We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel......The guests are all "mature"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Well......We thought the hotel was excellent! It was clean, well staffed and the rooms had fantastic views. The staff were always attentive, the bar staff excellent, and the hotel dealt swiftly and well with any request we had.
We were surprised at the age of our fellow guests, being nearly 50 certainly qualified us as almost the youngest in the hotel! They all seemed to be returning guests, another plus point for the hotel, and it was amusing (sad) to watch a hard core of 20 or 30 oldies "sprinting" out of the door at 8 am to reserve their favoured spot around the pools. There were lots of free loungers around the well maintained/clean pools.
We stayed B and B, and the breakfasts were of a high quality, with plenty of choice, althogh the luke warm water for tea/coffeee was tiresome.
Went into town every evening for dinner, and was surprised how quiet the restaurants/bars were.Talking to the owners they appear to be suffering from the economic downturn and the cost of a Euro.........it was expensive to eat and drink. We enjoyed a small bar run by some Hungarians, as well as an Italian Taverna overlooking the port.
We did speak to the duty manager on our departure...and to thank them! Its not often that we stay 10 days in a hotel with NO complaints. Well done the Arona Gran.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank bibsEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,497)
There are newer reviews for Spring Arona Gran Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,996 - 3,002 of 3,497 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2008

great hotel nice food and clean spacious rooms found a great irish bar in the san telmo area of los cristianos live music every night with gerry owner and resident musician he plays a number of diffrent instruments and manages to make it look so easy the CLADDAGH IRISH PUB is open from noon till late showing all live sports and serves food throughout the day definetly not to be missed if you are in los cristianos

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank Claddaghtenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Hi all
Stayed at the Arona Gran now several times, this time 3/10 until 10/10.
This hotel seems to get better each time we stay.
As usual there is always 1 or 2 little niggles, but nothing really at all.
Rooms are great, we had a seaview, well cleaned and looked after.
Food was very good, to find nothing you could eat and enjoy you would really have to have an extreemly awkward diet, there is something for every taste.
Staff were very good, especially as the hotel was very busy during our stay.
Everyone we spoke to were returning customers, one couple we spoke to had stayed at the Arona Gran 13 times, so that speaks for itself.
We have priced up other hotels but the savings do not stack up against the Arona Gran, which we find good value for money.
However we did feel ripped off completely by some of the bars and restaurants in los cristianos and las americas for the price of a drink and I do mean ripped off, charging 5.50 to 6.00 euro for 1 vodka and fanta lemon,we were in a group of 4 all drinking the same drink so very expensive for a round, it would not have been so bad for a branded vodka, but for local vodka which you can pick up for 3.00 euro a litre, those prices are a bit steep.
For a good night out try the Castillo San Miguel, a night of jousting and feasting, well worth the vist.
We are looking forward now to booking up for our next visit to the Aron Gran, hopefully very soon as we already stayed there at the end of June 08.
If you have already booked at the Arona Gran, you have made the right decision, if you have not, go on give it a try you will not regret it.
All the best
Sparky

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SPARKY102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

Just arrived back from the Arona Gran, and while it was a fabulous hotel and a fablulous week, there are a few things I wanted to mention after reading the reviews on this site.

First of all, we booked online, using a well known site - flights, accomodation and 'Resort Hoppa' airport transfer. Big mistake. We waited, sitting on the resort Hoppa bus, for an hour and a half to go a ten minute journey to the hotel, and then they insisted on picking us up at 4.00am for the same ten min journey back - our flight was at 7.30 am! We got there an hour too early which is a big deal at 4am. You have to phone 24 hours in advance to confirm your return pick up, and the lines are constanty busy. We discovered if you book direct with the hotel on line, you get free transfer, ten percent dicount, free sauna, etc. However, even if you book as a package, forget Resort Hoppa and just get a taxi yourself. It cheaper than resort Hoppa and not half as much hassle.

The hotel itself is wonderful - we have been on many cruises and the accomodation was of a similar standard to the big cruise ships. It did not 'feel' like a typical Spanish package tour hotel. When the curtains are shut, and the air con is on, you could be in any quality city hotel. Only the heat outside gives it away! The rooms are very comfortable, with huge flat screen, good channels, large comfy beds, good quality furnishings, air conditioning, lovely big bathroom, dressing gown and slippers etc. The communal areas were gorgeous - marble floors and hanging plants. If you want the sun on your balcony, try to get the pool facing rooms on any floor ending in numbers 50 upwards. Any room ending in 10 - 40, although with pool view, is on the curve of the building and does not get any sun on the balcony at any time of day. Even the inland views get some sun!

We only had breakfast in the hotel. It was...'ok'. I can't vouch for the evening meals which other people have raved about on here. But, the water in most of the tea/coffee machines was not hot enough ( I had to search the whole dining room for a decent drinks machine to get a hot pot of water for tea..and it tasted very chemically. ) Also they obviously leave the cereals, biscuits etc out all the time and they go soft. Small moans I know, but I hate soft cornflakes and cold tea! Hot food was nice enough. Wating staff are slightly surly. Pool area was gorgeous, clean fresh towels every day, usual panic in the morning to get a lounger. However, the staff do remove the 'reserved' towels if the lounger has not been sat on for an hour or more, which was good to see.

Go to the Polygon over the road for cheap pre dinner drinks - only five euro for a typically huge spanish vodka with coke, and a huge draught beer in a cold glass.

Hotel is a brisk walk from the main areas - it's a nice walk right along the coast into town and you can keep going to Playa de Las Americas. We found the best meal on the island on this walk - 'Chill Out Bar'....just as you come out of the tunnel at the Port.

We are definitely going back to the Arona Gran, or one of the other Spring hoteles in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Good_Life51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

We have just returned from two weeks holiday at the Arona Gran.and it was a superp experience.The hotel is luxurious,the staff are very friendly and helpful,and the pool area is lovely,we had no difficulty getting a sunbed.The food caters for all but next we will go BB instead of HB.We are not great meat eaters but if you love steak, chops, roast meats and gravy you will love HB.It is worth paying extra for a sea view.The view is to die for.Thanks to the hotel for the bottle of champagnebrought to our room for our wedding anniversary.I would like to mention a lively bar across the road from the hotel called The Market Tavern One of the owners called Joe is a very friendly Glaswegian. The people working theredid a great job with special mention to Lisa. The resident singer called Kerry was very professional. You could request songs or get up to sing yourself.A really good night.They also do great food at very reasonable prices, and the drinks were 5 euros for 2 vodkas and lemon, 2euros for a bottle of dorado, and 1.5 euros for a pint.Your money goes a long way here.All in one of the best holidays ever.we are going back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jetsetter081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

I stayed here with my daughter for 10 days in August. We had such a lovely time. The staff, the hotel, the pools, the room, other guests - everything was brilliant. There are not too many children (just enough), its quite civilised round the pool, not too many screamers. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and made a real fuss of my daughter. We were half board and we really enjoyed eating the in restaurant where a good variety of food was available - great for kids. Entertainment was also ok (standard hotel stuff) and a short walk into town along the promenade was just right after dinner. We met some lovely people which really made our holiday. Crap beach tho but with great pool area who cares! one thing I just remembered, its near a port so you get big ships in and out - occassionally they honk their horns, which is v loud - usually not before 8am tho, but it wouldn't put me off going back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carrie8971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Arona Gran was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Views from most rooms are excellent. Even though it was peak season there were always plenty of sunbeds at any time of day - sadly a few brits did feel the need to reserve them every day and must have been up at 6.30 am to tie their pink sarongs around their favourite beds - even tho they didn't even sit on them for more than 5 minutes at a time! Staff were very friendly and helpful and food was absolutely excellent - a brilliant choice for everyone and very high standard. We did feel water should have been provided at dinner as well as breakfast tho as we did begrudge paying for it! It was a shame that the hotel did not enforce their own dress code at dinner tho, as it wasn't fair to those who did make the effort, although we did think smart 3/4 length shorts should be acceptable. It is also requested that men wear full length trousers in the disco bar - something that put many off going in as who wants to be that stuffy when you are on holiday? The entertainment was bad. We did try to stick with it for a few nights but sadly the 'motown murderer' - who really did massacre some of our favourite motown songs - was the last straw! So visit some of the local bars - which are also a lot cheaper. Or take a taxi into las Americas if you want some noisier nighlife. Visits to Mount Teide national park and to the north of the island are well worth it as it is so interesting and the scenery is beautiful. It is worth applying for the Spring discount card (free of charge) as it will give you 15% off in the bars in all Spring Hotels and also allow you to keep your room on late on your last day for no extra charge (otherwise they ask for 42 euros!) We spent a fortnight at the Arona Gran and had a really relaxing holiday, which was just what we needed. Definitely more for the older age groups tho.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DorisHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
Hotel H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Los Cristianos
2,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 13 in Los Cristianos
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,010 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range: $181 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing