We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel near Bagdogra Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Sarovar Portico
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Siliguri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We cut our stay short in Darjeeling and drove to Siliguri to stay at this hotel to avoid the recent “Bharat Bandh”

It was a great decision. We had very comfortable rooms and a bathroom with one of the best shower I have seen in a hotel. Both the buffet dinner & breakfast were filling with a large choice of dishes. Despite knowing that we were staying at the hotel under duress, they did not jump at the chance of fleecing us and instead gave us a good discount on their rates.

Our driver from Darjeeling was insisting on taking us to Bagdogra airport at the unearthly hour of 4.30 am to avoid the bandh. The hotel assured us it would get us to the airport at 10 am safely and arranged the transfer for us.

I would highly recommend this hotel not only for business travelers but also for tourists taking flights out of Bagdogra. It is better to stay here and avoid the risk of being stuck in the horrible traffic jams that Darjeeling has and risk missing your flight out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikhil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 351 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

My friend had a party of approx 25 heads on 21.05.12 at ROYAL SAROWAR, Siliguri. Food was worse & management was worst.
It was a buffet & package per pax system. The nan, roti were cold & hard. Kulcha was included in the menu, it was not served. Even they hesitated to bring on the fresh pieces, after arguement & longtime later they brought the breads, while that time all guest moved out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajender_Garg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in April 2012. The hotel is on the outskirts of proper Siliguri town on the way to Airport. It seems to be a new property but doesn't give the look of a conventional hotel. The decor tries to be that of a hotel but looks more like a motel or a modest budget hotel. Room however is good and decent size. But most of the rooms in this hotel are having twin beds and not king beds. Entire furniture seems to be sourced from China hence do not expect the beds to be strong conventional beds. If you are heavy bed shakes and creaks with your every movement. Joining both beds for a couple result in bad sleep for both. Construction is such that every type of noise outside the room is perfectly audible inside also. I stayed on fifth floor and was disturbed by the noises of people in the swimming pool which was at the ground level!!

Bathrooms are very small but functional and modern. Housekeeping could provide only one set of towels for a couple and did not provide another set despite a request and a reminder. It seems they were short of towels as I overheard another guest that they were having only one towel for a couple in the room. Staff is just about okay. The food (veg.) I called for in my room was very tasty. Overall don't expect much from this hotel. It maybe good for a night on business travel, but not comfortable for families.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here for a night on my way to Guwahati. I made a reservation over the phone. Reached the hotel at 2AM and the executive at the reception was kind enough to help us with the checkin process. The bell boys need to be commended for the effort to ensure that the huge amount of luggage we were carrying was promptly taken care of. Only one grouse here though, the parking though within the hotel complex is located a bit to far off.

The issues we had were with the in-room-dining staff on the other end of the phone. If a hotel provides an in-room-dining card in the room which clearly mentions the rate against each item, its only but obvious that there will be a charge for the item. Why then does the in-room-dining staff need to inform you even before you place the order that "this would be chargeable"? I find this very insulting. Maybe, the hotel management need to train the staff better. Also, its my wish as a guest about how many servings of a particular item I would be interested in. Why does it surprise the staff of the hotel if I order 8 servings of a particular dish?

The housekeeping staff it seems don't do their work well. The rooms were not kept well. These would have bothered us had we stayed there for a longer period of time but for this stay, we were too tired to be bothered.

I can list a lot of other problems with the room here but don't need to. I would only say that this hotel is leagues ahead in terms of service when compared to their closest competition in Siliguri.

I would definitely stay here again if I need to visit Siliguri.

Room Tip: Just ensure that the rooms are free of mosquitos and does not smell of moisture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SumitBajoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We spend 1 night at this hotel. The rooms are big and clean. But very bland decorated. Bar has nice staff, but the ambiance is very dull. Main restaurant is servicing good food, but has no ambiance at all. Overall, a tipicall business hotel with no ambiance...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

It was indeed a fine spread with lot of choices, plenty salads and uncountable desserts. Price pinch is not heavy. Good for the evenings with family. Cellar is full of good collection of scotches. Staff friendly and suggestive. Courteous also. The name is "Orchids". In Siliguri probably the best.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainpicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Being a new hotel, the rooms, staff, food & service are very good! Recommend this one for a family or business trip for all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niraj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siliguri hotels
2.3 mi away
Sinclairs Siliguri
Sinclairs Siliguri
#2 of 32 in Siliguri
272 reviews
4.4 mi away
Barsana Hotel & Resort
Barsana Hotel & Resort
#3 of 32 in Siliguri
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Milestone Hotel and Banquets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tourist Inn
Hotel Tourist Inn
#10 of 32 in Siliguri
56 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cindrella Hotel
The Cindrella Hotel
#5 of 32 in Siliguri
89 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mount Embassy Hotel
Mount Embassy Hotel
#27 of 32 in Siliguri
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sarovar Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sarovar Portico

Address: Sevoke Road | 3rd Mile, Siliguri 734008, India (Formerly Royal Sarovar Premiere)
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Siliguri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Siliguri
Price Range: $62 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Sarovar Portico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sarovar Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing