We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel with lovely staff”
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We were welcomed at reception on arrival with a glass of Cava and when we got to our room there was a complimentary bottle of cava along with some dried fruits and nuts, so we were pretty impressed. We'd read in other reviews that some rooms were dark and so in addition to booking a pool/sea view we asked our tour operator (Sovereign Travel) to request a room that got sunshine, the request was granted so sitting on our balcony late afternoon was very enjoyable. Our room was spacious with a small seating area in addition to the balcony which had reclining chairs, footstools and a table. There were enough hangers in the wardrobe and the bathroom was fine with a good shower, there was a full length mirror in the room and the TV had UK channels. The hotel provide a safe in the room but they do charge for it.

We stayed half board, the majority of the time the food (buffet) was superb, however there were a couple of occasions when it didn't seem to be quite as good - nothing to complain about, we just felt that the standard dropped on a couple of evenings. On several occasions we were given a glass of Cava as we went into the restaurant. We used all of the bars, the piono bar service was great and drink measures generous. Entertainment in Salon Teide was good, and sometimes excellent.

In addition to evening entertainment we took part in a few daytime activities - french boule; archery; pistol and rifle shooting; mini golf and aquarobics are some of the activities on offer. The two staff who run the activities deserve special mention - Florin and Jenny were brilliant.

A few tips - apply for a Spring Card before you go (springhoteles.com) this will give you 15% off your bar bill at the end of the holiday, you can apply when you are in resort too. If you decide to eat out one evening, let reception know 24 hours in advance and ask for a voucher for lunch at the pool restaurant (La Palapa). The restaurant is waiter service and although there are only 3 or 4 choices for each course, the food is fantastic and the portions massive!

I can't think of anything negative to say about the Arona Gran and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Polly018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,785
    995
    331
    104
    62
See reviews for
472
2,331
61
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2011

this is our 5th stay at this hotel and enjoyed every minute. one of our party is in a wheelchair and staff could not be more friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunter013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Hotel was excellent as was Food, Staff and entertainment the only criticism i have is that the bedrooms need updating as they do not match the spendour of the rest of the hotel.
Thank you for a most enjoyable holiday
E Evans

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tango19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Have just returned from a week at the Arona, have stayed there before that's why we returned. The restaurant exceeded our expectations yet again. Food variety and quality fantastic. You wanted for nothing. We had a sea view room looking directly across the bay, fabulous, would definately recommend this hotel. Lots of older guests taking advantage of the sunshine and there was a lot of good weather. Pools are heated and really do make you want to go swimming. Shows a bit samey but on whole very good and worth a look in. Bar and snack bar prices very reasonable E3 large beer, E4.50 Gin and tonic of course they are large measures. We qualified for a 15% discount card therefore prices were just like the UK. Took a boat trip from Los Christianos on Travellin Lady, saw dolphins and whales E15 each, terrific value for money would definately do it again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 187047Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Service is generally maintained to a high standard at this hotel. Staff regularly clean the marble floors and brass handrails and the foliage is well maintained by somebody. Staff are friendly and polite. There is a huge variety of foodstuff to choose from in the dinning room, the best I've seen for a buffet restaurant and it is cooked well. You pay for everything with a hotel 'credit card' which you settle up with at the end of your stay. There is hotel entertainment each night with a resident band plus guest cabaret spots. Of comparable standard to a lot of hotels, still you might find some acts you enjoy. The gym equipment could do with some updating as it is mostly 2nd hand equipment bought from other gyms. Being situated at the end of Los Christianos you are not hassled as much by the African gold/sunglasses/chains merchants as they don't go down that far. You still have the restaurant 'chucka-in-ers' to deal with though! Very pleasant walk along the beach prom towards Las Americas.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musicstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Excellent food , service on the whole very good . Rooms look very tired with furniture and woodwork chipped , expected better for the price we paid . Dismayed that smoking was not allowed on balconies yet was allowed around the pools where sunbeds were very close together . The temperature control for the shower was very poor and several times very hot water suddenly appeared . We still managed to enjoy ourselves and the weather was excellent .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

This hotel was recommended by a freind. We found the service,food, public areas and pool areas excellent. Our room was comfortable, clean with all the facilities one would expect of a 4 star hotel.It had views of the sea and harbour. We were told we had been given an upgrade. I dont know what difference this makes. unfortunatly our room got no sun at all at any time. We asked for a move but were told there was a list of guests waiting and we never got to the top of the list!! It is an easy walk into Los Christiannos or Las Americas. A large market is held on Sunday beside the hotel. If you get a Spring membership card (free) you get 10% off the final bill. No cash is used in the hotel and all transactions are made using the room swipe card.
We would certainly use this hotel again but would ask for a room with sun. We were told by a client of many years that a call/e mail to customer prior to your visit usually achieves the room you prefer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claytops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#2 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Property: Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing