We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“villa mandi 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Mandi Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“villa mandi 2013”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at Villa Mandi for two weeks returning on 25th August. Two adults and two kids (nine and eleven)

Location-it is a good fifteen to twenty minutes walk to Los Christianos or Playa, bit too far if you were self catering and doing this walk every night but it does clearly tell you this in the brochure. not the most scenic of walks into either resort and you do see a lot of graffiti which is a shame but seems to be all around the resort. Never felt unsafe as mentioned in previous reviews.

Food- we were half board and the food was adequate but not four star quality, plenty of choice but not the most inspiring. If you choose to eat in restaurant/snack bar the prices are expensive and this was reflected in the quiet bar in the evenings-most people seem to be self catering and went into resort instead. Drinks very expensive in hotel generally 3 euros for a beer and two euros for a coke, cheaper in resort.

Accommodation - nice apartment, ask for one on the third floor overlooking pool and golf course as these are the best. Bathroom was slightly dated and the bath was scratchy. Apartment cleaned most days and towels changed regularly. We did have a slight problem with ants but the cleaning staff came in and gave it a good spray.

Pool area- lovely although slippy, wear your flip flops!! never had a problem getting a bed, you can't put towels down till nine anyway so no early risers pinching all the beds! the two main pools very nice and water temperature perfect, lots of kids but not too manic, most just having fun.

Hotel staff- generally fine in reception, restaurant and bar, some went out of way to be friendly, only one who goes out of his way to be surly!

Thomson reps - very good, helpful and approachable and a good visible presence. Didn't
use the kids clubs but the staff seemed friendly enough. Entertainment team were excellent especially Chenice and Mario who went out of their way to be friendly and welcoming. The activities they organised were good, such as cricket, rounders and aqua aerobics and brought kids and adults together which our eleven year old lad enjoyed.

Siam park is a definite must do trip- pre book your ticket, get a taxi there for just before ten am and have a fab day. It will be busy in school hols but its worth it and the staff keep it all flowing well and safely.

All in all a lovely holiday. Villa Mandi grounds are very pretty just a little bit out of resort but don't let that put you off as long as you don't mind a walk or five euros in a taxi.

Room Tip: high floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bez1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    366
    139
    52
    26
See reviews for
649
146
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just returned from villa mandi, after a pleasant 10 days with family ( daughter 9 yrs). Didn't get off to best start when our allocated room was complete opposite of what we had requested. Were not asking much, just to be on high floor. We're given ground floor room with tiny terrace that was below level of path running next to it!! Very damp and dark. Went back to reception (as did the other family who checked in with us). Reception people lovely but no other rooms available. We persisted and were told if we waited a 2nd floor apartment would be vacated that evening and they would get it cleaned for us. We were given keys for luggage room and courtesy room so we could change and spent rest of day at pool whilst waiting. New room great improvement, really nice fittings and furniture, very spacious. Next to gardens and play park, looking towards golf course however you can only see this from 3rd floor due to trees. Quite happy with rm203 but there is such a variety of rooms at this hotel you can end up with something vastly different to someone else for same money. If we were to return would def pay for select and pool view. Receptionist basically said couldn't get rooms we would really like without supplements. We would have paid but none left on arrival, so do in uk.
Pools very nice, we didn't experience sunbed probs really, always found 2 at least whenever we went. They were taking towels off unused beds but some people still put towels down and disappeared. Pool side is slippy, they have put non slip stuff on some areas but does need care even in flip flops. Very clean and all grounds well maintained, lots of flowers and plants. Although fully booked didn't feel anywhere over busy.
Daughter loved kids club, reps were lovely, very chatty and genuinely seemed to want to have fun at right level for the age groups. Nice touch that kids reps go on boat trip on Monday's and entertained kids on a pirate theme there too inc. swimming in sea!!
Didn't do much of evening entertainment only kids hour, which was as expected from Thompson complete with dog! Again daughter enjoyed and that's what we pick family resorts for, happy kids means happy parents!
Did a mixture of self catering and eating out. Apartment adequate for easy meals, again I think what you would expect from a self catering apartment, nothing missing really but don't expect to be able to cook like at home. Hotel restaurant we found to be good with a nice variety on Eve's we went and breakfast good for a reasonable price. Was expecting a lot worse from the reviews. Maybe would have been monotonous if we had had every meal there? There are lovely restaurants in town, with good prices. The walk wasn't a problem and we saw nothing to be concerned with on the wasteland. Taxi back only 4-5 euro if didn't want to walk. We thought drinks prices were fine 3 euros a pint at hotel and 1.80 for soft drink. There are some cheaper places in town but also some more expensive.
Beaches nice, vistas beach best. Used hotel shuttle service, drops off near best bit we thought. Lots of waves!!
Went to aqualand, great day, few queues for slides and good value. Pick up the leaflet at airport for free child or discount. Taxi 8 euros each way. Also free bird boat trip was amazing. Loro parque not so great but that was due to the crowds of people, August prob not time to go! Did enjoy, whales and penguins great but missed out on quite a lot of things. Used Thompson for these trips few euro more but completely hassle free and door to door.
Reps dan and kristina were fab, knowledgable and very honest, just ask and it was sorted out.
Only down side to villa mandi was cleaning, we did not get cleaned as often as stated, and not to the standard would expect. Floor was really dirty, especially balcony. Even ran out of loo roll and had to go and ask as no cleaner for 4 days!
Overall we had a lovely time, would return to villa mandi if we wanted to visit the area again and would definitely go with Thompson.

Room Tip: Worth paying for upgrades as more sure you will get good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hpmpap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at the Villa Mandi apartments from August 6th to August 16th with Thomson. Was on holiday with my wife and 2 kids (aged 4 and 23 months). Arrived at the apartments around 12.30pm and was told our room was not ready as we were early. Put our baggage in the storage room and went and had a snack in the snack bar downstairs. An hour later, our room was ready. Reception staff were excellent and friendly. Was very pleased when we got our room card to find out that I had got the room I had requested. I had emailed the hotel directly to request a 2nd floor apartment near the pool and kids play area. Specifically asked for Room 215 after reading a review on this website and this was the room we got. An excellent start. The apartments were clean and very spacious - all as stated in the Thomson brochure/website. Excellent equipment for self catering - fridge, microwave and enough pots/frying pan/utensils etc for a family of 4. All was clean. Bedroom was clean and beds comfortable. There was a safe in our room and we did not need to pay for it - just typed in a 4 digit code and pressed * to lock it. It worked fine and we used throughout our stay. The balcony was huge and gave the kids some space to play outside. It was child safe which was pleasing. The TV had a few channels - we did not buy extra as it gave Sky News and Disney Channel for free which was fine for me and the kids.
Our room overlooked the kids play area from the balcony which was nice and quiet and from the bedroom, you could see the pool area but were far enough away not to hear any noise. Getting to the pool was easy as it was a walk down a few steps from the front door of our apartment. The bathroom was huge - double sink and all clean.
The rooms were cleaned daily except Saturdays and the cleaners were friendly and did a great job. There is a sofa bed in the living area but we only used this one or two nights and all four of us fit on the 2 beds in the bedroom. Air conditioning worked well and was needed to get a good nights sleep.
There are two main pools and a small kids pool. We used the pool closest to us. People start lining up around 8.30am for sunbeds and they are strict about this. You cannot get one before 9am. Some people left their towels at 9am and did not return until much later in the day. We usually used the pool later in the day after lunch and there were plenty of sunbeds available. Pools were clean and they allowed children to use water guns etc which is nice. They could also use inflatables which is also good as some hotels dont allow these. Pool area was clean and tidy and they cleaned it daily. Thomson staff were very good. We used the Kids club for our 4 year old. He went around 4 times and loved it, especially the chocolate party for which they charge 5 euros. They also have a creche but we did not use this. Reps were great overall and entertainment by the pool was nice - not over the top. Can't comment on the evening entertainment as we never went.
Snack bar by the pool is ok but pricey. Our first snack while we were waiting for our room was nearly 20 euros for a small pizza and chicken nuggets/chips.
Did not eat in the buffet at all. The onsite shop is good but expensive - a walk to the local supermarket will take 15 mins.
The complex is nice overall and feels like a small village. We would go back again.
We hired a car for a week - booked with a company before we went as it was cheaper. This was good as we knew Villa Mandi was a good walk away from Los Cristianos and Las Americas. It can be walked and we did it about 3 times with the kids in around 20 -25 mins but only in the evenings when it cooled down. It is not a bad walk like some people say and we never felt scared. There are some busy roads to cross though. Taxis are around but we never used one as we had the car.
I would recommend Villa Mandi to anyone with a young family. We were unsure after reading some reviews but it is a great family location. Our kids loved it. Thanks to all the Thomson staff for their help.

Room Tip: Room 215. Someone on here gave this tip and I asked for it. Got it. Great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Offer2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel, fab staff, reps & top notch entertainment team! Love this hotel been here twice, beautifully clean with family entertainment day and night, yes it is out a bit but it tells you that in the brochure! 20 min walk to cristanos or playa or 5-10 mins in cab! Hotel restaurant ok for snacks but would not have main meals there although brekkie was good

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyndsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just arrived back from a 2 week stay. we were half board, big mistake! The food was terrible- hot buffet was cold, nothing freshly cooked, if you arrived to eat a bit later. Food left from the night before re-used the next night disguised as something else! Not alot of variety.The two managers were more interested in getting everything cleared away ready for the next meal time.All drinks were very expensive! The evening entertainment was a joke.The pool side was very slippery, they had to call the doctor out because a lady slipped over and knocked her self out.The sunbeds would have been an issue if we had stopped around the pool but we prefered the beach. sad lot queuing from 8am to reserve a bed for 9am! The Thompson reps need to be more organised with their facts before giving out information,{differing information about the same thing from all 3 of them!} The appartment we had was very good private enough and away from the pool noise, room 301. Our maid service was very good, did their job with a smile.
Although the aircon wasnt very efficient. The grounds were well maintained and security very good. The position wasnt an issue with us as we like to walk any way.

Room Tip: Room 301 if you have older children, over looks the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clippo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate,n.yorks
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Villa Mandi complex is nice, situated outside the resort about 30 minutes walk, next to a nice gold course. Taxis are easy and cheap to get into the town approx 5 euros.The courtesy bus goes in the morning and back late afternoon.
We didnt eat here as the restaurants in town were much more reasonable and had read previous reviews that said the food here was just average. The pools were lovely, staff and reps great,lots going on.Kids club was well run and the reps wonderful with the kids. my only complaint was that the apartment was filthy especially the floor, the same floor sweeper is using all the other apartments and is just shifting dust about, you had to always wear something on your feet, the maid came in and just made the beds, The bathroom was falling apart and was also filthy. We did enjoy our stay but wouldnt return .

Room Tip: overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfredandloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I'll just start by saying that that this resort is exactly as it is in the pictures, beautiful spacious appartments which are very modern, very clean all around the resort, nice friendly staff and good facilities.

The 'towels on the sunbeds situation' was very well monitored - you weren't allowed to reserve a sunbed until 9am precisely and by the end of the week the reps were out in force removing towels from beds that hadn't been used for more than 45 minutes. I thought this was a great idea as some people reserve sunbeds then go out for the whole day!!

We didn't do any of the nightly entertainment as we went out every night, however there was a lot for the kids to do in the day and also entertainment/games around the pool for the adults.

The only downside was that some of drinks were quite expensive (8 euros for a spirit and mixer) although a glass of wine was only 2 euros. The food wasn't great however there are plenty of nice restaurents in Los Cristianos to choose from.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samstan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.8 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
2,031 reviews
1.0 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
#3 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#6 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resor...
#1 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 14 in Los Cristianos
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mandi Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mandi Golf Resort

Property: Villa Mandi Golf Resort
Address: Calle Laderas del Espejo 7, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Apartments Villa Mandi)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mandi Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Mandi Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Villa Mandi Hotel Los Cristianos
Apartments Hotel Mandi
Apartments Hotel Los Cristianos
Villa Mandi Golf Resort Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing