We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely holiday...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sol Beach House Menorca
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santo Tomas
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a lovely holiday...”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Sol Menorca was a lovely hotel...we enjoyed our stay in Room 132...a front facing, room with wrap around balcony...with gorgeous views all round.
It did not take us long to unwind and relax...all staff were friendly and welcoming...except for the assistant in the shop within the hotel...her attitude was rude and unfriendly, snippy and unhelpful.
We put it down to a bad day first time, but after the 3rd episode over several days, we did not go back....we are a quiet couple, not awkward...and were taken aback by the manner.
As for the rest....meals: always something to choose from a great variety...though it could be repetitive...we were there for 2 weeks, so ate out a few times to get variety
Cleanliness: Our room and the hotel were spotless...Cristina was lovely with us, even when we fed the many sparrows on our balcony, and our beds were turned down if we wished nightly, by a lovely wee lass....her sweets were always welcomed!
The entertainment we were able to enjoy from our balcony in the evening as we enjoyed a night cap, and was always enjoyable.
The pool was impressive but water very cold...be warned!
Despite a management request not to, the inevitable sunbed fanatics were out in the mornings by 7am to bag their sunbeds, chairs and tables....but there are plenty to go round...so why do they do this!!! We had 2 sunbeds included on balcony....bliss!
There is a Tabac shop about half a mile along the road, and usual pub, restaurants, pharmacy, and supermarkets as well as gift/craft stores.
There is a bus-stop outside hotel and easy access is there to Cuitadella and Mahon...both bustling and enjoyable. Cars can be hired at reasonable prices within the resort.
Anything we requested was handled promptly and with friendliness....we hope to return again...the peace was wonderful after a variable year at home.
Thanks to all at Sol Menorca!

Room Tip: front facing definitely, garden facing lovely but smaller balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garty1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    403
    103
    25
    8
See reviews for
104
900
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Sol Menorca is the cleanest holiday hotel I have stayed in so well done to the all the cleaning ladies. All staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is so quiet it is the perfect place to relax. Food was mixed. Most vegetables were over cooked and some meats were a bit tough but there was a wide selection of foods to choose from so you could always find something you liked (I never did try the left over vegetables that were dished up the following morning for breakfast). Being a Four star hotel we were surprised that water at dinner time had to be paid for. Other petty charges included car parking and even for changing your beach towel. The hotel states that guests should not reserve sun beds by placing towels on them but did nothing to prevent it happening. Guests were the usual little ‘piggies’ that afflict most holiday hotels. People (not just Germans) were reserving 2 beds and 2 chairs very early in the morning and then not using them until mid afternoon. This behaviour is annoying and could be stopped if the hotel management put a mind to it. If they made a stand one day each weak guests would soon get the message.
Our room (223) was clean and smart but the bed was so uncomfortable we both woke with back ache every morning. Sound proofing in the room was similar to most hotels with the exception of the bathroom. Here conversations at normal level travelled between adjacent rooms as if there was not a wall between them. If you can hear your neighbour using an under arm spray you can guess what else was also clearly heard.
Overall our stay at the Sol Menorca was OK but we are not planning to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Back again for a relaxing break at the Sol Menorca. As usual, the staff were lovely, the room and hotel spotlessly clean and the food in plentiful supply. We paid the extra supplement for our end room and found it had been refurbished with a lovely walk in shower. We had a kettle at last and water provided daily. We could spend each evening watching the most glorious sunsets and a drink before dinner on the terrace is part of our daily routine. It seemed very quiet there some evenings, perhaps, like all hotels the bar prices were a bit steep .I agree with a previous reviewer about the relaxing of the dress code at dinner. When the waiters look a lot smarter than some of the guests then something is not quite right. But as usual, the hotel gave us what we wanted, a quiet, relaxed time with no noisy disturbances. See you all next year.xx

Room Tip: End rooms are 50 euros per day extra .Inward facing rooms overlook the swimming pool and are just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent a week at the Sol Menorca at the end of August. For my mother, this was a return to a hotel she'd visited and loved many times before. Package tour hotels can be big and brash, but the Sol Menorca is not overly large and has a very pleasant and welcoming ambience. Rooms were spotlessly clean, as were all areas of the hotel - cleaning staff work very hard to keep the hotel pristine. Staff were helpful and requests for things - such as a non-slip mat and chair for my mother's shower - were attended to immediately. The Thomson reps were next to useless, but hotel staff booked us onto a trip of the island. There was a sense that nothing was too much trouble for them. The sunbathing area is lawn, and there are plenty of places to find sun or shade. The beach is a two minute walk away, and one of the cleanest and most pleasant I have found in the Mediterranean. My partner and I prefer beach and sea to pool, but my mother and sister have physical impairments, and the beach was not easily accessible to them - although for a wheelchair user, there is access to the beach a little further along the path towards the Victoria Playa.

Food was fresh and varied, although not as vegetarian friendly as a former reviewer suggested. All too often, a dish of vegetables had ham on top; potato or pasta salad had ham; there was only a vegetarian hot dish one night that we were there. You can be creative - there was always a plate of pasta, and most - but not all - nights, pesto or similar; most of the puddings, I suspect, contained gelatine, but there was always fresh fruit; and if you eat fish you'll be ok; but the hotel could make veggies a lot happier by not spoiling vegetable dishes with meat, and by providing one vegetarian hot dish each mealtime.

The entertainment - usually cringeworthy in these kind of resorts - was surprisingly good, and we enjoyed it on several evenings.

Access for people with mobility impairments was generally ok, but there are some small things that could make it better: hand rails tend to end before the final step, making stairs more awkward than they need to be for people who need to hold on. There are ramps, but some are rather steep.

For delicious lunches that are authentically Spanish, try the Es Bruc restaurant which you find by turning right out of the hotel along the coastal path. There are nudist beaches further along in the same direction.

We'd missed the tour of the island for English speakers, and so booked onto one for Italians - we figured we'd understand at least some of it! The guide (Jeannie) was superb, and took trouble to translate for her couple of Spanish tourists and for we English. She kept checking that I'd understood her Italian. So don't despair if you've missed the English speaking trip you wanted to do!

In summary, this is a very impressive adults-only hotel, run to the highest standard. We'd recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artemesia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbera de Llobregat, Spain
Level Contributor
336 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

"Adults only", that is the key. No children shouting and running up and down. Quietness at the swimming pool and at the beach in front of the hotel. Great breakfast buffet (you can take cava wine if you wish). Standard 4-star rooms and service. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homedelsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our eighth stay at the Sol Menorca which continues to hit all the right spots for a peaceful holiday. Staff are most welcoming and it was good to see som.e of the rooms have been updated with the promise of more next year. Only downside was the slip in dress code for men in the restaurant. It used to be long trousers only but now shorts are common, some almost beach shorts ! Apart from that a superb hotel in a wonderful location. Santo Tomas is a quiet resort, not suitable for some but perfect for a peaceful holiday. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

From the minute you walk through the door you feel yourself beginning to relax and when you arrive in your sea view superior room; you know you have chosen well. The views are wonderful and particularly spectacular during sunset. The staff are attentive and the evening entertainment is very good. The buffet food is excellent and meals can be taken outside on the terrace. The sunbathing and pool areas are lovely and well maintained. Overall this hotel is of a very high standard and all the staff from the lifeguard to the room maids should be congratulated on their efforts. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a superior room, you will not be disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Tomas
4.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
999 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
13.6 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
4.5 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Menorca

Property: Sol Beach House Menorca
Address: Playa de Santo Tomas S/N, 07749 Santo Tomas, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Santo Tomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santo Tomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Meliá presents Sol Beach House Menorca 4* exclusive adults only (over 16 years old). The elegant Sol Beach House Menorca overlooks the idyllic Santo Tomas beach and is next to San Adeodato Beach. Sol Beach House is ideal for couple or friends… a perfect place to relax and enjoy the sun, sea and beach. We propose you enjoy an incomparable sunset, you can see from the terraces or Bali beds… drinking a cocktail and music … it will be unforgettable! Come to Sol Beach House Menorca and enjoy the unexpected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sol Beach House Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Santo Tomas
Sol Menorca Santo Tomas
Sol Beach House Menorca Santo Tomas, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing