We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem Of A Pub Lost In A Small Valley.”
Review of The Raven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Raven Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem Of A Pub Lost In A Small Valley.”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Raven Inn is one of North Wales Best Pub’s, fitting in well within the local community in this picturesque small village, offering good beers and entertainment. You will find accommodation, good food and the service excellent at this gem of a pub lost in valley in North Wales.

Room Tip: your sat nave will take you there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    21
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
26
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I am DISGUSTED by the review below, clearly composed by somebody who is malicious (& furthermore has an inability to use punctuation correctly) - please take no notice of it.

I have no part in running or volunteering in this 'Community Run Pub' in Llanarmon-yn-Iâl, but we eat and drink there very regularly. The Raven is a credit to this proactive village and of course the people that volunteer/work there. The selection of real ales is wonderful (CAMRA winning) and the food is EXCELLENT. We invite friends there regularly for food, especially 'Fish & Chips' on a Friday.

It you have not been, come to Llanarmon and try it for yourself.... Dewch i Lanarmon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RuthFrancesEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

disgusting service ,the staff are rude and abrupt ,& lack people skills .Although the food is nice it was served cold and the potions are poor for the price you pay. WIll never recommend the raven inn to anyone - poor service leaves a bitter taste .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beck2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

the raven is a community pub, run by the villagers- we took part in the 3 choirs festival, walking between 3 villages, visiting 3 pubs and listening to a choir in each- had a great afternoon in a friendly community. we had beautifully cooked fish and chips- the chunky chips were crispy and the fish had light batter and was fresh. this pub is a little gem- we were looking at the other diner's tables and there food looked well presented and the curry smelt divine- we will return to work our way through the menu. they serve locally made beers and ciders with a friendly service and a smile. good value for money and the food is locally sourced. hope they have more events like this in future

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekender051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Crosby
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We used to stay here many times over the years - our 1st visit being in 1978 so we've seen some changes in our time. Visited for the 3 Choirs Festival on Saturday last and were so pleased to see the Raven back as a much-loved local after experiencing a fairly "don't care" attitude on a previous visit some years back now. Didn't eat but beer was excellent, friendly bunch of volunteers and a real example of what can be achieved with enthusiasm, a good business plan and I'd guess, a fair bit of joint capital. The smoking hut at the front looks incongruous though and detracts somewhat from the exterior ambience. Can't this facility be tucked away round the side?
One bedroom is now up and running and we'll be back to stay as soon as can. One can get there by bus from Mold though it's a limited service. Walking in the area is excellent and all in all a really refreshing experience.
Just 3 points I'd like to see again from the 'old days' - the darts board back and reopening up the small fireplace in the bar area would make for a really cosy feel in the colder months, if indeed the chimney is functional or can made so. Oh, and what happened to the stuffed raven in the glass case!?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bothyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

we visited to raven today for the first time after seeing a programme about it on t.v
its a community inn, run and owned by the villagers and they do a fantastic job of it.
we had sunday roast beef and sticky toffee pudding to follow it was faultless.
they intend doing b/b from easter but dont think they quite ready yet but what a place to
stay, fantastic surroundings great people , staff and locals alike and gorgeous views
access from queensferry via a494 after llanferres left onto b5430 then right onto b5431
into the village and there it is on your right

Room Tip: havent stayed but looks like front facing rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanlpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We had a lovely 2 night stay at a very friendly Inn. Our hosts were two of the nicest people you could wish to meet. They had recently taken over the running of the place having had other people running it for them which could explain why the previous reviews were not as favourable perhaps. The room we had was comfortable and clean with an ensuite and the breakfast was brill. We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon-yn-Ial
4.3 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
7.2 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
251 reviews
4.3 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
760 reviews
7.0 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
17.9 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Inn

Property: The Raven Inn
Address: Ffordd Rhiw Ial, Llanarmon-yn-Ial CH7 4QE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon-yn-Ial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanarmon-yn-Ial
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raven Inn is a traditional community-orientated free house situated in the heart of the picturesque north Wales village of Llanarmon-yn-Ial, Denbighshire. The Raven Inn has been run by the community since August of 2009. A traditional country pub, you can be assured of a warm welcome. We offer mouth watering, locally sourced food and the best real ales north Wales has to offer. We regularly bring in the best of local musical talent fitting to a traditional country pub. We have three well appointed and recently refurbished self catering rooms to let. All have great views of the village church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Raven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing