We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vinayak & Restaurant Pamm
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Siliguri
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My experience in India has often been that there are no mid-range hotels. Either hotels are $100+ USD (but without the service or quality typically associated with such prices) or are $10-20 and very poor quality. I was happy to find the Hotel Vinayak with a range of different type rooms and prices. We got a decent room for USD $32/ INR 1400. (We didn't see any other rooms, higher or lower in price.) The accommodations aren't particularly noteworthy in any way, but were adequate for our needs. The bed was two twin beds pushed together with very firm mattresses. As is often the case, there was no top sheet, but shortly after our arrival, a staff member brought us two top sheets, towels, and extra toilet paper without us even requesting it. The TV did have half a dozen or so English channels and the hot shower was great after a long day in town shopping. The AC worked great, thankfully! As far as cleanliness went it was all right - the only thing I noticed was that the two floor rugs needed a good beating or vacuum. The hotel does have a garage below where you can park your car. The staff member who opened the garage for us offered the service of a car wash, which my husband paid for. However, the next day after we left we realized that the car had not been washed after all. That was disappointing. Room service was available but we didn't use it. There is a decent restaurant (also air-conditioned!) that we didn't eat in on this trip, but have eaten lunch in previously. The food and service were both good. The hotel and restaurant are located on Hill Cart Road - one of the main roads in town - so it is not a quiet area. However, we noticed that the traffic noise died down earlier than we thought it might and we got a good night's sleep without disturbance. For a quick stop or passing through I'd stay here again. If you're on business or an extended stay I might look for more comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kayjay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 55 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had to stay here as we reached here late in the night and was an unexpected stay. The room rent is around 1500/- and the rooms were pathetic. We were able to find cockroaches on the bed. Plug points broken. A very pathetic room service. The person sitting in the reception was least bothered about guests. His attitude was "Stay if you want to, else leave the place". horrible stay it was. I am not sure if it was due to our expectation about a hotel. But this one was way below our expectations and service. If you have no other option, then go for this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krish1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Hi,went to siliguri on the way to gangtok, stayed there for 1 night got a non ac delux room which was good for Rs 800,The room had all the amenities .The hotel is in a very good location and very near to Hong Kong market in siliguri.The hotel has good no of rooms and the foods is alos good.

The service was little on the lesser side. But overall a decent hotel for budget travellors

Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank johnbin2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We had heard that this would be a good place for us to stay, good food, location and affordable rates.

However, from the moment we entered the hotel, we were spoken very rudely to by the person in the front desk. You see, we had been looking forward to this family vacation for a long time and arrived tired after a long car journey and was surprised by the rude manner he addressed us in and more so by the cold attitude we were given.

We were shown a variety of rooms, all of which had peeling walls (including the Royal Room), dirty bathrooms and the sheets, towels, rugs and blankets all looked like they hadn't been washed in a long time. There is no soap and you have to specially request for toilet paper.

Vinayak is reputed to have a good restaurant, but the room service food we were served was nothing to write home about. The only thing good about this place is that the location is convenient and they do have underground parking for your vehicle. Plus the support staff are friendly but they will expect you to tip well too.

So my final word is, if you don't mind being treated badly and sleeping in less than sanitary conditions then this is the place for you. Otherwise, I would highly recommend you find another budget hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventureseeker009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

The hotel is ideal for stay during vacation with family. It is suitably located to the main town of Siliguri in the foot hills of Darjeeling hills with charismati views. The food and service quality is good. Though there are cheaper hotel in Siliguri, peple preffering to have extra comfort by paying extra money could try this hotel out.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prasenjit2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Stayed here for one night - really just a transit stay after visiting Sikkim and on way to Nepal. The staff at the front desk were not very welcoming - looked like they just wanted to be somewhere else. The room I had was not very clean - lots of marks on the walls and the bathroom needed a good going over with Domestos or some other product that makes tiles sparkle - or at least make them look clean. Being greeted by a cockroach in the bathroom was not a good look.

The beds are a little hard - but typical of what you find in mid-range India hotels - and I actually like a firm mattress so this did not bother me. All in all, basic, reasonable value, but rooms in need of a new coat of paint, and bathrooms could be cleaner.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LassiComeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I really liked the hotel because of the food. There are very few hotels in Siliguri which serve good food. The rooms are clean and quite comfortable. Another plus point of the hotel is the location. Very convenient to travel any place from this hotel. I 'll recommend this hotel for business travel. It is a good stay and good value of money. I traveled next day to Sikim.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knightrider7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siliguri hotels
0.4 mi away
CHAS Vinayak Inn Hotel & Banquets, Siliguri
0.2 mi away
Mount Embassy Hotel
Mount Embassy Hotel
#25 of 28 in Siliguri
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
CHAS Rajdarbar Hotel & Banquets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Tourist Inn
Hotel Tourist Inn
#8 of 28 in Siliguri
56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balaji Inn
Balaji Inn
#16 of 28 in Siliguri
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prakash
Hotel Prakash
#22 of 28 in Siliguri
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vinayak & Restaurant Pamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vinayak & Restaurant Pamm

Address: Hill Cart Road | L.M. Moulik Complex, Siliguri 734001, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Siliguri
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Siliguri
Price Range: $13 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vinayak & Restaurant Pamm 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on an excellent location at Hillcart road, easy for travellers to travel to Darjeeling, Sikkin, Bhutan, Nepal, Guwahati. Public Transit : - Bagdogra IXB airport at 8km NJP Railway station at 5km Bus Terminal (Tenzin Norgay Bus Terminal) 2min (walking distance) MARKETS :- Bidhan Market- walking distance HongKong Market- walking distance Golden Plaza (chinese whole sale market) behind hotel. taxi's on rent are available for transit to anywhere around India We have 2 AC Halls one with 200 people capacity second with 150 people capacity We also deal with outdoor catering and bulk take-away orders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Vinayak & Restaurant Pamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing