We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A birthday treat - to repeat !!”
Review of The Raven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Raven Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A birthday treat - to repeat !!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just come back from a weekend stay in this Inn. I have had the most wonderful weekend. My birthday treat from my husband; we cycle and planned to go mountain biking in Llandegla Forest as well as take in a few walks.

The hospitality we received from the moment we arrived to leaving was second to none. The Inn is run by the locals; they all 'muck in' on a rota basis to do their bit - the pride they have is utterly without question. We staying for two nights (Fri/Sat) in a self contained studio above the pub. It was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The kitchenette was fully complemented with all the necessary kitchen equipment. We had fresh milk in the fridge for a cuppa with tea, coffee, sugar (not usual for S/C) but as we had arrived late we opted to head for the bar.

Friday is Fish'n'Chip night - Fresh Haddock was on the menu... I'd phoned ahead to make sure we had a table but was informed we had to be there before 8/9pm as they couldn't guarantee they'd have any left - well they weren't kidding the place was packed. So you really do need to get there early as they only have 4 options on the menu and the Inn is so popular the favourites go fast. The prices are very good ! FishnChips £7.95 each and well worth it the Haddock was beautifully fresh served with home made chips & tarta sauce - delicious

My husband likes real Ale he was offered a few small glasses of each to taste and settled for a locally brewed Ale - we settled down to our lovely fish & chips - served by Val & Eira the best waitresses ever !! These two ladies started our weekend with such big smiles and such fun we knew we were in for a real treat.... & it continued to be such all weekend.

I would absolutely recommend this Inn as a lovely base to explore. Don't expect grandeur - its an Inn - if your expectations are for real, down to earth, local hospitality you won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenMJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    21
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
26
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Raven Inn is one of North Wales Best Pub’s, fitting in well within the local community in this picturesque small village, offering good beers and entertainment. You will find accommodation, good food and the service excellent at this gem of a pub lost in valley in North Wales.

Room Tip: your sat nave will take you there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I am DISGUSTED by the review below, clearly composed by somebody who is malicious (& furthermore has an inability to use punctuation correctly) - please take no notice of it.

I have no part in running or volunteering in this 'Community Run Pub' in Llanarmon-yn-Iâl, but we eat and drink there very regularly. The Raven is a credit to this proactive village and of course the people that volunteer/work there. The selection of real ales is wonderful (CAMRA winning) and the food is EXCELLENT. We invite friends there regularly for food, especially 'Fish & Chips' on a Friday.

It you have not been, come to Llanarmon and try it for yourself.... Dewch i Lanarmon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RuthFrancesEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

disgusting service ,the staff are rude and abrupt ,& lack people skills .Although the food is nice it was served cold and the potions are poor for the price you pay. WIll never recommend the raven inn to anyone - poor service leaves a bitter taste .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beck2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

the raven is a community pub, run by the villagers- we took part in the 3 choirs festival, walking between 3 villages, visiting 3 pubs and listening to a choir in each- had a great afternoon in a friendly community. we had beautifully cooked fish and chips- the chunky chips were crispy and the fish had light batter and was fresh. this pub is a little gem- we were looking at the other diner's tables and there food looked well presented and the curry smelt divine- we will return to work our way through the menu. they serve locally made beers and ciders with a friendly service and a smile. good value for money and the food is locally sourced. hope they have more events like this in future

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekender051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Crosby
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We used to stay here many times over the years - our 1st visit being in 1978 so we've seen some changes in our time. Visited for the 3 Choirs Festival on Saturday last and were so pleased to see the Raven back as a much-loved local after experiencing a fairly "don't care" attitude on a previous visit some years back now. Didn't eat but beer was excellent, friendly bunch of volunteers and a real example of what can be achieved with enthusiasm, a good business plan and I'd guess, a fair bit of joint capital. The smoking hut at the front looks incongruous though and detracts somewhat from the exterior ambience. Can't this facility be tucked away round the side?
One bedroom is now up and running and we'll be back to stay as soon as can. One can get there by bus from Mold though it's a limited service. Walking in the area is excellent and all in all a really refreshing experience.
Just 3 points I'd like to see again from the 'old days' - the darts board back and reopening up the small fireplace in the bar area would make for a really cosy feel in the colder months, if indeed the chimney is functional or can made so. Oh, and what happened to the stuffed raven in the glass case!?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bothyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
215 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

we visited to raven today for the first time after seeing a programme about it on t.v
its a community inn, run and owned by the villagers and they do a fantastic job of it.
we had sunday roast beef and sticky toffee pudding to follow it was faultless.
they intend doing b/b from easter but dont think they quite ready yet but what a place to
stay, fantastic surroundings great people , staff and locals alike and gorgeous views
access from queensferry via a494 after llanferres left onto b5430 then right onto b5431
into the village and there it is on your right

Room Tip: havent stayed but looks like front facing rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanlpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon-yn-Ial
4.3 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
4.3 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
7.2 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Inn

Property: The Raven Inn
Address: Ffordd Rhiw Ial, Llanarmon-yn-Ial CH7 4QE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon-yn-Ial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanarmon-yn-Ial
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raven Inn is a traditional community-orientated free house situated in the heart of the picturesque north Wales village of Llanarmon-yn-Ial, Denbighshire. The Raven Inn has been run by the community since August of 2009. A traditional country pub, you can be assured of a warm welcome. We offer mouth watering, locally sourced food and the best real ales north Wales has to offer. We regularly bring in the best of local musical talent fitting to a traditional country pub. We have three well appointed and recently refurbished self catering rooms to let. All have great views of the village church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Raven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing