We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful community enterprise”
Review of The Raven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Raven Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Raven Inn gives a warm welcome, good food and great value for money. Other villages in fear of losing their local pub should look to this initiative for inspiration, Stayed a night on route to our destination and were so impressed we stopped off for lunch on the way back, On both occasions it was great to see the place full of customers from youngsters to pensioners enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaNorthernEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 124 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

A terrific atmospheric pub with great food and real ale what more could you want!! Set in a lovely village and ran by the villagers, all profits go back into the village funds, a brilliant, must be supported concept.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is the historic inn that has been at the centre of village life for decades. It is now run as a not-for-profit community organisation, and there are plenty of locals in the bar in the evening, and you are contributing to a local community's economy by staying here. Given all of the above, the service is excellent, but the available facilities are a little unconvential. No served breakfast is offered, but each recently refurbished room has a kitchenette with all equipment provided and breakfast packs of local produce can be requested. There is a village shop (also community-run) nearby. There is pub food available in the evenings, and good local ales are served. Excellent location for a one-night-stay if you are doing Offa's DyKe Path, or for several nights, if you are exploring the Clwydian Range and Dee Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Denbighshire County Council produces many free excellent guides to the latter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We absolutely loved this place. It's only a small village pub with three self catering rooms but it is one of the best places we've stayed. Rooms are recently refurbished and to a good standard with all items needed to make breakfast etc. the pub (and the village shop) are run by the local community who all volunteer. This adds to the quirkiness where sometimes the service can be a bit slow while the latest volunteer learns the ropes but it all adds to the atmosphere. The volunteer chef happily created wonderful vegetarian options for us each evening which were of very high quality and would put some good restaurants to shame. The locals were so welcoming to us and our two little dogs who were allowed to stay in our room and join us in a part of the pub while we ate our meals and socialised on an evening. The pub is in a lovely area and there is plenty to do in the local area within a short distance and there's some lovely country walks. It's heartwarming to see a local community like this doing their best to hold it all together and ensure facilities don't die out and families grow up happily in a vibrant community. We loved it and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room one is the largest - there's only three rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisKH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Raven for three nights in August and were very pleased with the accommodation, well presented, clean and roomy. Good quality refurbishment, has provided kitchen areas with ample pans, plates etc, a microwave, kettle and toaster and a fridge, where we could make breakfast (it is not a B and B). The first night there was a marquee outside our room for a village celebration and following a delicious meal at the Inn (I had the steak - cooked just way I asked), we were delighted to see the band "40 days" who played that night - we enjoyed the atmosphere and company until just before midnight when sadly the music stopped, it was a great pleasure to be there for this alone. The second day we had family visitors come to see us and ended up booking a lovely room that night, we enjoyed a delicious roast dinner together at the Inn. Local people power has saved this fantastic pub and it is manned by volunteers who have a wonderful asset now for their own community. The village is also a great place to explore near and far, we did some shopping in Mold explored Ruthin and visited Moel Plas and Llangollen. The staff were so friendly and helpful we felt at home, even though we knew the area from many years at Parc farm caravan site, but we shall be back to stay at the Raven again. Thanks for a lovely few days.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - there are only 3 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our last visit in 2012 was a passing-through experience and we returned for a brief stay on our way back from the Llyn Peninsula. The couple of negative Tripadvisor comments on the Raven are historic and do not reflect our experience. The 3 bedrooms which are now up and running are exquisite, and though self-catering, as long as you know that in advance and lay in some breakfast food you have all you'd want to prepare sumptuous feasts in the kitchen area but the evening meals here would have you not wanting much breakfast - they're more than adequate without being too fancy. The bar and catering volunteers can get a tad overwhelmed at times but please bear in mind that these aren't 'staff' being paid for their service, they're doing their utmost for the pub they love, saved - and as such should be applauded.
The same spirit has seen Llanarmon village shop taken over and run by villagers - both establishments would've closed down if the developers had their way. A matter of time before a local parishioner takes Holy Orders to avoid St. Garmon's church being converted into flats I suppose!?
This is a lively pub (cask beers very acceptable) with a full social programme of events to sustain the sense of community. Set in rolling countryside and with agreeable walks in every direction it's also a fine spot for just sitting with a book. A bus whilst infrequent is at least regular and will take you to the bright lights of Ruthin and Mold should you feel the urge.
If looking for an anonymous hotel, stay away. If you value good conversation (I didn't see any SkySports screens - hurrah!) friendly banter and the personal touch this is your place. We first stayed here in 1978 and have seen many ups and downs over the years but it is SO gratifying to see The Raven on a roll. We must get back before the snow flies!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bothyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our second visit to the pub on a warm summers evening. We had 2 vegetarian meals which were served promptly and beautifully cooked and presented. The young waiter and waitress were very helpful. We will definitely be returning and recommending to all our friends. We did not stay at the pub.Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HomebirdNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon-yn-Ial
4.3 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
4.3 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
375 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
578 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
4.1 mi away
Pistyll Farmhouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Inn

Address: Ffordd Rhiw Ial, Llanarmon-yn-Ial CH7 4QE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon-yn-Ial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanarmon-yn-Ial
Price Range: $78 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raven Inn is a traditional community-orientated free house situated in the heart of the picturesque north Wales village of Llanarmon-yn-Ial, Denbighshire. The Raven Inn has been run by the community since August of 2009. A traditional country pub, you can be assured of a warm welcome. We offer mouth watering, locally sourced food and the best real ales north Wales has to offer. We regularly bring in the best of local musical talent fitting to a traditional country pub. We have three well appointed and recently refurbished self catering rooms to let. All have great views of the village church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Raven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing