open the room by the different key. They dont know how to take care of their guests for sure, neither did they arrange anyone to fix the same.

Thirdly, the cabs arranged from the hotel are very expensive. They are twice the price of what you get outside in the town. They say its the travel agents rates , but its their rate. I paid Rs 800 + taxes for airport drop whereas the rates are Rs 400 + taxes.

Confused staff, not realising what guests want in a 5 star hotel. They treat them like 2 stars hotel do.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eternity14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

On our return from Darjeeling, my husband and I decided to stay at this hotel on a friend's recommendation. The rooms were spacious enough and the hotel is very modern, but the only thing I can recommend to others about this place is the great restaurant.
The hot water in the bath room did not work at all, even after the "technicians" ran it for 30 minutes. The drainage in the bathroom was so poor that the whole of the slippery marble floor was deluged by cold shower water.
The Manager and the Housekeeper appeared to be locked into a tussle over the question of our changing rooms. The Manager finally prevailed and we moved to another room with hot water from a hand-held shower and very poor drainage in the bathroom.
Staff were offhand and reluctant to act on our polite request to change rooms. The advertised fruit platter never materialised, nor did the cookies....though that was a very minor matter compared to the need for reliable hot water in winter. The Manager advised we could take a hotel taxi to the Post Office to post a parcel home, but that the cost of this 2 km journey would be 800 rupees. We opted for a share tuk-tuk at a cost of 40 rupees!
Wifi internet was also advertised but was inaccessible in the rooms and the so called "business centre" was one of the office computers, which offered no privacy at all.
We were so glad to leave this hopeless and rude place, though the restaurant food was excellent!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

We came to this hotel late in the evening, after gruesome 11 hrs' drive from Thimphu, Bhutan, and felt so welcome! The premises are excellent, and the staff was so nice and polite, without being pushy as often happens in India. There are a lot of little things that make such a difference, like a small box of candy waiting on your bed, and a tray of frech fruit and bicuits on the coffee table. The breakfast was awesome, with a lot of Indian and western dishes, and the staff again so friendly. We can highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

I stayed last time in Siliguri tour. The hotel room service is very good. Foods in the restaurant is just superb but overall the hotel is very expensive. Good to stay if pocket or company permits. I enjoyed massage in the spa. Which is very refreshing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knightrider7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed here for a night before going to Darjeeling. It was convienently located but it was expensive for waht you recieved. It advertised that the hotel had a swimming pool, when we arrived we were informed that although the hotel had a swimming pool it was not filled with water! The staff were not very appologetic about this. When we went for a walk outside the hotel, the village is very busy and there was not much to do.
The hotel also organised a car to take us to the railway station but it was expensive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scotlandgirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for first time in April 2010. I got a good deal, and I would say they have one of the best rooms in Siliguri.
The restaurant has a lavish Lunch and Buffet spread, and the food is delicious. I have eaten there 3 times, and found the food to be very nice!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbajoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siliguri hotels
2.3 mi away
Sinclairs Siliguri
Sinclairs Siliguri
#2 of 27 in Siliguri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
4.4 mi away
Barsana Hotel & Resort
Barsana Hotel & Resort
#7 of 27 in Siliguri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Milestone Hotel and Banquets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cindrella Hotel
The Cindrella Hotel
#4 of 27 in Siliguri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.7 mi away
CHAS Rajdarbar Hotel & Banquets
2.7 mi away
CHAS Vinayak Inn Hotel & Banquets, Siliguri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sarovar Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sarovar Portico

Property: Royal Sarovar Portico
Address: Sevoke Road | 3rd Mile, Siliguri 734008, India (Formerly Royal Sarovar Premiere)
Location: India > West Bengal > Siliguri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Siliguri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Sarovar Portico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Sarovar Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing