We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no sleep for a week !” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saint George
Uk Lancashire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“no sleep for a week !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

by far the most noisy apts i have stayed in ever ! we asked for a high floor pool view we got ground floor right at the very back of the building 5 mins from anywhere near the pool ! bearing in mind we booked this about a year ago and made the requests a few times , we did ask to move but apartently they where full ! we did have a corner plot and the apt was large that as the only postive thing. The apts are right on a road thats is as busy as a by pass its the main rd out of towen and to the hospital so you get all the sirens, trucks, noddy train with bell , bin waggons etc day and night. no air con no double glazing so you hear it all the time even with ear plugs and a bottle of wine ! the bedroom walls where filthy as was all the floor ie black feet when walking about. Very basic facilites we dont cook while on holiday maybe a snack or two so the lack of microwcooker etc did not bother us, i noted secutiry cameras and secutity lights at the back where we where so we did feel uneasy leaving the room at night. Also the doors are funny to lock right. The beds are solid hard the bedding i dont think was changed all tho we did have towels every day bar once. NO hair dryer ladies ! ALL SOCKETS HIDDEDN BEHiND FURNITURE SO LOOK U WILL FIND SOME. The other noise issues came from the apt up stairs and next door. up for 7 am daily dragging furniture round banging doors etc u can hear everything also the mian down pipe for the entire block ran via our bedroom it was like niagra falls every morning at about 5am, i joke you not i had ear plugs and a pillow over my head and could still hear it. I have had a week no sleep i need a holiday to recover. The pool area is ok the snack bar is poor for food but i am fussy ! the drink was ok and cheap 2 euro a pint or there are plenty supermarkets in the area. locations not great we are fit so made the hill ok but i would not advidse anyone who has wlaking issues go there. I forgot to mention the dull lights in the corridors you have to turn the lights on manually, in the room it was so dull i stuggled to put makeup on etc. There is only enough water for one quick shower then it takes half hour to re heat so plan your getting ready time ! wifi only works in reception and wont connect your outlook to the server so if u need to work u will have to go out to the cafe down the rd nice breakfasts there and cheap so not to bad. the weather was great that made up for a lot but i would advise if u need to sleep dont go to the st george we paid 480 each so it was not exactly cheap either. would recomend sama sama for nice food just on the rd to los christianos its basicly one of the first bars you hit on the top rd. there is a nice terrace over looking the sea its got traditional and italian food cheap as chips good quality food, english speaking fab for day or night. Dont go masion castillo again down the rd towards las americas tho it cost a fortune for large poor quality steak u are seated in a different part of the resturant than locals and basicly treated second class. Had a good week apart from the rubbish apts.

Room Tip: just book another hotel do yourself a favour if u have booked take the high floor as we tried to buy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caroleblakeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    95
    65
    19
    20
See reviews for
81
107
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our 10 day holiday to Tenerife was our first to the Canaries and it was wonderful. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the St George apartments. We found the staff to be friendly but then we didn't have anything to complain about.
Yes, it's on a hill but the whole resort is built up the side of a volcano, they have steep sides and there were some hotels higher up.
In fact, if you come out of the hotel and turn right immediately along the pink and cream path that runs along the side of the premises, there is at the end (and it's not far, 100m?) a whole raft of shops, cafes, bars and resturants. In less you want to go to the beach, the hill never has to be climbed at all. Along the same path, after 20m turn left. This will take you down to the Mercadona supermarket. Eight litres of water, 1 Euro. Fresh bread baked on the premises and Cava, 1.99. Ladies, use the shower first then while the other half waits for the immersion heater to warm up again because, yes there is only enough hot water for one shower, have a glass of the pink bubbly stuff. No worries.
There are cheap places to eat and expensive. Beer was anything from 1 euro to 3. In fact we were hard pushed to spend our money. So much so that if we had to hire an air-conditoning unit, the budget would stand it and some.
The pool was lovely.
All in all, the st George Apartments exceed the price we paid for the holiday. If we wanted 5*, we could have paid 5* prices but they are 2* plus. Remember that and prepared to be pleasantly surprised. We will be going back . . .

Room Tip: We had 311 and were very pleased. Other reviews have mentioned the road noise but we didn't noti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KannyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I went here with my Husband and our two children February 2013
Package Self Catering Holiday, usual meet/greet from a Thompson Rep at the Airport who informed us she would not be travelling with us to our destination,

Forty minutes later we arrived at St George Apartments Staff friendly. Nice Pool.
Entered our 1 Bed Apartment very clean,apart from the two cockroaches but, No Oven/Microwave/Shower Water Pressure nil! A hob with two rings was our means of cooking.
We always choose Self Catering holidays for this reason, a choice to stay in or go out to eat and wherever we have stayed the above mentioned items are in the apartments!

Head off to the town (we were in between Los Christanos and Playa das Americas, as soon as we entered Los Christanos was bombarded with Looky Looky Men selling watches/bracelets/hats etc etc.,Women asking to braid my daughters hair over and over again,this was a daily/nightly occurence.
Whilst eating a meal day or night we were harassed with them.Having to say No Thank you time and time again becomes exhausting.
I never felt safe while holidaying here, and by 21.00 the streets were empty of people/tourists only Looky Looky men trying to sell their wares!!And women calling out to you for Hair Braiding.
Certainly will not be travellin to Tenerife again.
The only good bit of the holiday was the Sun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Cristianos hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was the first holiday my partner and i went on together, we chose this hotel as it was 5 minutes walk to the beach and restraunts and was cheap at the time of year! We arrived very late to checkin at night and had to ring a door bell to wait for someone to answer the door which took a while, we ended up calling the number on the door to say please let us in?! Apartment very basic, for self catering there is no oven or microwave just a kettle a toaster and a fridge so be carful! Also there is no fan or air con in the room and you have to pay per day to use one. Pool great nice and quiet each day, could do with a bit of maintenace on the tiles but no to much. Hotel is right next to the road so you hear vehicles 24/7, this wouldnt put me off coming back. All staff we came across was lovely! By the beach side in the evening was amazing great atmosphere. Would return to the island again :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

It was fairly clean, reception only open limited times, staff not very friendly. Aparment was large, no microwave or tv unless you paid to hire one. Shower not good had to run around to get wet and then wait an hour so the second person could get a hot shower. Restaurante on site not open. Doors were difficult to unlock. It served as a base for 1 week. Pool nice.

Room Tip: A high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linz056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The apartment was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Kitchen, living room, bedroom, two balconies. Within 8 days of the harvest was not. No air-conditioning and fan. It was hot, we slept with the outdoor balcony. We were not lucky, one floor below lived much smoking couple, they were smoking on the balcony at night, we could not sleep well. Smoking should be banned in all areas, as is done in decent hotels. The lovely uncrowded beach was 5-10 minutes walk from the apartment, or less if you walk down many steps. Near a small supermarket. There is always a free parking place close to home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Me and my boyfriend visited the St George Apartments last June, and having read the reviews I wasn't expecting the best. But I was more than pleasantly surprised, while its not the ritz for around £250 each for a week we did pretty damn well and I could find nothing to complain about. The pool area was clean, tidy and well maintained and we had our pick of sunbeds when we eventually strolled down at 10am or later. The pool bar was good value for money and the lunches were tasty. Our room was split over 2 levels with a balcony and though there was no air conditioning you could rent a fan for only round 10 euros for the week. It had everything we needed and was cleaned well regularly. No there aren't televisions in the rooms but if you're going on holiday to watch tv then you've got much bigger issues. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the excursions were brilliant and reasonably priced. The local area is fantastic!! We are in our early 20's and never struggled to find somewhere to go in the evenings for some drinks or food. Watermelon and Chill out were particular favourites and I would gladly go back to the area as well the apartments!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FrankieKenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.7 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#3 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George

Property: Saint George
Address: Calle Finlandia 5, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint George 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Apartments Hotel Tenerife
Saint George Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing