We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great big disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vinayak & Restaurant Pamm
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Siliguri
Thimphu, Bhutan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great big disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

We had heard that this would be a good place for us to stay, good food, location and affordable rates.

However, from the moment we entered the hotel, we were spoken very rudely to by the person in the front desk. You see, we had been looking forward to this family vacation for a long time and arrived tired after a long car journey and was surprised by the rude manner he addressed us in and more so by the cold attitude we were given.

We were shown a variety of rooms, all of which had peeling walls (including the Royal Room), dirty bathrooms and the sheets, towels, rugs and blankets all looked like they hadn't been washed in a long time. There is no soap and you have to specially request for toilet paper.

Vinayak is reputed to have a good restaurant, but the room service food we were served was nothing to write home about. The only thing good about this place is that the location is convenient and they do have underground parking for your vehicle. Plus the support staff are friendly but they will expect you to tip well too.

So my final word is, if you don't mind being treated badly and sleeping in less than sanitary conditions then this is the place for you. Otherwise, I would highly recommend you find another budget hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventureseeker009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    15
    5
    11
See reviews for
16
2
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

The hotel is ideal for stay during vacation with family. It is suitably located to the main town of Siliguri in the foot hills of Darjeeling hills with charismati views. The food and service quality is good. Though there are cheaper hotel in Siliguri, peple preffering to have extra comfort by paying extra money could try this hotel out.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prasenjit2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
547 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Stayed here for one night - really just a transit stay after visiting Sikkim and on way to Nepal. The staff at the front desk were not very welcoming - looked like they just wanted to be somewhere else. The room I had was not very clean - lots of marks on the walls and the bathroom needed a good going over with Domestos or some other product that makes tiles sparkle - or at least make them look clean. Being greeted by a cockroach in the bathroom was not a good look.

The beds are a little hard - but typical of what you find in mid-range India hotels - and I actually like a firm mattress so this did not bother me. All in all, basic, reasonable value, but rooms in need of a new coat of paint, and bathrooms could be cleaner.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LassiComeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

I really liked the hotel because of the food. There are very few hotels in Siliguri which serve good food. The rooms are clean and quite comfortable. Another plus point of the hotel is the location. Very convenient to travel any place from this hotel. I 'll recommend this hotel for business travel. It is a good stay and good value of money. I traveled next day to Sikim.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knightrider7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

I stayed here for a day while returning from Sikkim. It’s a very spacious room, a good restaurant (Indian food) and professional service. Its close to the market. I will recommend this even for business travel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiswajitDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokokchung, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

If you plan to stay in Siliguri in a reasonable but clean and comfortable place.. Vinayak could be the best choice. Easy to locate, it is in the middle of the main street so accessable to all the big shopping arenas and eatouts. Tariff is very reasonable. Staff is decent and helpful. Over all.. it is an easy access home for any kind of work. Try this out and you'll fall in love with it. Good parking space and spacious storage place for any kind of materials that you buy... to carry with you -- Go for it! have a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eminor7th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELHI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

I arrived in hotel Vinayak after booking the Vinayak Non Ac Standard room. The hotel allowed me to check in even at 9:30 in the morning which was great service on their part. Room was clean and spacious and service was good. Food was very delicious and very reasonably priced. The hotel also has its own travel agency which promptly arranged a vehicle on request. The travel desk guy was particularly very helpful and made all arrangements for my further trip in no time. Even the hotels booked by them at Gangtok were very good. I would just say very good hotel to stay right in town.

  • Liked — Great Food and located centrally in town.
  • Disliked — My room did not have a good view.
  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ravicomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siliguri hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Debjyoti
Hotel Debjyoti
#18 of 27 in Siliguri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.4 mi away
CHAS Vinayak Inn Hotel & Banquets, Siliguri
0.4 mi away
CHAS Rajdarbar Hotel & Banquets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Central Plaza
Hotel Central Plaza
#20 of 27 in Siliguri
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balaji Inn
Balaji Inn
#8 of 27 in Siliguri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saluja Residency
Saluja Residency
#10 of 27 in Siliguri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vinayak & Restaurant Pamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vinayak & Restaurant Pamm

Property: Hotel Vinayak & Restaurant Pamm
Address: Hill Cart Road | L.M. Moulik Complex, Siliguri 734001, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Siliguri
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Siliguri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vinayak & Restaurant Pamm 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on an excellent location at Hillcart road, easy for travellers to travel to Darjeeling, Sikkin, Bhutan, Nepal, Guwahati. Public Transit : - Bagdogra IXB airport at 8km NJP Railway station at 5km Bus Terminal (Tenzin Norgay Bus Terminal) 2min (walking distance) MARKETS :- Bidhan Market- walking distance HongKong Market- walking distance Golden Plaza (chinese whole sale market) behind hotel. taxi's on rent are available for transit to anywhere around India We have 2 AC Halls one with 200 people capacity second with 150 people capacity We also deal with outdoor catering and bulk take-away orders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vinayak & Restaurant Pamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing