We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Hotel in a Lovely Location.”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santo Tomas
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Hotel in a Lovely Location.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have just enjoyed a week at the Hotel Santo Tomas and find it very difficult to fault.

We found all the staff around the hotel very friendly and helpful.

Our limited sea view room was comfortable and well-kept by the cleaning staff.

The grounds were well maintained and the whole place had a really good feel about it. There were quite a few children about, but they did not dominate the pool area so it was never rowdy or too noisy. Noting comments by previous contributors there was a pool attendant on duty a lot of the time who actively removed non-resident children from the pool area.

The service and food in the main restaurant was very good, with an excellent varied choice throughout the week. Equally the food in the Malibu bar was always good as well, although the service was a bit varied from time to time.

A special mention must go to Juan Ramon, who I think was the Restaurant Manager. His presence was always evident at meal times both in the main hotel and the Malibu bar. He worked exceptionally hard coordinating the staff, whilst serving customers. He always had time for a conversation and clearly demonstrated a high level of customer service on many occasions.

Like all resorts there are one or two big noisy hotels in the area, but these are far enough away not to spoil the calm atmosphere of the Hotel Santo Tomas. In fact taking a walk near them made you really appreciate how well located the Hotel Santo Tomas is.

Hotel Sant Tomas is definitely on our list for a repeat visit. If you want a wholly relaxing time, without the need to leave the hotel if you don’t want to, you should give it a try.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank P_J_and_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    112
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
90
207
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We tried both restaurants. The main buffet restaurant has a smart terrace overlooking the sea which is a very pleasant setting. There is a good choice on the buffet including a hot cooking station with freshly cooked steak and/or fish which we enjoyed very much. However, the children didn't enjoy the choice so much and much preferred the alternative Malibu with its kids menu. Malibu is a more informal restaurant right on the coast and we enjoyed the views and the atmosphere with its evening entertainment. They had some great singers/groups while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malcliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here for the second time with our two young children and have to say, even though the food in the main restaurant was not quite as good as last time, we still love this hotel. It is very clean, beautiful views, the pool is lovely. I would comment however on the issue of people (particularly groups of kids who are not staying at the hotel being able and allowed to just walk in off the beach when they fancy and use the pool). Guests are paying a premium price to stay at this hotel and this is unacceptable. At times we had to get out of the pool because there were hoards of kids invading it from outside. Surely, steps could be taken to ensure only those paying to stay at the hotel are allowed to use the facilities!

Another issue is the beachside Malibu restaurant which is part of the hotel. The service and food was very poor. We had to wait, not for the first time for other parties who were not staying at the hotel (always happened to be Spanish) to be served before us even though they arrived after us. We spent hundreds of euros on our bar bill during our stay and subsequently did not expect non hotel staying guests to receive superior service to us. I witnessed a party at another table having to send food back because their child's burger had a large piece of plastic wrap inside it and the guy's salad had rotten tomatoes and a dead mosquito in it. We had to send food back because it was not cooked properly. Dd not eat there again during our stay.

Superb hotel still but they need to sort these issues out quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Biggles11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSeth, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, please receive our apologies on your experience at the Malibu Restaurant, we will make sure this doesnt happen again.

We really appreciate your suggestions as it is the best way to keep improving our services.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights half board in a sea view room before heading to the sister Hotel Port Mahon for 4 nights. Santo Tomas hotel is a great spot to just completely unwind and get away from everything. The hotel mainly serves more mature couples but we (40's) felt completely at home.
The food in the buffet at breakfast and dinner time is good, although perhaps the food at the grill section at evening time could be cooked a little better - it all depends on when you go up whether you get freshly cooked fish / meat or one that has been sitting drying out. It can also sometimes take a while in the mornings to get a cup of coffee as the waiters "do the rounds" with a coffee pot - but Dani was always very helpful. Perhaps a self service coffee machine, in keeping with the self service buffet would be a better system?
The hotel rooms are average for the star category and the only problem we had was that the walls were VERY thin. In the bathroom you can literally hear ever word the people next door say and one night we heard our neighbours snoring all night long in the bedroom!
We would return to this hotel - indeed are planning to next year - but ear plugs will be packed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-L-Haki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having never been to Menorca before we wasn't quite sure what to expect. However from the moment we arrived at the hotel we felt at home. We had room 102 which was on the ground floor with superb sea views and going to sleep listening to the waves lapping gently onto the shore was so relaxing. The food is well above average and nothing is too much trouble for the staff, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice relaxing holiday. Santo Tomas is a quiet resort with just 4 bars and a few shops. There is a nice sandy beach with a nice long promenade for the after dinner stroll in the evenings.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102 which was good but I think room 101 would be slightly better as it is an end r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bikerdick1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

2nd visit to this Hotel after a gap of around 10 years. The Hotel itself is very much the same as our last visit. Pool – Gardens – and Public areas are all kept immaculate.

All the Staff are very very pleasant and friendly. A special mention to Maria who works the Bar during the afternoon and evenings. Nothing too much trouble and always has a smile for everyone.

However this time around we found the Food was very bland, boring and at times only warm and not hot. Also the Meats being grilled were of a poor standard. I.e. the cheep cuts of Steak & Lamb Chops etc. To be perfectly honest we have had better food at home in Premier Inn Budget Hotels.

The Entertainment, when on offer, was also poor. 3-nights on a 7-night stay is a little on the stingy side in our opinion. On 2-nights there was a Spanish Band called Hurrican. And yes they were there 10-years ago. The other night it was a Large Lady who screeched through about an hour of singing. She did have plenty of energy and did try and get the crowd going but unfortunately she just could not sing.

The Hotel has a large number of Guests who return year after year and the place had the feel of a Retirement Home in the Sun. Nothing wrong with that, and proves that the Hotel gets plenty right.

The Hotel is an ideal choice for those of you who are looking for a peaceful, quiet and relaxing break and if you are not bothered about the quality of the food and evening entertainment. However if you are looking for a Hotel with a bit more life then this is not for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkPTID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

As always a great stay in the best hotel in Menorca ! The only let down this year was the weather.. :( not as warm as usual for time of year but that didn't stop us having a great holiday and meeting the same old faces again from the years before.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulsiddons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Tomas
0.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,193 reviews
4.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,026 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
1.6 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,425 reviews
4.6 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Playa Santo Tomas, H-2, 07749 Santo Tomas, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Santo Tomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santo Tomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santo Tomas is located by the sea in the nice Santo Toms Resort, located in the south coast in Menorca. It is only 25 kms from the airport and from the two main towns Ma and Ciutadella, and the closest village, Es Migjorn Gran, is at only 4 kms of distance.All rooms are provided with full bathroom, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, minibar, safe, hairdryer and balcony. The hotel facilities include an indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam bath, gym, massage and beauty treatment cabins, bar-cafeteria, buffet restaurant and barbecue restaurant by the sea. One can also enjoy the the pool in the garden and the terrace-solarium with nice views over the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Tomas Hotel
Hotel Santo Tomas Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing