We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Before we came away, we were quite worried about staying at the Arona Gran as so many reviews were negative. However we enjoyed our stay so much that we are already planning to return next year. We had a sea view room on the 6th floor. The balconies ensure total privacy & there are two very comfortable seats with footstools plus a table. There is also a line for your washing. Our room was fine but the shower was over the bath which would not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues. There were quite a few elderly & infirm people staying in the hotel & the staff always treated them with great kindness. The variety of food was impressive. The dining room does get crowded but we were always able to find a quiet corner. The hotel does have signs saying “For financial reasons no food or drink may be brought into the hotel”. We had the mini bar removed & replaced with a fridge for which we paid 3 euros a day. We stored our water in it & the odd bottle of wine. You can swap dinner for a packed lunch which we did a couple of times. There was a choice of four options. We had so much food we couldn’t finish it all. Our sheets were changed every other day, & everywhere was very clean. The outdoor pools were heated & the loungers very comfortable. There are plenty of places to eat & drink outside the hotel. I recommend Rumours which is just across the road. Also La Caffetteria which is good for lunch.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manathu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear clients, tastes are different and you cannot please everybody. Therefore we are happy to hear that you have been satisfied with our Spring Arona Gran Hotel and the facilities. Thank you very much for your nice comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again. Sunny Greetings from Los Cristianos, Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,746
    979
    325
    103
    61
See reviews for
469
2,282
58
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have just returned yesterday 19th March) from our twice yearly holiday in the Arona Gran, the hotel gets better and better every time we go. Staff cannot do enough for you especially in the dining room, we must mention Pedro he has a brilliant sense of humour and remembers us every time we go. Vicky at reception was very helpful when we were not happy with our first room, but a couple of days letter we got the room we prefer to have when we go in March and November. The only comment I would mention is the activities was that we felt and others also that Melinda should not be in the pool doing these exercises as there were people in the pool could not see or understand what to do. I know she has had an operation on her leg and needs to get in the pool to help her, but I am sorry but she is the person that people rely on to do exercises properly in the pool. We were disappointed that Ruben was not there as he brought a lot of fun to some of the activities. Still we would not go anywhere else for our holidays as we feel everything we require is in the hotel, entertainment was brilliant and the Goucho show was really funny and everyone had a good laugh. So Arona Gran should not have any bad comments as to us it is first class in all areas.
We have came home feeling relaxed and cannot wait to come back in November. We meet nice people every time we go and have a great time.
We also have recommended this hotel to others..
We book through the hotel and we get free safe, taxi from airport to hotel and also at the end of your holiday, tea/coffee in room. We also like room over looking the pool which has sun all day.

Shirley and Jim Thomson

Room Tip: Always ask for pool view and you get sun all day on balcony and lovely sunset in the evening. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShirleyT419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Thomson, we are very glad to see that once again you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We thank you for your comments regarding the entertainment and for putting your holiday experiences onto this page. Looking forward to seeing you again in November and meanwhile we send you all our best wishes. Sunny regards from Los Cristianos, Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Arona Grand for ten nights from the 7th March to the 17th March . The hotel was very nice and overall matched up to our expectations , however on the 11th March we discovered that money had been stolen from our safe deposit box situated in the wardrobe in our hotel room . I reported this at once to the Thomson rep who made the hotel manangement aware of the situation , they in turn contacted the safe company who were able to determine when the safe was opened/closed via there log system . The information was the related to myself through my rep that the safe was opened when we were both out of the hotel room , therefore it looks as though some person is able to overide my personal code to enter the safe and remove a considerable amount of money . This matter is now in the hands of my holiday insurance company , the hotel management itself did not bother to contact me to offer any apology or any reasonable explaination . The manner in which my money was stolen was very cunning , sterling was taken from my wallet but some cash was left so maybe the thief thought I would not notice right away also euros were taken from a plastic cash wallet as well
as my wife's purse . All I can say to anyone staying at the Arona Gran is be on your guard against thieves who I believe operate within the hotel structure

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room with a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank joseph h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Joseph, thank you for using Tripadvisor for your holiday reviews. We are very sorry to hear that you had such bad experience at our hotel, but feel that we have to clarify an important thing. The safe company confirmed that their safes never can be opened without having the code. In your case the control showed that the safe was not even closed which means it was open when you left the room. The hotel of course always takes the comments of the clients seriously and we can assure you that we look into this matter, but feel to make clear that the safes are not a security problem. Further details will be dealed by the insurances. Thank you again for using Tripadvisor. Kind regards, Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday in Tenerife staying at this lovely hotel. Food was excellent with plenty of choices. Their was never a problem with the sunbeds as there are ample (and the hotel was full) the bar staff were very good and helpful - especially Pedro - the reps were very knowledgeable and did a great welcome meeting. The only thing I would do on our next visit is take a hairdryer as the one provided is in the bathroom. We went with friends and we shall all definitely be returning

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear client, thank you very much for your holiday review put onto Tripadvisor. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay at our Spring Arona Gran Hotel and we are looking forward to wecloming you soon again. Sunny regards from Los Cristianos, Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was our first visit to the hotel, which we found to be a fantastic hotel. We was not disappointed at all, All the staff are very friendly and helpful especially the bar staff Pedro. The pool area was very spacious and the location was ideal for walking along the promenade.
The evening entertainment was good although we did think some of the sound system was not as good at the rear of the room.
The hotel was very clean and lots of room, did not feel crowded at all although the hotel was full during our stay.
Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Michelle, thank you for using Tripadvisor and for your comments about your stay at our Spring Arona Gran Hotel. It is always a pleasure to read such reviews and to learn that our guests are happy with the offered services and facilities. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again and meanwhile we send you sunny regards from Los Cristianos. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We flew from Luton with Thomsons. The flight was pleasant, about 4hours, enough leg room, and the air staff were very attentive especially to a man sitting behind us who became quite ill.On arrival the transfer to the hotel was a bit confusing, no rep was on hand to point to the right place. The hotel was very impressive, with a wonderful display of green plants almost everywhere you looked. The glass of carva on arrival was a nice touch.Our room was on the 6th floor (we paid extra for a sea view) and clean and spacious, with a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us. Breakfast and dinner at the hotel were very busy, as it would be with 300 bedrooms. Once you get into the routine of 'reserving' a table and getting a plate of food and navigating back to the table, it becomes easier. The choice of food was amazing, and its freshness and quality very good. The hotel staff were very friendly and despite their work load seemed pleased to see you. Although we didn't use all the facilities at the hotel, it seemed to cater for everything, with boules, table tennis, golf practise range, fully equipped gym, sauna, 2 heated outdoor pools. snooker tables, a bridge room. The evening entertainment was very good, with a resident band and a different guest act every night. Our room overlooked the harbour and we could watch the ferries coming and going and the sun go down over the sea.
We enjoyed our first time in Tenerife and would certainly go back to the same hotel.

Room Tip: The higher floors had better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Stewart, thank you for your nice comments about your stay at our Spring Arona Gran Hotel and for using Tripadvisor. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your first stay on our beautiful island and that you would choose the Arona Gran Hotel again for your next time. We send you our best wishes and hope to see you soon. Sunny regards, Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caister-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was our second visit to the Spring Arona Gran, we were not disappointed, our room was spacious and spotlessly clean albeit a little dated now, but, refurbishing on the way this year.
Food is excellent with more choice than our stomachs could hold, one or two grumpy waiters ( you know who you are ) but that could happen anywhere , the choice and standard of food is very good indeed. Again the cleaning lady on the third floor is lovely always ready with a smile , a wave or an " Ola " Reception staff were very approachable and nothing was too much trouble for them . You must apply for your Spring card by email prior to your visit, it will be waiting for you on arrival, it well then give you 15% off your bar and restaurant wine bills and discounts in the more expensive shops within the hotel, of course to expect your newspapers etc to be discounted would be ridiculous. The quality of Thomson excursions has much improved with the jeep safari and the whale watching on f13 being top of our list. Vickys knowledge and commitment to her clients is a credit to her and Thomson should give her a huge pat on the back, rooky Joe was always a pleasure to deal with and should go far.
We understand the English television situation upset some people, but, come on people you are on holiday.
Looking forward to going back for another three weeks next year.
Thank you to all the staff who made our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Apply for your Spring discount card once you have booked, it will be waiting for you on arrival S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caistergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear client, good to hear that you have not been disappointed with your second visit to our Spring Arona Gran Hotel. Thank you so much for your nice comments. The TV problems have nothing to do with the hotel; it is the satélite which stopped transmitting the british channels and we do not have a receiver and card like the british bars on the island do. We hope to find a solution for the future. Please note that the Spring Club card only is avalable from the second stay onwards at any of our hotels, unless you book your holidays on our website. Hope to see you son again and meanwhile we send you all our best wishes from Los Cristianos. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
0.6 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#4 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Property: Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
#3 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing